Cover image for Gavin de Becker & Associates
Logo

Gavin de Becker & Associates

Engaged Employer

Gavin de Becker & Associates

Add a Review

Gavin de Becker & Associates Reviews

Updated 22 Nov 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 218 of over 221 reviews
4.1
78% Recommend to a Friend
83% Approve of CEO

Found 218 of over 221 reviews

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Gavin de Becker & Associates Chairman and CEO Gavin de Becker (no image)
Gavin de Becker
136 Ratings
Pros
  • "And though I love being a cop, I don’t get the love from my leaders in law enforcement like I did at GDBA(in 17 reviews)

  • "Your career with Gavin de Becker is exactly what you make of it(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Absolutely zero work-life balance(in 17 reviews)

  • "Protecting the lives of others is not an easy job and requires many long hours, working nights, weekends, holidays(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company!

      23 Dec 2020 - Special Field Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training - the LA based training team are excellent. Amazing resources available throughout the company. True professionals at all levels within the company - most of them willing to mentor and provide assistance when needed.

      Cons

      Poor communication at times - leadership withholding information that does not need to be withheld. Massive attention on the US market - very little attention on the European operations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Experience GDBA

      21 May 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and excellent teammates.

      Cons

      Very Bad leadership. The toxic environment which is created by the team leader.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gavin de Becker & Associates Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback. We understand good leadership is an important factor as a part of our team and are sorry to hear you felt this wasn't the case while you were with us. Best of luck in your next venture!

    3. Join the Gavin de Becker & Associates team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work

      22 Nov 2022 - Accounts Receivable 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management based on my interactions, job security

      Cons

      Politics don’t align with my own

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gavin de Becker & Associates Response

      Thank you for your feedback, which is invaluable to us as we strive for Constant And Never-ending Improvement (CANI). Also, in this day and age of corporate politics, we do all we can to remain apolitical and focus on our mission: protecting human life. Ed Hinman, SVP Associate Services

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Thoughful

      21 Nov 2022 - Protector 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting experience. Im grateful for the opportunity.

      Cons

      The instructors are not understanding.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gavin de Becker & Associates Response

      Thank you for your feedback, which is invaluable to us as we strive for Constant And Never-ending Improvement (CANI). I'd love to learn more, so please feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn. Here are a few facts about GDBA: • GDBA published an industry leading career track of promotions and earnings increases: o https://gdba.com/earnings-and-benefits/ • GDBA Associates work 40-hour workweeks with opportunities for overtime • 72% at GDBA are Military Veterans and/or former Law Enforcement Mr. de Becker, GDBA’s Founder, is a 3-time Presidential Appointee and widely regarded as the Nation’s leading expert on protection of Public Figures. We welcome the opportunity to share more about our unique company. If your considering applying to GDBA, we encourage you to do your own research. Ed Hinman, SVP of Associate Services

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      very good

      2 Nov 2022 - Protector I 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay and benefits, look after their staff

      Cons

      long hours and last minute changes to schedule

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      regular pay raises and lots of communication from the bosses

      25 Jul 2022 - Protector III in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From what I have seen they share a lot of information and are true to their word.

      Cons

      LONG COMMUTE. That part sucks, though the 8 hour days help a lot.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gavin de Becker & Associates Response

      Great to read this and glad you're happy with our transparency regarding earnings in a Protector's first two years at GDBA. All can be viewed here: https://gdba.com/earnings-and-benefits/ Ed Hinman, SVP Associate Services

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      N/A

      15 Jul 2022 - Protector II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GDBA has training for protectors.

      Cons

      this is subjective to whomever chooses this company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good money

      28 Jul 2022 - Team Leader in Beverly Hills, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to make some good money.

      Cons

      Getting Time off is a little difficult.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company, Great Leadership

      20 Jun 2022 - Client Engagement Coordinator in Glendale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inspiring Leadership Innovative ideas are always welcomed

      Cons

      Poor communication regarding employer satisfaction and opportunity(ies) for growth High turnover

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Returned to GDBA

      2 Jun 2022 - Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’d never bother to write a review, this is actually my first ever, but since returning to GDBA I thought I would b/c I have renewed appreciation for this company. We protect human life. It’s an important job. I’ve been able to purchase a home with me and my family thanks to my earnings at GDBA. The clients I protect treat me and my team well.

      Cons

      Not everyone who starts out at GDBA is the right fit.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 218 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Gavin de Becker & Associates Reviews FAQs

    Gavin de Becker & Associates has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 221 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at Gavin de Becker & Associates to a friend and 80% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Gavin de Becker & Associates employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Gavin de Becker & Associates. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

    78% of Gavin de Becker & Associates employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Gavin de Becker & Associates 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Gavin de Becker & Associates Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gavin de Becker & Associates? Share Your Experiences

    Gavin de Becker & Associates logo

    Gavin de Becker & Associates

    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Gavin de Becker & Associates Photos

    + Add Photo
    Gavin de Becker & Associates photo of: The Essential Protection Skills Academy is ten days of full-immersion training, day and night, at our Southern California training camp
    Gavin de Becker & Associates photo of: Residential Protective Coverage
    Gavin de Becker & Associates photo of: ATL PSD Group Outing
    Gavin de Becker & Associates photo of: ATL PSD Team Outing Event
    Gavin de Becker & Associates photo of: GDBA Sponsored Tough Mudder Event for PSD
    Gavin de Becker & Associates photo of: 2019 Fall Advanced Threat Assessment Academy
    Gavin de Becker & Associates photo of: Threat Assessment Speaking Engagement with Vice President of Threat Assessment Strategies, Gabrielle Thompson
    See All Photos

    Gavin de Becker & Associates Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Pinkerton Logo
    Pinkerton

    3.2

    271 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 221 Gavin de Becker & Associates reviews submitted anonymously by Gavin de Becker & Associates employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Gavin de Becker & Associates is right for you.