Gavin de Becker & Associates Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 215 of over 218 reviews

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Gavin de Becker & Associates Chairman and CEO Gavin de Becker (no image)
Gavin de Becker
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "And though I love being a cop, I don’t get the love from my leaders in law enforcement like I did at GDBA(in 17 reviews)

  • "Your career with Gavin de Becker is exactly what you make of it(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Don’t come to GDBA clinging to your resume and expect to be promoted for what you did 3 years ago(in 22 reviews)

  • "Protecting the lives of others is not an easy job and requires many long hours, working nights, weekends, holidays(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company!

      Dec 23, 2020 - Special Field Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training - the LA based training team are excellent. Amazing resources available throughout the company. True professionals at all levels within the company - most of them willing to mentor and provide assistance when needed.

      Cons

      Poor communication at times - leadership withholding information that does not need to be withheld. Massive attention on the US market - very little attention on the European operations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Experience GDBA

      May 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and excellent teammates.

      Cons

      Very Bad leadership. The toxic environment which is created by the team leader.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gavin de Becker & Associates Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for your feedback. We understand good leadership is an important factor as a part of our team and are sorry to hear you felt this wasn't the case while you were with us. Best of luck in your next venture!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      regular pay raises and lots of communication from the bosses

      Jul 25, 2022 - Protector III in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From what I have seen they share a lot of information and are true to their word.

      Cons

      LONG COMMUTE. That part sucks, though the 8 hour days help a lot.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      N/A

      Jul 15, 2022 - Protector II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GDBA has training for protectors.

      Cons

      this is subjective to whomever chooses this company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good money

      Jul 28, 2022 - Team Leader in Beverly Hills, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to make some good money.

      Cons

      Getting Time off is a little difficult.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company, Great Leadership

      Jun 20, 2022 - Client Engagement Coordinator in Glendale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inspiring Leadership Innovative ideas are always welcomed

      Cons

      Poor communication regarding employer satisfaction and opportunity(ies) for growth High turnover

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Liked it

      Jun 2, 2022 - Security Staff Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GDBA is my only experience in Protection, however, I’ve had other jobs before GDBA. I felt part of a team and that people actually cared about me.

      Cons

      Career at GDBA can become a way of life and dominate you. You have to truly love it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Returned to GDBA

      Jun 2, 2022 - Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’d never bother to write a review, this is actually my first ever, but since returning to GDBA I thought I would b/c I have renewed appreciation for this company. We protect human life. It’s an important job. I’ve been able to purchase a home with me and my family thanks to my earnings at GDBA. The clients I protect treat me and my team well.

      Cons

      Not everyone who starts out at GDBA is the right fit.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Mission

      May 2, 2022 - Protector in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission and Future: in the marine corps, I always wanted to do PSD. Now I’m starting a career in it. I’ve talked to a lot of successful guys at GDBA and for the most part, they seem to feel like their performance is rewarded. I hope to get on some of the big field teams in the future.

      Cons

      Nothing so far that I can think of now. I’ll come back and update if I think of anything.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Care about Me and My Family

      Apr 28, 2022 - Protector 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The little things matter. Recently, the firm sent my wife flowers just because. In January they sent her $175 Amazon gift card. I haven’t worked any other place where the company thinks about my wife like that.

      Cons

      No major cons that I can think of

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Gavin de Becker & Associates Response

      Thanks for the great feedback! -Ed Hinman, Senior Vice President of Protector Culture and CARE

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 215 Reviews

    Gavin de Becker & Associates Reviews FAQs

    Gavin de Becker & Associates has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 218 reviews left anonymously by employees. 80% of employees would recommend working at Gavin de Becker & Associates to a friend and 80% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Gavin de Becker & Associates employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Gavin de Becker & Associates. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

    80% of Gavin de Becker & Associates employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Gavin de Becker & Associates 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Gavin de Becker & Associates to be senior leadership, benefits, career development and the cons to be management, work life balance.

    Popular Careers with Gavin de Becker & Associates Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gavin de Becker & Associates? Share Your Experiences

    Gavin de Becker & Associates logo
    or