HedgeServ Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

HedgeServ Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
HedgeServ CEO Gene Mannella (no image)
Gene Mannella
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours - pay under market rate - easy to burn out(in 38 reviews)

  • "Almost every company is fairly bad at giving their people a proper work/life balance(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HedgeServ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, variation of duties, opportunities for progression if you apply yourself, training provided on regular basis, good sport and social scene.

    Cons

    Like other companies in the industry, subject to extended hours some month ends, and most quarter ends, but within reason.

    HedgeServ2019-04-25
  2. "Good atmosphere, repetitive work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at HedgeServ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Chances for promotion Nice office location

    Cons

    Repetitive work Poor structure for completing exams

    HedgeServ2019-11-01
  3. "Graduate Fund Account Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant in Dublin, Dublin

    I worked at HedgeServ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent technology, good place to learn NAVs in Fund Accounting teams

    Cons

    Quite low pay for graduates

    Continue reading
    HedgeServ2019-11-06
  4. "Good place to work if you are in the right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accounting Supervisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HedgeServ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    HedgeServ provides a very good platform for graduates. They have brilliant online self training materials.

    Cons

    Working hours are typically 9-6, 0.5 hours extra than most of the other companies.

    HedgeServ2019-10-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HedgeServ full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A-Z exposure, not functionalised

    Cons

    Ridiculous hours. Senior management will keep staff working all night to please client. No push back ever on unreasonable client demands. Don't make plans mid-week because you will probably miss them.

    HedgeServ2019-10-15
  6. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accounting Supervisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HedgeServ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed environment to work (Team dependent)

    Cons

    Lack of transparency of the future

    Continue reading
    HedgeServ2019-09-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing for all the wrong reasons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HedgeServ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual dress - pays slightly higher than industry average

    Cons

    Wooow, absolutely amazing place. Amazing for all the wrong reasons. For anyone reading this, please put on your imaginary seat belt. Communication; in all sincerity I truly believe that a person from an ancient tribe in papa new Guinea, could communicate more effectively with a person from the extinct Inca tribe. Eg, No team meetings, no 1 to 1s, poor verbal communication, reactive, obnoxious, passive aggressive, no morning catch ups and no end of month action plans. All team communication is done via instant messenger, genius no? Silence; as there is little or no verbal communication within the team the silence is deafening. If someone asks a question or needs help the sound is like a clash of thunder and everyone turns around and looks at you for breaking their peaceful silence, weird!!! The work life balance that they told you at the interview is a pure lie. Get ready for solid months of 9am-8pm shifts, managers have no people management skills and I mean zero. The work itself is like looking at a wall of grey, some days it may be a lighter or darker shade, but it's still grey. To top it off, the offices are also grey, bleak and have no charm or character. Not to mention, there are good few suicide prevention posters in the small canteen and toilet areas. NICE VIBES YE!?! Not one for giving advice, but for young, vibrant and hungry graduates I can only say this. DO ANYTHING ELSE, you don't need experience working here. I implore you to dig deep and take any alternative option available to you. If not, you will slowing wilt away. For the seasoned professionals, you heard all the stories they are true.

    HedgeServ2019-09-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HedgeServ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company will reward and promote employees who are excellent at their job.

    Cons

    No proper Training. Not suited to those aiming to complete ACCA exams. Uses threats and deadlines to motivate staff. There is a gender imbalance at the company, male dominated. Company does not provide training to staff if they struggle with the tasks. Staff are expected to understand fund administration in straight away. Staff will be let go if they struggle. Staff retention is an issue.

    Continue reading
    HedgeServ2019-08-24
  9. "Overall very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Transfer Agent in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I worked at HedgeServ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Started working here as a graduate and am very grateful for the A-Z exposure that I got in my two years of working there. I got lucky with the team that I joined because they were so good at their job and I got on really well with them. In general there's a really good atmosphere on the floor with the overall average age being quiet young. Great first job to have and would definitely recommend the place to other graduates.

    Cons

    Hedgeserv are not the most competitive when it comes to salaries. Work experience probably varies significantly from team to team as I know some people are expected to do long hours. Think that's a minority rather than the majority though.

    Continue reading
    HedgeServ2019-07-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to develop career in Funds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investor Services Director in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HedgeServ full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Focus on training and developing staff with an A-Z knowledge. Plenty of career opps. Opportunities to work in other offices - (USA & Europe) Friendly relaxed work environment Good sports & social

    Cons

    Like other companies in this sector, there can be busy periods e.g. month end, audit season and this is managed as best as possible by team manager.

    HedgeServ2019-04-24
Found 83 reviews