Facebook Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 281 of over 8,759 reviews

4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
285 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food is just the beginning(in 399 reviews)

  • "Great environment and really smart people(in 344 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be tough at times(in 487 reviews)

  • "Sometimes long hours due to working with US(in 99 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "free food"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      Nov 4, 2020 - Talent Sourcer in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots - Environment, benefits, culture, free food

      Cons

      None that I can think of!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Facebook Response

      EMEA Recruitment Director

      Thank you for your feedback and your contribution in helping Facebook hire great talent into the company, more than likely I had the chance to work with you in the Recruitment team, so if I know you: "Hi again"! Appreciated the shout out on environment, benefits, culture and culinary, we think long and hard about and invest a lot of time and resources into our facilities, culture and employee experience so appreciate the feedback there. Best of luck in the next chapter of your career and hope to meet up soon in the not too distant future in and up and coming recruitment event in Ireland!

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good position to start your career at Facebook.

      Jan 18, 2021 - Privacy Operations Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At Facebook you will have plenty of benefits like health insurance, free food, stocks and flexibility.

      Cons

      It's an operational team so numbers matters in the end of the day. If you don't like operations I wouldn't recommend.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Facebook Response

      EMEA Recruitment Director

      Thanks for helping our operations teams grow and for making the time to share this review. Appreciate the call out on our benefits we'll keep working to improve our employee experience and employee value proposition. Thanks for your feedback always! Sincerely, Declan

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Love Facebook, it's a great company with great and humble people

      Jul 31, 2020 - Market Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - You can change and influence projects/ processes and really have an impact - Great perks and benefits (Free food, High bonus and salary, Health insurance and Pension, Health & Commute Budget) - Great career opportunities - Great branding on CV

      Cons

      - If you are a structured person, you need to get used to flexibility and no-hierarchy

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Great if your FTE. Soul crushing if your contractor

      Aug 7, 2020 - Anonymous Contractor in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food and snacks daily Modern equipment Good salary Good immediate supervisors Good training

      Cons

      If you're an FTE well done you're golden If you're a contractor, hired by an external agency - welcome to life as a second class citizen Facebook will tout that there is no different between FTEs and Contractors. Wrong! Our badges identify us as contractors. You will receive daily emails with exciting events but then you read at the bottom "FTE only". Contractors are barred from using the internal job application system to apply for FTE roles to try and advance themselves internally. Your role or team can suddenly be eliminated or switched to the even lower, cheaper vendor level. Contractors may be allowed walk around the main office but work there? Oh no. You will get the rented space over in a dodgy area of the city. Contractors have no access to basic benefits such as pensions or healthcare

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall Positive

      Jul 15, 2020 - Program Manager in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits such as WFH, equity, free food, free travel, wellness benefit

      Cons

      Duplication of work and lack of role clarity at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work.

      Mar 9, 2020 - Enterprise Support Tech in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work with amazing people, on amazing projects. Free food, snacks, coffee. Good opportunities for career development.

      Cons

      Can't think of any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Average Company

      Feb 17, 2020 - Learning and Development Manager in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are great. Working from home. Flexibility. Friendly environment. Travel. Multiculturalism. Free Food.

      Cons

      Process confusion Lack of transparency Travel No Career development No skills development

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid GMS org & supporting functions if at all possible

      Jan 1, 2020 - Program Manager in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Salary - Free Food - Health Insurance but you'll need it due to issues this place causes - Meet lots of cool people - Good for your first job but if you are experienced coming from the outside be very careful as they don't value this. - The FB experience varies widely between teams. I have friends who love their job and role on the team they are in. This wasn't the case for me. Your company is as good as your manager and I had no good ones.

      Cons

      1. Work/Life Balance If you don't make this boundary clear yourself and actively work on creating it - it will be exploited. Communication is broken in the company so you'll get messenger pings, quip notifications, emails, google doc updates at all hours. They even do long term project planning over chat groups in some teams. 2. Loads of unnecessary stress/anxiety related issues suffered by employees due to: (i) Managers fawning over each other showing "impact" of their teams - god help you if you don't make them look good or disagree with them. Anonymous reviews come through some of the time and people can say what they want about you. (ii) Unnecessary fighting between individual contributors due to performance review system. People "strong arm" you into doing work when it makes no business sense so it can make them look good. (iii) Bad reviews stick with you and you'll be treated differently - people are managed out/disappear/don't pass probation all the time. Speaking with friends in other companies FB isn't that attractive anymore and it's reputation is changing in the jobs marketplace. (iv) Performance reviews for the most part are opinion based (see 3 below) and not work based (v) Bullying/Level-ism. I've seen so much of it go on here and nothing done. (vi) Decisions a lot of the time are made from MPK and a lot of the time opinion based and not fact based which is scary. The 'Holier Than Though' engineering 'Move Fast' culture creates loads of chaos and is unnecessary. 3. You are goaled a lot on "collaboration" i.e. how much you are liked rather than the work you do or numbers you drive. This is a cult like characteristic where you have to be "happy" and "always on." I joined FB to work on projects to drive numbers but all my feedback was about how I got on with other people. Collaboration is important for most companies but it's fake at Facebook due to performance review system. 4. There are no formal processes for a lot of things in the company. The only analogy I have for Facebook is that it's like a big building, you go inside, peel back the wallpaper and all you will see is the pipes - the walls are missing. It's "XFN this" and "XFN that" so you reach out to teams to get things done and rely on "collaboration" rather than formal processes/business requirements. It's a huge surprise to me how it has gotten this far. I've seen parts of the operation down/backlogged for weeks on end due to bad planning but you can't complain about it because you won't be "liked." 5. GMS Summit - This event is a mix between Jonestown and being in North Korea. People stand up and applaud Zuckerberg when he comes on stage and don't sit down until he sits down. A VP (one in particular) gets on stage and tells the audience how lucky and special they are to have a job there and how grateful we should all be. Another one at the EMEA one told us to start sharing positive news about FB on our personal feeds.

      16 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0