Hays Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Account Manager

Hays Account Manager Reviews

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
17 Ratings
  1. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Sandyford

    I worked at Hays part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff were responsive but the onboarding process was average.

    Cons

    Disorganised Management. Sometimes they forgot to make pay you.

    Hays2019-05-29
  2. "Worse than cancer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolutely none. Hays is a failing company.

    Cons

    Having a management team that expects absolute perfection or you're fired. Laughably worse than the competing agencies. Toxic work environment that fosters a workplace around fear and favoritism. I wouldn't wear my seatbelt driving to work in the hope that I would get in an accident. Miserable experience.

    Advice to Management

    They aren't open to change. No point.

    Hays2020-01-14
  3. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    With any company that has multiple locations, there can be some differences. However, across specialisms and across most locations where I’ve known recruiters and account managers throughout the US, there’s a pretty constant theme of fun people, who are people people, and who want to work hard to get results. I’m a high performing member of the team, which always helps, but my managers will certainly go out of their way to listen to me and allow me flexibility where needed, even though I’m not incredibly senior yet and they’re quite busy in their daily work as well. Also, the career path is nice. If you want to be a high level individual contributor for your career, great. If you want to move into management, great. There are plenty of options for career growth.

    Show More

    Cons

    This job is not for everyone. Some folks aren’t used to working hard to be rewarded for it. They want to work minimally hard and be rewarded greatly for it. Or they see well performing members of the team and think they should automatically be that successful and have as much flexibility on day one. You have to work for it. But when you do, you’ll be making bank and calling your own shots. You just have to decide if you want to work for success or hope that it falls in your lap.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Most have already been addressed and are being implemented, or at least talked through.

    Hays2019-12-06
  4. "Great place to learn, probably not to stay long (Hays Japan)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best training in the market You'd really have to underperform or do something illegal to get fired here Lots of events, end of year parties, and annual conferences to attend Depending on the team, very relaxed and fun environment Very results-driven environment

    Cons

    One might argue that the company is set up to benefit those paid on P&L, rather than providing an excellent service to clients and customers. I have heard that middle managers have a terrible time managing between the upper management plans and the staff level realities. One might say this place would only be fitting for new grads who are a bit eccentric. Married, mature, or introverted personal may not fit in well. Sorry, but not a great name in the Tokyo market.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a better understanding of how your staff feel to avoid further staff from leaving. Stamping out the culture of working two years at Hays and leaving for something better should be addressed. Create a more mature environment, that was as results-driven as before.

    Hays2019-12-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away: Low pay, no recognition, blatant biases, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Accounts Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people at the company - fun to work with. Good to get the initial recruitment experience and nothing else. 4 weeks of vacation.

    Cons

    For a sales job that pays commission, the commission amount is embarrassingly low (5% or so). There is very little financial incentive to hit/exceed targets. Not to mention no one knows how commission is actually calculated. The base salary is also very low, and the benefits (health/dental etc.) are not good. There is no flex time and no remote/work from home options. The managers are micro-managers and will lie to your face about what you can achieve. The managers are the ones raking in the big dollars while the work is done by others. KPIs are their sole focus. Prepare to be micromanaged. You won't be recognized for any sort of accomplishment unless you happen to luck out and inherit some clients. There is very little loyalty shown to employees. The moment any KPI or whatever it may be dips a little, they show no loyalty and thus there is a culture of fear prevalent where anyone can get fired. They will kick you out and forget all about you. Shockingly poor empathy. There are clear biases within some teams. Tenure or whatever does not matter if the manager does not like you, they will give the opportunity to someone else. The VPs in the office have no real qualifications to speak of other than the fact they've been at the company a long time. They don't secure big deals, they don't do work with large established companies because those companies use other recruitment agencies. They conduct meetings in a way a sales person with a year of experience can do, there is nothing special about the leadership and thus don't expect any opportunities or support from them to grow the business.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Time to replace upper management. Other DIRECT competitors work with far better clients than Hays. All the VPs do is scrape the bottom of the barrel companies. Managers and Team Leads need to learn how to people manage and create a better culture where not everyone is afraid for their job. Tone down the micromanagement. Show some loyalty and empathy. Redo the entire commission structure. No one can explain how commission is calculated. The commission amount is laughable.

    Show More
    Hays2019-11-11
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager 

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    diverse, work life balance, nice view

    Cons

    I can't think of anything.

    Hays2019-07-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Organized Training -Friendly staff -Office is in a good location

    Cons

    -Poor management - Pay structure - Team leads are somewhat unqualified to manage

    Advice to Management

    -Improve communication

    Hays2019-06-24
  8. "Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Office Culture Commission Structure Access to management Room for growth within company Competitive benefits

    Cons

    No cons to report at this time

    Hays2018-12-17
  9. "Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hays is a great place to work for. They have a great culture within the company and have great benefits to offer employees.

    Cons

    There are no downsides that I have seen thus far. I have been working with Hays for a couple months and really enjoy it.

    Hays2018-05-10
  10. "Love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard environment. Prepare to work your tail off, but the reward is great!! Awesome commission structure, lot of money to be made, great team building activities, extremely collaborative environment. Everyone on my team is willing to help if they can. Being a newbie can be daunting, but having the assistance of great managers and teammates makes the transition easy. Awesome training program!

    Cons

    Long hours, be prepared to put in a lot of work early. Some really long days, but they will pay off in the end.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! The morale of the office and the culture speak for itself.

    Hays2018-03-22
Found 17 reviews