Cover image for Gensler
Logo

Gensler

Engaged Employer

Gensler

Add a Review

Gensler Reviews

Updated 26 Nov 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,663 of over 2K reviews
4.0
80% Recommend to a Friend
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
88% Approve of CEO

Found 1,640 of over 2K reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
853 Ratings
Pros
  • "Culture was great and work/life balance was in line with other firms if not better(in 51 reviews)

  • "Truly enjoyable work environment(in 87 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "tough managing work / life balance(in 70 reviews)

  • "Long hours but typically get compensation time if applicable(in 71 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Design Studio

      2 Jun 2022 - Studio Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great for entry level careers looking for exposure into the design industry and building that experience on some fantastic projects.

      Cons

      Limited mobility for some roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Principal

      Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our people. You and your colleagues are the foundation of our success.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      26 Nov 2022 - Project Architect in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good people, great atmosphere, diverse, great leadership

      Cons

      training of new employees is lacking

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the Gensler team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Designer at Gensler

      23 Nov 2022 - Designer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people Great projects Good compensation

      Cons

      Long hours You have to be your own advocate to be heard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      salary

      22 Nov 2022 - Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a great experience

      Cons

      It was not a bad experience

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture

      21 Nov 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing, people-first culture. Flat structure.

      Cons

      Unusual working hours but overall fair.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great environment .

      22 Nov 2022 - Senior Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment , good work like balance.

      Cons

      Too many parallel projects. Very high intensity

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      not bad

      18 Nov 2022 - Designer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The projects quality is ok

      Cons

      Sometimes you need to work overtime

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Principal

      Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our people. You and your colleagues are the foundation of our success. We love seeing your 5 Star Review and knowing that you're having a positive team member experience at our amazing firm.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      World Class Firm

      15 Nov 2022 - Design Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gensler hires very talented people that want to design to create a better world.

      Cons

      Project deadlines sometimes require staff to work longer than the normal 8am to 5pm day

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Principal

      Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our people. You and your colleagues are the foundation of our success. We appreciate the positive team member experience you're having over your 20+ years at our amazing firm. Thank you for posting your review and for the 5 star rating!

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great work enviroment

      15 Nov 2022 - Designer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing building , and offce enviroment

      Cons

      Really compartmentalized work issuance and communication

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Gensler NY designer

      16 Nov 2022 - Interior Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great overall culture and unlimited resources, paid overtime, decent starting salary, pride in working for a powerhouse firm

      Cons

      expectation to work very late (they'll tell you it's only when there are important deadlines, but those are everyday!) I burnt out after 7 months and had to leave.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,640 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Gensler Reviews FAQs

    Gensler has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 1,870 reviews left anonymously by employees. 80% of employees would recommend working at Gensler to a friend and 72% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Gensler employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Gensler. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    80% of Gensler employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Gensler 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Gensler Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gensler? Share Your Experiences

    Gensler logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Gensler Photos

    + Add Photo
    Gensler photo of: Open Office Space
    Gensler photo of: Tampa, Florida
    Gensler photo of: Tokyo, Japan
    Gensler photo of: Dallas, Texas
    Gensler photo of: Austin, Texas
    Gensler photo of: Greater China
    Gensler photo of: Gensler Los Angeles Workplace: Photo Credit - Ryan Gobuty
    See All Photos

    Gensler Job Seekers Also Viewed

    HOK Logo
    HOK

    4.0

    429 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 1,870 Gensler reviews submitted anonymously by Gensler employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Gensler is right for you.