Facebook "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Facebook Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 10 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, lot of responsibilities(in 341 reviews)

  • "Working with really smart people(in 279 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on teams, some team may have bad work life balance(in 360 reviews)

  • "There are no cons of working at facebook(in 79 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Sales in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work-life balance and great benefits

    Cons

    sometimes long hours and disconnect to overall strategy

    Facebook2019-07-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook

    Pros

    good perks in the job

    Cons

    long hours to be done regularly

    Advice to Management

    keep rolling my dogs keep rolling

    Facebook2016-01-02
  3. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity that Facebook offers for autonomy and career growth is incredible; coming in as a new grad PE I have the opportunity to grow based on merit and performance, not time in the role. Flexibility in when I work, how I prioritize my projects, and the scope of my work is invigorating and makes me excited to come to work each day. The company is mission-driven to a great extent, and I have been impressed with the way we have owned up to prior mistakes and fixed them head on. The Production Engineering role is well respected within the company, and the importance of reliability and scaling increases as our services reach more of the world. As a PE you will gain the knowledge necessary to build and operate real hyperscale systems capable of providing services to billions of people. My team is comprised of some of the smartest, experienced engineers I have ever met - some of which have been building Linux services since 0.01. Even though sometimes working at Facebook feels like drinking from the proverbial fire hose, I am grateful I have the opportunity to learn from some of the top people in their field. For example, in bootcamp I took a command-line efficiency class from Jim Meyering, one of the maintainers of coreutils and also a Facebook employee. Many other people have commented on this, but the perks and compensation are still top-notch. The company helps take care of your life so you can focus on work while you're working.

    Show More

    Cons

    Facebook hires the kind of people that expect a lot from themselves. Despite some reports, you do not need to work long hours in order to succeed at Facebook. Bootcamp gives you the chance to find a team that matches you well, and new hires should come in intending to join a team where they can both find balance and grow in their career. The company is growing and there is some sentiment around slowing down, but most engineering teams are still bottom-up driven and innovating in their space. The things we are doing around privacy and AR/VR are on the bleeding edge and we are strong leaders in these areas. On the other hand, ironically, there is also sentiment around moving too fast as a company. Since we are people- and product-focused (as opposed to engineering-focused, like at Google), our primary goal is to impact the lives of people for good. Sometimes this means we opt for rapid prototyping over beautifully designed code. However, we are doing much better at recognizing better engineering work such as cleaning up code and improving monitoring, especially in the PE role.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As is the case with many large companies, some middle management fails to display leadership to a large extent. We should hire better senior managers and directors to embrace and evolve and relay the company vision and values.

    Facebook2020-01-10
  4. Helpful (413)

    "Pleasantly Surprised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Site Selection Program Manager in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook

    Pros

    I'm a 55 year old working in a company where the average age is 28, and I've never been happier. I have always wanted to work in a company where I wasn't the proverbial square peg, and after nearly 30 years in the work force, I believe that I have found the company that complements my ideology for how a company should operate. Here are the "Pros" as I see them... - Leadership: Mark Zuckerberg, Sheryl Sandberg, Chris Cox and the rest of the leadership team. Inspiring, smart and totally real. - The Culture: The openness is a real thing, we're trusted to do the right thing, mistakes are expected, being yourself is important and encouraged, humility is encouraged and expected, building trust is paramount, the mission of making the world a more open and connected place isn't just a cool phrase because it guides everything. It's not about us, it's about everyone else. - The People: Smart and nice is what I find. The diversity is better than any other company I've worked at and it's getting better. Those that are figuring out how to make what we do better for everyone are really good at implementing their ideas. Two years ago I didn't know what this company really was or if it had a secure future. I can clearly see now that they have what it takes to last, and it's sincere. - Management: Managers are hired because they're good managers and not because they're good at something else. The management track is different than the contributor track and they're equal in importance. - Benefits: Working in the Valley it's hard to differentiate all the benefits employees receive and Facebook is at least equal to all the major tech companies, but coming from Seattle the benefits are nothing short of incredible. Granted, I haven't been with the company for very long and I'm still in the honeymoon period, but I can tell what's real and what's not; this place is for real.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any tech company, the work is big and complicated so work/life balance can suffer from time to time. The difference is that it's the passion within the individuals that drives them to work long hours and forego time off. Of course there can be times when schedule demands force the imbalance, but it's not such that 10-12 hours days become commonplace and expected regardless. We do what we do to get the job done; no one is killing themselves because there's an order to do so. Being able to eat to your hearts/stomachs content can be dangerous to the waistline, but that's a self-control thing and not the company's issue.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and fight hard to not be complacent. I believe that humility is the key so don't ever lose that thinking. Your motives will always be suspect, but if you're able to look in the mirror everyday and know that your motives are pure, that's all that matters. Walking the talk is the best evidence there is.

    Facebook2016-02-17
  5. "happy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Facebook for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone's motivated and smart. People care about your success, and there are so many things to learn. It's really open, too. You can ask about even the most c o n f i d e n t i a l things. The Workplace groups are a good place to find some humor.

    Cons

    The work is sometimes really hard, and your salary / promotion depends on the amount of impact you have. This means that if your team embarks on failed projects, you could see a decrease in your chances of career advancement, even if it was higher-level management's fault. There are also a lot of people who work really long hours, and you're stacked against them during the performance summary cycle evaluations.

    Facebook2019-09-15
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Snacks, food, benefits, office looks good

    Cons

    -Long hours, can't work here if you have kids and have a good family life -Lack of diversity -Not recognized for hard work only if your manager likes you. Don't care about people, only business needs

    Advice to Management

    Stop the favoritism and bias

    Facebook2019-04-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Transparent company - Great pay - Flexible schedule - Overtime for admins - Best benefits!

    Cons

    - High pressure - Can be long hours

    Facebook2018-08-02
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Respectful workplace. Impactful work. Great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The company really cares about upscaling their managers. As an individual contributor myself, I really appreciate having a caring and at the same time professional manager, who gives me a lot of flexibility, but steps in when I need them. - You are being recognized for impact, not for how many years of experience you bring to the table. This helps getting good reviews for hard work, even when you're young and unexperienced. - You get many opportunities to work cross-functionally, which is great for diversity of thought. Personally, I like the fact I am exposed to working with technical and non-technical people. - Some of the benefits are amazing. Fertility treatment coverage and in general medical coverage are the best out there.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Facebook purposefully hires very smart and ambitious individuals. Even when there's no pressure from the manager to work long hours, you often see people working long hours, which in return puts more pressure on you. - There are no incentives to stay in the company for longer than 4 years. Once you vest all your RSUs, refreshers you get for good performance look very unattractive. It's more and more common for people to leave FB after 4 years, and come back a year later to re-negotiate their RSUs. - You are being "punished" with certain benefits if both spouses work for Facebook. A good example is baby cash which you get per family, not per employee. - Commute in the Bay area is terrible. - It's getting very very crowded in MPK. Facilities are definitely not keeping up with recruiting.

    Show More
    Facebook2018-05-16
  9. Helpful (25)

    "Tech Recruiting at Facebook.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Menlo Park, CA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing perks and benefits. FB is used internally and truly feels like a community - something I haven never experienced at any other company before. It's a place to explore your passions with classes in the arts, a music room, running clubs, health center, etc. Everything is at your fingertips.

    Cons

    The recruiting team here is over 1000+ people and going up. Like someone else mentioned, the quality of hires for the recruiting team is worsening. The R4R team is so desperate to hit their goal that the bar is low and it shows. There are many new inexperienced recruiters that we just wish would or COULD do their basic, functional job. The role of a sourcer and recruiter is becoming smaller and smaller. And although leadership insists they care, every action they take suggests they do not. It is hard to constantly be reminded that you are merely just another number to be replaced asap. Be prepared to work long, long hours. There isn't such a thing as "work/life" balance as most in recruiting will work into the night and weekends. The goals and expectations are extremely high so you're constantly competing with a whole org of overachievers. Realistically, this means it'll be tough to even achieve a "Meets All" rating during the review cycle as everyone is overachieving, thereby changing that already high goal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's becoming a toxic environment, so please figure this out before your top performers can't take anymore of this. This canNOT just be considered as a "growing pains" problem.

    Facebook2018-02-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open culture Free breakfast, lunch and dinner Ability to work from home Ability to work on projects of interest outside your core role Travel

    Cons

    Long hours Supporting directors across different teams

    Facebook2018-01-29
Found 44 reviews