Groundswell Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Groundswell Group Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Groundswell Group CEO Darren Sartison (no image)
Darren Sartison
24 Ratings
  1. "Great Canadian Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integration Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work respecting the Values and Caring their employees all the times

    Cons

    There is not anything i would like to mention in cons

    Advice to Management

    Please make the people stay even if they decide to leave for instance i have worked very hard for the company to keep the clients always happy and thus bringing very good reputation to the company. I have worked for BCH and other clients sacrificing my family life to keep the account alive and keeping customer happy going above and beyond . I think they should encourage or motivate the people to stay back which i... feel is missing here.

    Show More
    Groundswell Group2019-11-05
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Groundswell Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can learn a lot from different projects

    Cons

    payment can be better to employee contributes more

    Groundswell Group2019-10-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not advised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Many coworkers are nice and friendly

    Cons

    -Pay is less than market - Revolving door, people are constantly leaving -Senior and Practice management is not qualified -No respect for staff

    Advice to Management

    Executive team changes

    Groundswell Group2019-11-11
  4. "Culture to avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consulting 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Groundswell does a good job holding training and learning events.

    Cons

    The Groundswell culture is not the best, and it is dysfunctional from the top down. Delivery vice president and directors don't have the sense of strategic direction and are always in firefighting mode. It seems the friends and cronies got to the top positions in the company, and built their huge empires that they can’t manage. Moral and productivity are low. I work at one of the largest client teams at Groundswell,... and it’s unfortunate to see how little gets done, among all the wheel spinning. Communication and feedback cycles in Groundswell is a broken record doing nothing more than reiterating the message from the top, over and over. No wonder the company has a very high turnover rate, when executives keep hearing their own message as if it is the reality .

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Groundswell needs better strategic thinkers at the top. Command and control culture does not help breed any innovation

    Groundswell Group2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Leadership, and Amazing Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Groundswell is my 2nd home! I have been with the organization for almost 8 years, and they have seen me through many phases of my life. The leaders are self-aware, and focus on building their employees, I am an example of this. I started as a receptionist, and with their support went back to school to build the career I have today. The work/life balance is incredible. At Groundswell, I am able to have a career, and... still actively participate in my family life.

    Show More

    Cons

    Of course, in 8 years, there have been some tough days and months. I feel supported to bring my best self at Groundswell, but also know it's okay when I can't.

    Groundswell Group2019-06-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Unmotivated team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Technology knowledge is great, with training provided and paid for as part of package

    Cons

    Team is unmotivated. Tasks are finished in double the time, and all is fine because it's the clients that pay. The leadership team is very weak and uninspiring. They just do placements and resourcing jobs that any head hunter can do better.

    Advice to Management

    Better and more engaging leaders

    Groundswell Group2019-06-13
  7. Helpful (7)

    "For a job not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Nice team and variety of clients

    Cons

    Good for jobs. Long term progressive career opportunities are reserved for the few favourites. Relationships, and not performance is what decides if you get career opportunities.

    Groundswell Group2019-05-28
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Circles of favourites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Lunch and learn events are good and are sponsored by the company

    Cons

    Executive team plays favourites where all the growing and raises go to their circles of favourites. The problem is very visible in the Calgary office with those favourites getting l the credit for everyone's work

    Groundswell Group2019-05-22
  9. "BI Competency Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Competency Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work!

    Cons

    Can get a bit busy at times, but still fun.

    Groundswell Group2019-05-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Strong Culture - Great Career Development!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Technical career training and personal development opportunities are amazing! I love working with brilliant professionals dedicated to quality work and customer service. By far the best company I have worked for.

    Cons

    No bad days at Groundswell report.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to connect, listen and respond to employees at all levels.

    Groundswell Group2019-03-25
Found 42 reviews