Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "No concept of work life balance; impossible to take a vacation; don’t even think of receiving a raise(in 35 reviews)

  • "It seemed like people were stretched thin and frequently worked long hours(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Manging Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Pressure for greater financial returns year on year

    Advice to Management

    Help Senior Staff to ahieve their goals

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2016-02-01
  2. "Great Experience as a new hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Prior to my first day, I was made to feel welcome. I knew in advance what my first day/weeks would look like. Very thoughtful and organized approach. Very positive experience from the start.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing. Share out with industry all the great things you do, offerings to clients and job seekers.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-11-07
  3. "Culture shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications 

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Company does hear individual points of view and is collaborative

    Cons

    -New MD ignited a culture shift -Capacity levels are not manged and current client suffer

    Advice to Management

    -Hire more people to manage the workload before team members burn out

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-11-04
  4. "Big clients,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAM in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work on some larger international clients, multiple offices throughout the global network

    Cons

    Long hours at times. Rushed creative ideas into implementation

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-10-21
  5. "Great experience, great people but P&P is still not v transparent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Great network of great minds, awesome clients, supportive and working towards more progressive culture

    Cons

    Waiting for a promotion wears you down - and is probably accountable for high turnover

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-10-15
  6. "A people-focused organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Talent Manager in Doral, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm truly enjoying this season in my work life. I get to work with very smart, knowledgeable people across the globe who are committed to making our employees' lives better. I am empowered to make decisions, properly equipped to do my job, but most importantly, treated with respect and trust. As I work to take my career to the next level, I’m building meaningful, trust-based relationships that motivate me to... give my best and add value in every aspect of my work. I've been given opportunities to work on global projects and initiatives that truly demonstrate the company's commitment to help our employees grow and thrive with us. On top of that, and more importantly from a personal perspective, I have found the work-life balance I so much needed and thought unattainable.

    Show More

    Cons

    Managing time zone differences and people's schedules can be a challenge when you do global work, but is that challenge what at the same time makes the work exciting.

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing in people and doing what's needed to retain them and help them grow.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-26
  7. "Seem like a great place until you are there a bit longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in New York, NY

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility such as work from home

    Cons

    Not interested in your career growth.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-25
  8. "H+K London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company culture, talent, worth ethic, people

    Cons

    Work/life balance, lack of structure to flexible working

    Advice to Management

    Improve structure of flexible working

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-20
  9. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    High pace Good portfolio of clients

    Cons

    No life-work balance The pressure to start one man company and working as a "freelancer". In the end, you get no benefits, just bigger salary

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good team, good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. Good people. Interesting clients.

    Cons

    Relentless pressure to increase revenue and push work down to juniors.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-04
Found 312 reviews