Find jobs for Principal Consultant

Hays Consultant Principal Reviews

Updated May 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 4,833 reviews

4.0
89%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
36 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    They care

    Jan 12, 2021 - Principal Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A really fun environment with good people. Great place to learn

    Cons

    Industry has low salaries for junior staff and Hays is no different

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Hays

    Jul 29, 2019 - Principal Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, Training, Rewards, Celebrations, Doing the Right thing by Candidates & Clients and Recruiting IT Systems

    Cons

    Back house IT Systems and Automation

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Toxic environment and bullying encouraged

    May 13, 2022 - Principal Consultant in Sheffield, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training via Hays is excellent for those new to recruitment- globally its a good company , the issue is all with Sheffields local office

    Cons

    Bullying actively encouraged - managers very dishonest, encourage you to lie to clients and work with no integrity. Culture of Sheffield office encourages Consultants to work against each other rather than as a team, micromanaged with intense KPIs and it feels very much like a contact centre in the way management treat people. Awful work environment, there wasn't a week that went by that there wasn't somebody crying in the toilets, usually due to management bullying

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to work in recruitment

    Mar 24, 2022 - Principal Consultant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good management and fair pay structure

    Cons

    Could be more opportunities outside of billing

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Feb 7, 2022 - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great progression - Good commission structure - Flexible working

    Cons

    - Cant think of any

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good company - but be mindful

    Jan 11, 2022 - Principal Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great training, team culture and mid level management. Very supportive and definitely pay recognition when it is due. Very personably management (even upper level training from the MD which is amazing). Opens a lot of doors for future careers.

    Cons

    I originally had a wonderful experience with Hays. The only con is, they pay WAY under market and they show attributes of every stereotype of a public company. I left due to being offered an opportunity that was a step forward in my career but also money and working conditions that Hays wouldn't match. They have recently moved to a CEM model (don't let them sell you the dream - it is a capped commission structure that increases the margin on your headcount in the companies favour) during a pandemic where they knew people wouldn't be able to leave. After my resignation - I received my final pay which I found to have the ONLY benefit they pay to their employees deducted (Hays Rewards) as I did not work the full financial year. I have spent over 4 years at Hays and was considered a fairly high biller (minus Covid). After asking to have this money returned, all I got was a screenshot of their policy and no reply from HR. Really disappointing and would be mindful of recommending them as a workplace. It is clear with the amount of turnover they are experiencing that these are common frustrations.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Dec 1, 2021 - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at the London Ebury Gate office which had a great work culture that was inclusive and rewarding. The senior management team are all great leaders who have infinite wisdom and motivation to share. Having worked for other recruitment companies since, what really sets apart Hays' Senior Management Team is their accessibility and presence in the office with an open-door policy, and how invested they are in getting to know every consultant by name within their building (even if the consultant is not within their division) as well as things about them. The company understands how to reward consultants for their successes and has multiple reward schemes, social activities, and incentives that run on a regular basis. A successful recruitment consultant will likely never be short of rewards or upcoming incentive events in any given month/quarter. Being a large company with over 20 specialisms and also an international company, there is plenty of opportunity to move within the company, which I was thoughtfully offered to at one stage but declined due to personal reasons. The initial training I received as a new consultant has still to this day been the best training I've experienced by miles, and remains very memorable to me as it was highly enjoyable, practical, and the only classroom training where I did not remember losing attention for even a second. Hays would certainly be a top company for new recruitment consultants to join, and can also be a very rewarding place for experienced consultants if having the highest personal earnings in the market are not their top priority for a satisfying job.

    Cons

    Hays is a very lean but efficient large company, the cons of being lean can come with frustrations in certain business functions, e.g. outsourced temp payroll that can be very inflexible in their support compared to an in-house payroll team, and unwillingness to invest upfront in adding resources to teams whose potential are restricted by lack of resources; the consultants of these teams will often leave for other recruitment companies that are more specialist or invested in their area. The salary and commission scheme (in 2019, may have changed since) was not the most competitive, however, the trade-off is all the pros mentioned.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to work

    Oct 10, 2021 - Principal Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very rewarding if you hit target consistently. Lots of incentives A work hard, play hard culture

    Cons

    None, Hays is a good agency to work for if you're looking for a career in recruitment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Agency to work for

    Oct 8, 2021 - Principal Consultant in Plymouth, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Promotions - Team mates - Awards - Culture - Clear incentives - Moral

    Cons

    - None I love it

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Hays

    Oct 19, 2021 - Principal Consultant in Nottingham, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best training and sets you up for a great career in recruitment, great opportunities for promotion

    Cons

    Not enough trust in employees, internal competition can turn nasty and too competitive when you’re already competing against other agencies. Managers seem to pull rank and employees treated like children by headmaster

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

Popular Careers with Hays Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hays? Share Your Experiences

Hays logo
or