Hitachi Researcher Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Hitachi Researcher Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
81%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Hitachi Representative Executive Officer, Chairman & CEO Hiroaki Nakanishi
Hiroaki Nakanishi
12 Ratings
  1. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can work comfortably within the company. Annual leaves are easy to apply. Simple relationship between colleagues

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive. Somewhat the technology is falling behind.

    Hitachi2020-01-11
  2. "Good enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities for learning.

    Cons

    Poor base salary. Less flexible working style.

    Hitachi2020-01-09
  3. "Totally not a global company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Bonus depend on achievement.

    Cons

    Strong Japanese working style, must have japanese language ability.

    Hitachi2019-12-11
  4. "Good Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Hitachi for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Sometimes the company structure is overly bureaucratic.

    Hitachi2019-10-10
  5. "Hitachi R&D Center Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Researcher in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to Japanese management style with emphasis on quality and documentation

    Cons

    - Speed of decision-making better-suited for a manufacturing facility than a research center - Performance evaluation based on conformance to senior management rather than on problem-solving and innovation - Lack of flexibility in terms of office hours

    Hitachi2019-08-25
  6. "large international company with many possible research directions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    large company with a lot of different directions, hence opportunities for researcher

    Cons

    collaboration with Japan sometimes is difficult because of export control and other regulations

    Hitachi2019-07-23
  7. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi full-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot about being a working person.

    Cons

    I have no real cons about it. It is a Japanese company, so be prepared to learn Japanese language.

    Hitachi2019-05-02
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Hitachi R&D Bangalore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends

    I worked at Hitachi full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the best place to learn along with proper work-life balance. You're on your own. Everyone will respect your knowledge and you will be treated as an expert in what you know. Only thing is you need to have solid understanding of technology you're working on.

    Cons

    None. If you're a curious learner, this company can make you an essential contributor in Computer Science society.

    Continue reading
    Hitachi2019-04-18
  9. "Good for researchers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi for less than a year

    Pros

    Very helpful colleagues and learn things in depth

    Cons

    Need to be very independent

    Hitachi2019-02-22
  10. "Great Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Yokohama, Kanagawa
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi for less than a year

    Pros

    - I was working in the Totsuka, Yokohama, Japan area, and was provided accommodation 5 minutes away from the labs, so it was a very easy commute to work - Great environment to work in, friendly colleagues. I've made a couple of friends in the office. - As a religious person, the work environment is very accommodating.

    Cons

    - Occasional language barrier.

    Hitachi2018-12-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews