Hays "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Hays Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,366 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is definitely a work hard play hard type of company and colleagues quickly become friends(in 140 reviews)

  • "Career progression are very transparent(in 139 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent company that focuses on employee development and engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant work environment and culture. Training offered at all levels is way above industry standard. Even senior managment receive regular training. Brilliant commission scheme and massive earning potential All staff are friendly and social Brilliant opportunities for career progression

    Cons

    Not a con but - Job depends on your own self will and perseverance- if you cannot motivate yourself to succeed and perform high levels of activity without micromanagement you will not succeed

    Advice to Management

    Great work !

    Hays2019-11-25
  2. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career progression is a big focus in Hays Recruitment. Your manager is always making sure you are progressing and making the most of your career. The managers in Hays are also great mentors, and the company provides wonderful training. I would 100% recommend people to start their career with Hays.

    Cons

    There are none that I can think of.

    Hays2018-01-08
  3. "Hays review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with people, great networking opportunities, commission, training is great, great career progression opportunities.

    Cons

    Poor salary, Standard rate on commission is a joke, long hours, short breaks, decrease in salary after 3 months.

    Advice to Management

    More team building exercises/ nights out, we should not have to pay up front for these activities also.

    Hays2016-10-04
  4. "Dream Graduate Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The main thing for me about joining Hays is that there is a clear career progression path, which for me after completing university is exactly what I was looking for. The training and assistance I have had from my colleagues, managers and HR since I've started has been really great they have helped me to fit in and build my confidence in doing my job on a daily basis, and I feel I can always approach them should I... ever have any problems. In particular my mangers (Anne Marie and Ferdia) and my colleagues (Hannah and Helene) are always proactively assisting me when I need it, giving me tips on how I can improve and also, praising me when I do something right or meet a target. In general, it has been a great place to work so far, the team are really great and everyone in Hays have been extremely welcoming since I've started.

    Show More

    Cons

    To be honest, I really couldn't think of any cons with Hays at all.

    Hays2016-08-22
  5. "Hays Cork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Career progression opportunities, great training and guidance provided by senior management. Great office atmosphere and team fit.

    Cons

    Honestly cannot think of anything negative working for Hays.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the great work

    Hays2016-07-28
  6. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays

    Pros

    Fun Culture, young company always activities planned for outside work for socialising. Great Career progression available.

    Cons

    The hours can be long at times.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advice.

    Hays2015-06-17
  7. "A great organisation and career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Open communication with Senior Management, excellent training and career progression. Clear understanding of performance expectations and support to receive this. Flexible approach to work life balance.

    Cons

    Compared to other industries benefits are ok. A reasonable proportion of pay is commission based which can be challenging as people mature and want to buy a property.

    Advice to Management

    Consider what can be done to ensure longevity of top perfomers

    Hays2013-12-12
  8. "Long term career opportunities and great at celebrating success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long term career progression opportunities and great at celebrating success. Very supportive Senior Management.

    Cons

    Luckily my team has a fantastic culture, but I know the culture isn't necessarily consistent throughout the entire business as a whole.

    Advice to Management

    I happen to have one of the best managers within the business, who also happens to be the best manager I've had throughout my entire career. I've learnt so much from my manager and he has enabled me to create my own management style, which without his help I wouldn't have been capable of doing.

    Hays2019-10-09
  9. "Can’t fault it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Geelong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and systems for those new to recruitment. Career progression opportunities given scope and scale of organisation. Lots of perks and incentives for top performers at all levels. Meritocratic organisation. Industry leading tools to leverage.

    Cons

    Agency recruitment is a sales role, so those that don’t enjoy having targets (like most organisations) or those that arent willing to invest in their own training/put in effort early won’t last very long.

    Advice to Management

    Consider different options for People Leaders that are still high performers - leverage their people skills first and foremost.

    Hays2019-07-30
  10. "Good people, great culture, clear and defined career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Focused and entrepreneurial environment with a really good management team. Targets are clear and the career progression is road mapped well. Great earning potential also.

    Cons

    Big business so some decisions can be slow.

    Hays2019-07-12
Found 139 reviews
</>Embed