Freddie Mac Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Freddie Mac Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Freddie Mac CEO David Brickman (no image)
David Brickman
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Freddie Mac sets a work-life balance with inclusive engagement(in 209 reviews)

  • "Great benefits; great work/life balance; great management(in 76 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "overall okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good benefits (i.e., teleworking, education reimbursement) and work life balance - Lots of smart people - Opportunities to serve the community and to get engaged in employee resource groups

    Cons

    - Management is not very good at managing / communicating with people - High turn over and constant re-organization - At times, work is not very engaging at the junior level (i.e., why there is a high turn over at this level, at least from what I've noticed and heard from colleagues in my division / department)

    Freddie Mac2019-11-14
  2. "Freddie Mac"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits (health, vacation, work/life balance, etc.). Opportunity to change career path within the same company.

    Cons

    Market share valued more than people

    Freddie Mac2019-11-12
  3. "Awsome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Awesome friendly amazing good

    Cons

    None None None None None

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-11-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Tense time for the firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, generally good work-life balance (depends on your role)

    Cons

    As they exit conservatorship, lots of big changes are a foot. A lot appear to be change for change's sake, unfortunately. They are trying to address the ongoing complaints about lack of internal promotions with career development and mentorship programs ... but for me, they are a one-way ticket to Nowheresville.

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-11-15
  5. "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freddie Mac has been really reengineering its culture and becoming more efficient company. This is a great company if you want to learn and advance in your career

    Cons

    Everything takes time to move forward

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-10-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sometimes Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, interesting job, work/life balance

    Cons

    The culture change isn’t working, most jobs that are posted internally are already filled. It’s quasi government and bureaucratic

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-10-23

    Freddie Mac Response

    November 7, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to provide it.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architecture Technology Lead in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good smart people, diverse workplace

    Cons

    Culture is still old school

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-10-14

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 23, 2019HR Communications

    We're proud of our people and diversity at this company—thank you for being part of the team. In addition, we’re excited about the opportunities Agile practice offers on delivering value and appreciate your advice on how to progress.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not much opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Reporting Analyst 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for growth

    Freddie Mac2019-10-22

    Freddie Mac Response

    November 7, 2019HR Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review. Thank you for highlighting our comprehensive benefits and our commitment to work-life balance as the total well-being of our employees is a priority for us. To support your professional growth, we encourage you to explore the learning and development resources we offer and speak with your manager about the next steps in your career journey.

    Continue reading
  9. "Work Life balance is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    get to work from home

    Cons

    management can be unorganized

    Freddie Mac2019-10-04

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 18, 2019HR Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for highlighting our focus on work-life balance as the total well-being of our employees is a priority. At all levels it's important to continue to grow, that's why we offer manager training to our senior leaders so they can be at their best in managing and supporting their teams.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great entry level position with tremendous benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multifamily Real Estate Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, benefits, and compensation

    Cons

    The career progression is tough

    Freddie Mac2019-10-01

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 14, 2019HR Communications

    We appreciate you highlighting our inclusive environment and comprehensive benefits as the total well-being of our employees is a priority. If you are looking to grow your responsibilities and advance, we encourage you to talk to your manager about new projects you might take on and the next steps in your career journey.

    Continue reading
Found 914 reviews