Grubhub Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Grubhub Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
321 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some restaurants wind up giving you a sample of free food and/or a drink(in 68 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is huge at Grubhub(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Although it can take a bit to get a response to some customer service issues(in 33 reviews)

  • "Inconsistent pay, driver care hard to get a hold of(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and lots of support from company to do well.

    Cons

    Sales dept is in Chicago

    Grubhub2019-12-02
  2. "Positive Vibez Only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful benefits, family culture, fair pay, free Kombucha on tap!

    Cons

    Some issues with top-down communication.

    Grubhub2019-11-19
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth Free Grub Swag PTO Bonus Incentives RSU's

    Cons

    I don't have any that I can think of.

    Grubhub2019-11-16
  4. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i had some ok managers

    Cons

    the pay was too low and the customers are super angry, rude and sometimes racists

    Grubhub2019-11-29
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Hostile Work Environment and Workplace Bullying - Don't Work Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist - Care Department in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $30 of free food every week.. that's pretty much it.

    Cons

    -Low pay, especially for a call center in downtown Chicago -Incompetent managers, who are promoted based off of favoritism, and not education or experience. -Workplace bullying and discrimination. When reported, it went totally ignored by HR, and then made the reporter a target for further retaliation, High turnover- the toxic workplace culture led many to quit, and the department was frequently understaffed which made the workload difficult at times.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-11-24
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Save yourself!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are great. They feed you sometimes too much!

    Cons

    Working there! The company is flawed. Full of a bunch of smart kids playing with toys. They do no think of who and how their work impacts others. Major outsourcing . The care department is full of back-stabbing liars who are in charge. They are also users who will chew you up and spit you our as soon as you are not of service or they can find someone else to use. Little to no opportunity for growth and development, no advancement opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-10-22
  7. "Great People, hampered by US who hold the pursestrings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time

    Pros

    Culture, staff, UK mgmt and salary

    Cons

    Old product, no marketing

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-10-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "High turnover - Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None literally place is a joke

    Cons

    Highest turnover I have ever seen in a company in my life They want you to sign up 12 restaurants a month and claim you get around $300 each restaurant you sign up. Heres the catch: they put you in some random small town in the middle of nowhere with no restaurants, or an area that most places are already signed up. You are just calling places that don't even speak English and YELL at you and tell you never to call again. Another catch: in order to get your $300 per place you sign up THEY the restaurant have to stay active for 3 months on the Grubhub app. Then you get paid. And the restaurant always wants to back out and cancel before and they tell you to LIE to them and say oh it takes 3 months for people to start to really come through on our app. Which is another lie. It's super shady. All they want you to do is lie to peoples HARD EARNED MONEY AND BUSINESS to get a sale. It's disgusting. They also pay you around $30,000 a year. They say oh you can get all this extra money and make $60,000-$80,000 a year if you sign up all these restaurants. But they have to stay active for 3 months, BUT you get fired within 3-4 months not even if you don't hit your quota which people never do. So they get away with paying people 30K a year to get new places signed up. So it's a smart system for them and cheap labor.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-11-21
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic, Hostile, Manipulative, Etc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is competitive and benefits are decent, although the healthcare is several steps below most of what I've experienced. Free food is good too, I guess.

    Cons

    Everything else. This was the worst job experience I've ever had. I hesitate to go into my full position or office location for fear of further retaliation, but suffice it to say that upper management and HR completely dismissed multiple complaints of harassment, unprofessional behavior, and discrimination that I raised, instead retaliating against me, working together to make my life a living hell by gaslighting me and undermining my authority and respect until I either quit or had such a severe nervous breakdown that my work suffered and they could fire me.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-11-12
  10. Helpful (5)

    ""Scrappy""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get free lunch, but it's only valid within 1 mi. of the office.

    Cons

    "Scrappy entrepreneurs" is a slogan at Grubhub; Google defines "scrappy" as "consisting of disorganized, untidy, or incomplete parts", which is 100% accurate. Working in Grubhub's marketing department means working with disorganized and incomplete parts, every day. You will be asked to do things at the last minute, your coworkers will gossip about you if you insist on work-life balance, and you may be made to work a weekend if you were sick during the week (as a salaried employee). Don't take the company stock RSUs as compensation, because you will leave with half of what you started with. There is very little room for personal/professional growth, and no resources at the company to help you.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-11-13
Found 528 reviews