Grant Thornton Ireland Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Grant Thornton Ireland Reviews

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton Ireland CEO Michael McAteer (no image)
Michael McAteer
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unrealistic workloads and deadlines long hours poor pay(in 11 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, salary lower than market rate(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work etc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Seems to be good opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Haven't found any so far

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-10-06
  2. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Phenomenal work environment, worked with some very intelligent people whilst there. The offices are an obvious plus.

    Cons

    Not that many come to mind, given the increase in size you have little to no idea what the departments outside of your own do.

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Business Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Nice Office which is new

    Cons

    Office Politics, mediocre staff, bad work atmosphere, awful clients, duplicitous HR. Don't work here, particularly if a straight white man. Go somewhere better.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-10-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not an equal opportunities employer. No relevant trainings. But there’s work-life balance and a beautiful office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Senior in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance. They have a canteen that serves €5 a meal. Beautiful office. There is support from your Directors or Executives if you have accounting or auditing issues.

    Cons

    Promotion may not be solely based on merits. If you’re not Irish, you may have to work twice or may be thrice as much so you can get that promotion. The Partner would just tell you that there is no business needs. In terms of professional growth, management does not really invest in trainings especially on new accounting standards and industry practice for Audit Seniors and trainees. I asked my colleagues who are... Assistant Managers already and they told me they didn’t get the trainings as well. I raised it to The Academy and they just told me that we had to request for the training so we can have it. I totally get their point but in Big 4 Firms, for example, they identify the relevant trainings that the employees should be required to take for their professional growth. That’s how it should be. Grant Thornton should really need step up in this area.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to review your policy in Equal Opportunities and make sure that everyone gets the chance to advance in their career. Invest in your people by providing relevant trainings.

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-09-17
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time

    Pros

    The people were very friendly

    Cons

    Not a lot of work given

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-08-05
  6. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Greater company culture than big 4

    Cons

    -Starting salary makes it hard to survive in Dublin

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-08-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "GT Galway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Galway
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary Study leave Exam support

    Cons

    Poor team management Work is not evenly spread out. Lack of recognition Poor work/life balance Long hours throughout the year not just during busy season Poor people management skills at PDM level. High turnover of staff.

    Advice to Management

    Take on criticisms given by staff rather than ignoring them.

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-06-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not a nice place to work avoid if possible too much expected for little in return"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Chartered Accountant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Nice new building and facilities

    Cons

    Unrealistic workloads and deadlines long hours poor pay. Work doesn't seem to be spread fairly across the department. Too many cliques.

    Advice to Management

    Treat new staff fairly. Spread the workload. Give staff with accounting exams done a reason to stay. Increase the number of workers as it is obvious that too much is expected of the workers you have.

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-07-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Director role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provides a good insight into several industries and exposure to a high growth firm

    Cons

    Partnership model reduces possibility of real progression beyond director role; some units are not progressive; elements of distrust exist.

    Advice to Management

    When hiring please consider the consequences of the hires on the levels below the hire since they are left with less opportunities to progress and become disenchanted

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-05-17
  10. "Good people, bad pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and good at organising social events. Some departments much more enjoyable and have better culture than others.

    Cons

    Trainees paid poorly in comparison to other firms. And very hard to get approval of pay rise.

    Advice to Management

    The reason staff leave is because they are not paying what the market rate is.

    Grant Thornton Ireland2019-05-01
Found 71 reviews