Hays Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated Nov 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 174 of over 4,834 reviews

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
2,165 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent career progression available(in 174 reviews)

  • "A work hard play hard environment(in 160 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours - 8-6 Monday to Friday(in 549 reviews)

  • "there isnt any other than long working hours(in 160 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "career progression"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent Career progression

      Jul 28, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career progression Excellent leadership Autonomy to run desk Great collaboration culture

      Cons

      Base salary too low for market in Dublin

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great place to build a career

      Apr 27, 2020 - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A place to help with self growth and career progression, coming from a sales background Hays has helped me become a people manager, training is the best I have ever received and this is always the same from other staff feedback, all staff come from so many backgrounds which is great for team bonding and culture.

      Cons

      None to add 2 years in.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent company that focuses on employee development and engagement

      Nov 25, 2019 - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brilliant work environment and culture. Training offered at all levels is way above industry standard. Even senior managment receive regular training. Brilliant commission scheme and massive earning potential All staff are friendly and social Brilliant opportunities for career progression

      Cons

      Not a con but - Job depends on your own self will and perseverance- if you cannot motivate yourself to succeed and perform high levels of activity without micromanagement you will not succeed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Marketing

      Jan 8, 2018 - Marketing Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career progression is a big focus in Hays Recruitment. Your manager is always making sure you are progressing and making the most of your career. The managers in Hays are also great mentors, and the company provides wonderful training. I would 100% recommend people to start their career with Hays.

      Cons

      There are none that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Associate Recruitment Consulatnt

      Jan 31, 2017 - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Cork
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hays is a great place to work, from the moment you arrive everyone is extremely friendly and the atmosphere is great. The training they offer is top class and you learn so much about what it takes to become a successful recruiter . Hays offer a clear career progression path, and you know exactly what it takes to progress.

      Cons

      I can not think of any cons working with Hays

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hays review

      Oct 4, 2016 - Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with people, great networking opportunities, commission, training is great, great career progression opportunities.

      Cons

      Poor salary, Standard rate on commission is a joke, long hours, short breaks, decrease in salary after 3 months.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Dream Graduate Job

      Aug 22, 2016 - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The main thing for me about joining Hays is that there is a clear career progression path, which for me after completing university is exactly what I was looking for. The training and assistance I have had from my colleagues, managers and HR since I've started has been really great they have helped me to fit in and build my confidence in doing my job on a daily basis, and I feel I can always approach them should I ever have any problems. In particular my mangers (Anne Marie and Ferdia) and my colleagues (Hannah and Helene) are always proactively assisting me when I need it, giving me tips on how I can improve and also, praising me when I do something right or meet a target. In general, it has been a great place to work so far, the team are really great and everyone in Hays have been extremely welcoming since I've started.

      Cons

      To be honest, I really couldn't think of any cons with Hays at all.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Head of Internal Recruitment

      Thank you for your thorough review. It's great to hear you're enjoying your job and working with your team - I've let them know you've mentioned them and I have no doubt they'll be over the moon at the great feedback!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hays Cork

      Jul 28, 2016 - Recruitment Consultant in Cork
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career progression opportunities, great training and guidance provided by senior management. Great office atmosphere and team fit.

      Cons

      Honestly cannot think of anything negative working for Hays.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Head of Internal Recruitment

      Thank you for your 5 star review from Cork - I have passed it onto Richard and the Ops team and have no doubt it will make their day! Thank you and see you at conference no doubt.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Pretty good

      Jun 17, 2015 -  in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun Culture, young company always activities planned for outside work for socialising. Great Career progression available.

      Cons

      The hours can be long at times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A great organisation and career progression

      Dec 12, 2013 - Director in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open communication with Senior Management, excellent training and career progression. Clear understanding of performance expectations and support to receive this. Flexible approach to work life balance.

      Cons

      Compared to other industries benefits are ok. A reasonable proportion of pay is commission based which can be challenging as people mature and want to buy a property.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 174 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Hays Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hays? Share Your Experiences

    Hays logo
    or