Holland & Barrett Retail Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Holland & Barrett Retail Reviews

Updated 19 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Holland & Barrett Retail CEO Tony Buffin (no image)
Tony Buffin
64 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Still quite a lot of lone working but with progression being made hopefully this will reduce in the forseeable future(in 80 reviews)

  • "Area Managers don't tend to visit too often(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Store associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Holland & Barrett Retail part-time

    Pros

    Excellent place to work

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    None

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-11-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "They are not trying to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some amazing people who still believe the issues can be fixed.

    Cons

    Hours Pay Responsibilities do not correspond to job title lack of recognition lack of respest

    Advice to Management

    Hire some proper directors to direct where you want to go with the company. So many people believe in your mission statement but it is so hard to follow through when you are constantly ignoring basic employee standards

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-12-11
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail part-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot of information

    Cons

    A lot of information to take in

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-10-23
  4. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time

    Pros

    great management, pay and commission

    Cons

    unrealistic expectations for selling magazines/reward cards/mystery shop scores

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Thinking about working for Holland and Barrett...don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good on line training scheme

    Cons

    Be prepared to not be listened to, not be paid correctly or on time. Pay increases after finishing training can take several months to go through, if at all. No way of contacting HR from store level. Hours being reduced on the day of working, ie having to send staff home early and reducing their hrs with no notice all whilst the company announces new store openings. No reply to pay queries for mths if at all, holiday pay not given correctly, payslips constantly changing making it hard to determine correct pay. Total disaster.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay us correctly and on time , let staff contact HR by email, treat us better than just a number

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-10-09
  6. "Great Place to work. Plenty of training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Work rate is praised. Really good opportunity to progress through the company

    Cons

    Can’t think of any cons. I’ve really enjoyed the past 12 months here.

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-08-30
  7. "Associate to Assistant Manager to Manager. >3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere among the region. Discount - 25% Product knowledge training Room to grow if you're interested Team in store normally very close First job as a young person and management saw potential and encouraged and assisted in growth in company.

    Cons

    Lack of communication from higher ups Lone working Staff turnover Over tasked at times with no extra hours

    Advice to Management

    Give the extra hours to eliminate lone working as much as possible. It's a detriment to morale, motivation, and theft.

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-08-29
  8. "Rewarding challenge with great support network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Sligo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount (50% for a week near christmas), fantastic colleagues and supportive Regional Manager

    Cons

    You have to lone trade for some hours at work.

    Advice to Management

    Can not fault my regional manager. Will fight for everything we ask for but would love if communication within company between departments was clearer

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-08-29
  9. "Challenging but often rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work with a fantastic bunch of people, our area is like one big family and I’m lucky enough to have a really supportive RBM. Good team in store 25% staff discount 50% at Christmas Company runs incentives every few months with some really amazing prizes up for grabs. You can study to become healthy experts in food, sports, beauty etc which when passed can increase your rate of pay.

    Cons

    Deployment is extremely tight so if someone is sick it leaves stores very short staffed. Deliveries are once a week, often large quantities of stock with nowhere to put it in a tiny store room. Trying to comply with health and safety requirements is difficult, smaller deliveries of what we actually need maybe twice a week would work much better in my opinion. Promotion changeovers are difficult to get finished especially if you have a delivery the same day. Tills are constantly freezing Although things have improved considerably over the last 12 months work/life balance for managers could still be better. E.g not having to work Saturday’s. Lots of different targets that need to be reached on a daily basis can be quite stressful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Some of your managers go above and beyond their job description. It would be nice to feel appreciated sometimes.

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-08-29
  10. "Enjoy my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting people, training, helping others, learning, challenging, no day is the same, my manager, my team. I enjoy my job as every day it’s something different and I get to help people.

    Cons

    Promotion changeovers can be stressful, I would like more hours, part time means I only can pick up additional shifts to cover in other stores or when people are on holidays

    Holland & Barrett Retail2019-08-28
Found 716 reviews