Forrester Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Forrester Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Forrester CEO George F. Colony
George F. Colony
612 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Food options for purchase are somewhat limited (Cambridge office)(in 43 reviews)

  • "A work-life balance can be tough to reach(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers care about their employees, they want you to succeed and grow your career. The benefits are amazing, including great healthcare, a gym, massages, and employee appreciation days. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Compensation may not be the most competitive

    Forrester2019-11-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Greatest company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is first and foremost the greatest thing about Forrester. They hire for culture fit and brilliance. There is room to grow upwards and across the organization, and opportunities to try new things. Leadership is strong, transparent, driven, and caring.

    Cons

    1. There is a strong "east coast bias" - with scheduling and benefits. This means each office has its own microculture and all things are not equal from office to office. 2. The pay can be on the lower side - but I would rather work here and get paid less than get paid more and hate my job.

    Continue reading
    Forrester2019-10-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Drink the Cool-Aid, Play Political Games, Make Your Numbers, or Get Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time

    Pros

    Can be interesting work and provides a platform for exposure in the industry. Be opportunistic and make the most of your connections while you're at the company as it can be very beneficial for future jobs.

    Cons

    A treadmill for most analysts to maintain their advisory and document numbers, thus quality of work and life-balance often suffers. A lot of talk and aspirations to change this but, when push comes to shove, it's a numbers game. Favoritism and politics at senior management levels means you had better be in the right group with sway. HR is useless when dealing with personnel issues and the lack of diversity in the workforce is overt.

    Continue reading
    Forrester2019-11-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company - Incredible People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Some of the smartest people I have ever worked with. The benefits are outstanding. The hiring process was the best I ever experienced. I am relatively new to the organization and my co-workers have been so helpful and wonderful. It is a pleasure to go in to work everyday.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any.

    Continue reading
    Forrester2019-10-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, benefits and people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Success Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Forrester for 2.5 years and it's been a positive experience all around. I was hired as a remote employee and my managers and team are amazing. There are opportunities for growth and I'm constantly reminded how lucky I am to have found this position. I wouldn't trade this opportunity for any other job I've ever had!

    Cons

    I haven't encountered any cons and don't foresee that I will.

    Forrester2019-10-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Solid but not without flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - If you want one, you have a clear path to a platform, both internally and with clients. Capable folks get a seat at the table to really influence decision-making and direction. - It’s rare to find a bad manager here; a lot of training and resources put into empowering team leaders - Brand name carries weight - Lots of opportunities to move between functions - Solid benefits (recently extended parental leaves) - Flexible commute (in some cases), good work/life balance - Stimulating work and access to tremendous resources in the form of smart people and research

    Cons

    The company has been changing and innovating a lot the last few years, which is great, but executing on that change has missed and missed often. Growth pressures mean that new solutions are often put to market before they’re properly vetted, and when they fail, there’s a clear drag in morale. Recent acquisitions (FeedbackNow, Glimpzit) and product pursuits are initially touted as the next big difference-maker but quickly fade into the background. The company has pushed to digitize many client experiences but development resources to support them are simply not there. This means that Forresterites are asked to bring sub-par tech to their clients and hold the bag when something doesn’t deliver. Whether you ask for it or not, sales pressures are behind each and every role at Forrester, even if you work in Product. Pressures to renew, enrich, and hit revenue targets often distract from the core goal of driving strategy through thought leadership and research. This means that non-quota carriers are expected to play a key role in the sales process without being compensated for doing so. The HQ manages to lack both the perks of being in a city (next to no food or entertainment nearby) AND the benefits of working in the burbs (expensive parking and congested commute). Forrester is very conservative with compensation; some feel that the culture makes up for it, others don’t and move on. Whether it’s related or not, attrition has been an issue more recently.

    Continue reading
    Forrester2019-11-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's Not Good Here, It's GREAT Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Partner in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative culture where teamwork is more than just a goal, focus on listening to employees when an issue comes up, takes into account the unique needs of remote workers and does everything possible to make it work.

    Cons

    Parking garage can be tough to navigate since its shared with other companies and the charging ports for hybrids are always in use-not always by hybrids, can be frustrating when you're trying to find a spot when you're running late.

    Continue reading
    Forrester2019-10-19
  8. "Best company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of smart people, work-life flexibility, great management, lots of social activities

    Cons

    Compensation and benefits are competitive but there is room for improvement.

    Continue reading
    Forrester2019-10-22
  9. "Truly a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nicest & overall most competent group of people I ever worked with. Extremely supportive managers, which is a rarity in professional services firms let me tell you. Fairly generous benefits and nice little perks like the ice cream truck in the summer!

    Cons

    It seems to be an overly complex organization that takes a while for new employees to figure out. There's an oft-told inside joke about the "clown car" of products & services.

    Continue reading
    Forrester2019-10-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forrester full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can really learn a lot in this role, have a good support system of other research associates/researchers and my ideas/work are valued by the analyst. The company culture is friendly, driven and collaborative.

    Cons

    Turn-over happens often and there is a not a clear career trajectory after Researcher.

    Forrester2019-10-18
Found 845 reviews