Grant Thornton UK LLP Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Grant Thornton UK LLP Reviews

Updated 30 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton UK LLP CEO Dave Dunckley (no image)
Dave Dunckley
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not promoted on merit or hard work just the usual big 4 mentality of who knows who gets ahead(in 33 reviews)

  • "Work life balance difficult to maintain(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is very good

    Cons

    I have no cons for the company

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-04-30
  2. "Top Notch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great career prospects, early responsibility, focus on their people as well as their clients, good salary benefits.

    Cons

    None- this is a great firm

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2014-09-15
  3. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, good working balance

    Cons

    Bit pushy on the exams they want you to take, forced CIPFA and I had to leave as it wasn't what I wanted to do.

    Advice to Management

    Let people complete the exams they want as long as its in the line of business they're working in.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-11-30
  4. "Overall interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Audit in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A large company with lots of opportunities, without feeling like a small cog in a big wheel. Very friendly and they value you

    Cons

    Nothing I can think to add

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-11-18
  5. "Enjoyable culture but the firm is losing its prestige"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Audit Executive 

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues and good work-life balance, generally

    Cons

    Remuneration may lag behind competitors the higher up the organisation ones goes.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-11-25
  6. "Good place to work and develop one’s career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good access to senior guidance and advice from directors and partners. Supportive and collaborative teams. Formal processes geared towards meeting career development goals.

    Cons

    Salary did not reflect the market and the gender salary gap appeared to be relatively larger. Room to improve balance between individual career aspirations and tactical work required from individuals (silos within advisory units could make individuals knowledge base too narrow).

    Advice to Management

    Clearer alignment of individuals’ work to both overall and departmental business strategy.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-10-28
  7. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great networking opportunities and collegiate atmosphere

    Cons

    Limited career progression for some roles

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-10-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible manipulative political Male dominated place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time

    Pros

    Some good clients but have lost many

    Cons

    Too long list. No promotions Firms quality is poor No trainings given

    Advice to Management

    Please get rid of senior staff who are manipulative. Promotions are only given to people who are always behind the influential people. Recognition is not given to good hardworking people.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-11-18
  9. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people Strong foundations Great Training Average compensation Good work life balance (working from home dependant on team)

    Cons

    Poor HR services Indifferent about HR

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-10-08
  10. "Audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very sociable atmosphere, large number of opportunities

    Cons

    High volumes of work with little time, high expectations, can be cliquey leaving some people in a much better position than others due to ‘friends’ in senior positions

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-10-21
Found 382 reviews