Hitachi Researcher Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Researcher

Hitachi Researcher Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hitachi CEO Hiroaki Nakanishi
Hiroaki Nakanishi
10 Ratings
  1. "Good Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Hitachi for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Sometimes the company structure is overly bureaucratic.

    Hitachi2019-10-10
  2. "Hitachi R&D Center Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Researcher in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to Japanese management style with emphasis on quality and documentation

    Cons

    - Speed of decision-making better-suited for a manufacturing facility than a research center - Performance evaluation based on conformance to senior management rather than on problem-solving and innovation - Lack of flexibility in terms of office hours

    Hitachi2019-08-25
  3. "large international company with many possible research directions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    large company with a lot of different directions, hence opportunities for researcher

    Cons

    collaboration with Japan sometimes is difficult because of export control and other regulations

    Hitachi2019-07-23
  4. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi full-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot about being a working person.

    Cons

    I have no real cons about it. It is a Japanese company, so be prepared to learn Japanese language.

    Hitachi2019-05-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Hitachi R&D Bangalore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends

    I worked at Hitachi full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the best place to learn along with proper work-life balance. You're on your own. Everyone will respect your knowledge and you will be treated as an expert in what you know. Only thing is you need to have solid understanding of technology you're working on.

    Cons

    None. If you're a curious learner, this company can make you an essential contributor in Computer Science society.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Hitachi2019-04-18
  6. "Good for researchers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi for less than a year

    Pros

    Very helpful colleagues and learn things in depth

    Cons

    Need to be very independent

    Hitachi2019-02-22
  7. "Great Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Yokohama, Kanagawa
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi for less than a year

    Pros

    - I was working in the Totsuka, Yokohama, Japan area, and was provided accommodation 5 minutes away from the labs, so it was a very easy commute to work - Great environment to work in, friendly colleagues. I've made a couple of friends in the office. - As a religious person, the work environment is very accommodating.

    Cons

    - Occasional language barrier.

    Hitachi2018-12-28
  8. "Good experience cut short (Hitachi Chemical America R&D, Irvine)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hitachi full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Good benefits (health, medical, vision) *Good retirement plan (401k) *Good pay relative to the amount of work *Relaxed paced work

    Cons

    *Small infrastructure *Approximately 10-15 employees in the entire building when I was employed, *Little interaction/communication between workers. Everyone keeps to themselves *Laid off due to project closure. It was a Thursday evening and I was told I had a meeting the following Monday. On that Monday, I was presented the letter of separation and was expected to leave the next day. Very unprofessional. Did... not want to be direct and honest. No time given to let their employees prepare for unemployment.

    Show More
    Hitachi2018-09-27
  9. "Hitachi R&D Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work and only work, less quality work.

    Cons

    They are not professional people, the focus is on only work and timings. HR is a total mess (anyway it is kinda everywhere).

    Advice to Management

    Management itself a problem.

    Hitachi2018-07-26
  10. "Senior Research and Planning Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Analyst in Makati City
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Hitachi values and vision - Multinational environment

    Cons

    - Independent offices - Language barrier

    Hitachi2018-05-09
Found 30 reviews