Gap Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Jan 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 506 of over 7,530 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Mark Breitbard
Mark Breitbard
338 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employee discount was awesome(in 507 reviews)

  • "Amazing people, good benefits and great discount(in 329 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Pressure to push store credit cards(in 269 reviews)

  • "long hours, a lot of manual labor(in 158 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "employee discount"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Life as part of a Gap stock team

      Oct 23, 2015 - Stock Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From my personal experience, Gap is a great company to work for. My managers were excellent people, and knew how to lead and motivate. The company is a large one with a lot of prestige and so there are high standards, but this isn't a problem at all if you have any sort of professional pride and work ethic. Also great employee discounts.

      Cons

      My only problem was shift reliability. Shifts weren't very consistent, I would have preferred working the same days of the week all the time, but in a large company with a lot of different contracts I understand why they were inconsistent.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Awesome place to work

      Jan 5, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved meeting new customers everyday. The employee discount was awesome!

      Cons

      Doesn’t pay a lot of money.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      Jan 1, 2021 - Lead Cashier in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits like employee discount

      Cons

      Same position with the base pay for 2 years

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Gap Brand Associate

      Dec 17, 2020 - Brand Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -talking to people -fun coworkers -learned a lot about inventory -employee discount

      Cons

      -tension among store manager and some employees -sometimes there are rude customers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.seasonal-former, more than 1 year

      A great high school / college job!!!

      Dec 14, 2020 - Sales Associate in Dedham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Flexible hours -Competitive pay -Employee discount was amazing -Wonderful co-workers

      Cons

      Due to the fact that I was working when I was off of school, I sometimes was not able to work as many hours a week as I would have liked, as I was not a regular employee and thus had less power over scheduling.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Horrible place to work

      Dec 25, 2020 - Brand Associate in Frisco, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      30 minute breaks. Everything else was horrible, the employee discount sucked because the customers go it to since everything was on sale

      Cons

      Management, hours, pay, benefits, everything else

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Simple & Easy

      Nov 6, 2020 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility if you are a student, simple job - you honestly just have to show up and do your part, great company if you are looking for customer service skills/experience. Employee discount is also great!

      Cons

      no cons (the store I worked at was a great environment)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      working at Gap is an okay job for retail experience

      Nov 11, 2020 - Sales Associate in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved the employee discounts we received! Bought some great pieces

      Cons

      customers are always rude and mess up your folding pile. Need more time for lunch

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      gap

      Oct 20, 2020 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The environment and employee discounts

      Cons

      definitely the busy season and long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      nice people, lousy pay

      Nov 3, 2020 - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice people and team, employee discounts

      Cons

      no comissions but have to meet sale goals

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 506 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Gap Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gap? Share Your Experiences

    Gap logo
    or