Hershey Ice Cream Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Hershey Ice Cream Reviews

Updated 4 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Hershey Ice Cream President & CEO George Hugh Holder	 (no image)
George Hugh Holder
19 Ratings
  1. "Delivering and Stocking Ice cream. Serving Customers in North East Tennessee, and South West Virginia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 

    I have been working at Hershey Ice Cream full-time

    Pros

    Minimal Supervision, was a plus

    Cons

    Long hours on the road

    Hershey Ice Cream2020-01-04
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Selector in Salisbury, NC

    I worked at Hershey Ice Cream part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and pay good management

    Cons

    No cons at all for Hershey's

    Advice to Management

    None

    Hershey Ice Cream2019-08-08
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver 

    I have been working at Hershey Ice Cream full-time

    Pros

    Easy job not much to it

    Cons

    Other than dealing with the cold there isnt anything bad about it

    Advice to Management

    none

    Hershey Ice Cream2019-07-25
  4. "Great learning experience, could've used a little more direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hershey Ice Cream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ice Cream! Everyone enjoyed seeing the ice cream guy. Every day was different, which was at some times frustrating, but for the most part, a ton of fun. I also got to work in a ton of different types of places, from rough neighborhoods to resorts.

    Cons

    I wasn't prepared for the delivery truck driving. I ended up enjoying that part a lot more than expected, and luckily the office I was at had two really good drivers who showed me tips and tricks.

    Advice to Management

    Provide a little more direction in regards to what a good job looks like. There were some days that I felt very accomplished, and other days, I wasn't sure what I was supposed to be doing.

    Hershey Ice Cream2019-04-18
  5. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hershey Ice Cream part-time

    Pros

    It was a fun job good perks

    Cons

    The boss was high strung

    Hershey Ice Cream2018-09-26
  6. "Excelent Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hershey Ice Cream full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work Excellent people excellent growth opportunity Love the place

    Cons

    The work/life is not balance

    Hershey Ice Cream2018-06-25
  7. "good job, not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hershey Ice Cream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free healthcare for you, car allowance, company gas card

    Cons

    cant take any time off in summer, NO HR department so local mgmt can do whatever they want.

    Advice to Management

    use technology and hold local branch managers accountable

    Hershey Ice Cream2018-03-21
  8. "Easy college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hershey Ice Cream part-time

    Pros

    It was pretty easy to balance working here with going to school at the same time.

    Cons

    At times, the work did get pretty busy when you were working by yourself.

    Advice to Management

    More communication with individual employees

    Hershey Ice Cream2017-10-27
  9. "Overall Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hershey Ice Cream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many incentives and bonus oppurtunities throughout the year. Decent work-home balance. Good pay. Nice insurance and 401k plans.

    Cons

    Organization and communication are sometimes lacking. Disciplinary procedures for employees who are not up to par are also lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Invest a little more money in your hiring process so the turnover rate isn't so prominent

    Hershey Ice Cream2017-09-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "You get out what you put in!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager/Freezer Manager in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hershey Ice Cream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hershey ice cream is a well managed company. With top shelf benefit program. Give them your best and they will give you there best.

    Cons

    Some very long hours. Lack of a cohesive training methods.

    Advice to Management

    Try to do a better job informing you associates what the long term goals are, and how far as a company you are from those goals. Guide younger personnel to a career. Be open a bout your future employment needs.

    Hershey Ice Cream2017-09-18
Found 32 reviews