Flight Centre Travel Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Flight Centre Travel Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 7 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
614 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited annual leave, lots of travel, work hard play hard(in 60 reviews)

  • "Employee benefits ranging from health and wellbeing support to financial advice and travel perks(in 56 reviews)

Cons
  • "Paid a pittance in all customer facing roles, extremely long hours(in 154 reviews)

  • "the work life balance is hard but manageable(in 129 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great fun but not a long term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great fun social job with lots of travel opportunities and fairly independent work environment

    Cons

    Extremely poor salary for hard work, not much pay increases available even with promotions within the retail sector, poor work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Pay managers to manage and not to make their own sales, and you might find retention costs go down, shops make more profit and people have improved job satisfaction. Having high sales expectations for managers mean they act more as salespeople and less as leaders and damages the business on all sides. Especially in the current market where your business longevity hinges exclusively on the customer experience.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2020-01-08
  2. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Modbury
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    uncapped salary, travel, famils, customer rapport, development, leadership

    Cons

    work life balance, stressful environment sometimes

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-12-02
  3. "flight centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    money is good if you get lucky with a busy store

    Cons

    long hours, no work/life balance. hard to earn high numbers and super high earners are rare.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-19
  4. "Thank you NEXT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are a well above average sales person, this has potential They check on your health yearly with their Healthwise program

    Cons

    Low pay, no work life balance, they promote free drinks at their events as a huge benefit rather than spending money to increase the base pay, have to be really tech savvy to make this work

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-09-23
  5. "Good first full time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Agent in Cheltenham, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good incentives and lovely clients. I was part of a big team which was great, made global and got some great holidays out of it. My TL was really supportive when I dropped to part time and being part time I was still able to pull the same figures. I made global gathering which was amazing

    Cons

    To make global gathering I had to push myself every month to get the sales which left me drained and poor work life balance. Being part of a big team meant things got lost in translation as well meaning we would have communication issues. I'm leaving as I can't see the job being sustainable for the long run

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your people not the numbers and you'll get better results

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-09-07
  6. "Flexible Committed Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Cardiff
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Work Hard Play Hard Strong work ethic Social company Lifelong friendships Travel opportunities

    Cons

    Average pay when you’re first starting out. Challenges of work life balance and can be stressful at times

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-08-12
  7. "Hard work; incredibly rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Newcastle
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible incentives, very reward based. The ability to be given independence and run your own business, even on the entry level. Uncapped rewards. Plenty of support and career advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Average pay when you’re first starting out. Challenges of work life balance and can be stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Must have Discipline, Sales passion and drive, organisation. Incredibly rewarding. Work life balance can be a challenge. But overall incredible opportunity

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Career with Flight Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are quite a lot of Pro's to mention, one stand out aspect for me is the supportive nature of the company. Your ambitions are taken on board and there is plenty of room to move forward and to grow within the company. There are also plenty of opportunities to grow and expand your skills within the travel industry - with many great incentives to help drive you success. Flight centre focuses on it's people - which is a comfort as you know you will have appropriate support from a fantastic network of senior leaders and guidance to find the role that fits you. If you work hard - you can quickly move forward and fill career ambitions. I love the work spaces, the people, the company philosophies and find the pay structure to be fantastic as well. You also have access to fantastic benefits and extras related to travel, health and much more.

    Show More

    Cons

    It can at times be difficult to manage your own time, which is imperative to the role. If you struggle with this there are support avenues available to help you manage your time more effectively and strike an appropriate work / life balance. Make sure you utilise this if you find time management to be one of your weaknesses.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-07-30
  9. "Great short term role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Consultants 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great perks and social culture

    Cons

    Poor pay, long hours and struggle to create work life balance

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-07-17
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Earning potential and culture is amazing

    Cons

    the work life balance is hard but manageable

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-05-19
Found 129 reviews