Fisher Investments Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Fisher Investments Chief Executive Officer Damian Ornani (no image)
Damian Ornani
157 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good job"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Investment Counsellor in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time

    Pros

    Inicial salary is good to start

    Cons

    Not flexible work, 9-6pm you Don’t have so much time to spend in yourself

    Fisher Investments2020-03-18
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great long term prospects for psychopaths"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Camas, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are ruthless and have no conscience and thrive on manipulation this is the job for you. After I was released from prison I was so relieved that they did not hold this against me welcoming me with open talons. Here you can stay within the bounds of legality and make good bank.

    Cons

    Will destroy any sense of ethos and distort reality with permanent moral damage.

    Continue reading
    Fisher Investments2020-05-12
  3. "good entry level experience"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Investment Consultant in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time

    Pros

    great place to start a career

    Cons

    I have no cons to report

    Fisher Investments2020-05-21
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Borderline Hostile Work Environment, Proceed With Caution"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Camas, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great (401k match, paid premiums, good PTO) and so are some of your immediate co-workers (but most of the bonding is because you're miserable). If you truly want to work in wealth management, then this isn't the worst place to be. Otherwise, proceed with extreme caution.

    Cons

    If you want to work at a place where management has no empathy and are highly skilled at micro-managing, then you may actually like working here. You will develop little to no skills that would be transferable anywhere outside of this company. Fisher promotes people based on subjective metrics that are vague versus those who are actually competent and show leadership abilities. If you speak up then you're penalized for not showing a "will do" attitude. Basically, they want you to act like a cog in a machine and never question anything, which hinders innovative thinking. That's why the company is literally run by part-time junior associates, since most of the jobs is pressing a button rather than using any type of brain power. It's all fear-based tactics to make sure you get your work done and associates are always overloaded (even though you work a REQUIRED 50-hour work week, with absolutely NO flexibility unless you're in sales because Fisher treats them like saints). There have been times where I've seen associates crying in the stairwells because of being disrespected so it's not the most psychologically healthy environment to be in.

    Continue reading
    Fisher Investments2020-05-21
  5. "Good Company to start your career."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Transparent Management. Awesome 401k match and health benefits.

    Cons

    Long hours. IT still playing catch up.

    Fisher Investments2020-05-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Associate in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very energetic environment, knowledgeable coworkers, great management

    Cons

    Long hours but worth it bc of benefits

    Fisher Investments2020-04-28
  7. "Fine Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Camas, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fisher Investments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have great benefits and opportunity to rise.

    Cons

    Very bleak and rat race like, and your typical office space.

    Fisher Investments2020-05-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid this Place"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Counselor in Camas, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fisher Investments full-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay and 401K match

    Cons

    Independent and thoughtful ideas are not encouraged, and in many cases, downright punished. I don't consider Fisher's Investments to be a wealth manager...it's more of a pushy sales organization full of young kids and cheesy salespeople. I always provided thoughtful, intellectually-sound advice to my clients, and was well respected by them as a result. However, the middle management at Fisher are jittery syncopants living in fear of their eccentric boss, Mr. Fisher himself. They excel at aggressive sales and retention tactics, but ultimately are not the brightest bulbs in the universe .

    Fisher Investments2020-05-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place for a Life-Long Career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Camas, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You learn a lot about the industry, surrounded by very driven individuals, very good benefits

    Cons

    High expectations of employees, WFH is usually not an option

    Continue reading
    Fisher Investments2020-04-20
  10. Helpful (53)

    "Thankful Employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fisher Investments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Too many times you see top-tier financial firms look to hire individuals that come from a certain type of family pedigree, and strictly those that have gone to Ivy League schools. As a first generation American, my parents didn't understand the American system to help guide me towards my future. Fisher Investments took me in with open arms after I graduated school, and has given me countless opportunities and support; some of the pros I’d like to highlight: • Company Culture – diversity is heavily promoted, regardless of your ethnicity, educational background, gender, sexual orientation, etc. you’re provided opportunities to be successful and move into a role you desire • Management Support – management provides support to its employees both inside and outside of Fisher Investments • Women Empowerment – 3 of the business units at Fisher Investments are led by women (at the very top of the business units) • Grooming from within – the firm promotes from within • Employees – the firm genuinely cares about its employees and their well-being which extends beyond the walls of Fisher Investments • Clients – the firm puts the client first, I’ve worked at banks/insurance companies prior coming to Fisher and they put numbers before their clients, it was a refreshing change that makes me very proud to this day • Benefits – 50% match on your 401K and medical/dental insurance that covered by the firm in its entirety • CEO – highly approve of the CEO, his first order was to meet with the majority of the firm to understand pain points and what we can be doing better as a company, which has resulted in various teams working to implement change employees want to see

    Cons

    • Technology – the tech used in the firm is outdated and slow, which can make certain assignments frustrating at times. I’m glad to see there is a plan that is currently in the works to transform this aspect of the company. • Hours – One would expect hours to be long, but the flexibility provided at other companies should be considered here. Not that flexible • Work from home – working from home isn’t really allowed, which would be a great benefit

    Fisher Investments2019-10-19
Found 614 reviews