Facebook "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Facebook Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, lot of responsibilities(in 341 reviews)

  • "Working with really smart people(in 279 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on teams, some team may have bad work life balance(in 360 reviews)

  • "There are no cons of working at facebook(in 79 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, lot of responsibilities

    Cons

    Bad goaling, unclear strategy for the team

    Facebook2019-07-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid GMS org & supporting functions if at all possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Salary - Free Food - Health Insurance but you'll need it due to issues this place causes - Meet lots of cool people - Good for your first job but if you are experienced coming from the outside be very careful as they don't value this. - The FB experience varies widely between teams. I have friends who love their job and role on the team they are in. This wasn't the case for me. Your company is as good as your manager and I had no good ones.

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Work/Life Balance If you don't make this boundary clear yourself and actively work on creating it - it will be exploited. Communication is broken in the company so you'll get messenger pings, quip notifications, emails, google doc updates at all hours. They even do long term project planning over chat groups in some teams. 2. Loads of unnecessary stress/anxiety related issues suffered by employees due to: (i) Managers fawning over each other showing "impact" of their teams - god help you if you don't make them look good or disagree with them. Anonymous reviews come through some of the time and people can say what they want about you. (ii) Unnecessary fighting between individual contributors due to performance review system. People "strong arm" you into doing work when it makes no business sense so it can make them look good. (iii) Bad reviews stick with you and you'll be treated differently - people are managed out/disappear/don't pass probation all the time. Speaking with friends in other companies FB isn't that attractive anymore and it's reputation is changing in the jobs marketplace. (iv) Performance reviews for the most part are opinion based (see 3 below) and not work based (v) Bullying/Level-ism. I've seen so much of it go on here and nothing done. (vi) Decisions a lot of the time are made from MPK and a lot of the time opinion based and not fact based which is scary. The 'Holier Than Though' engineering 'Move Fast' culture creates loads of chaos and is unnecessary. 3. You are goaled a lot on "collaboration" i.e. how much you are liked rather than the work you do or numbers you drive. This is a cult like characteristic where you have to be "happy" and "always on." I joined FB to work on projects to drive numbers but all my feedback was about how I got on with other people. Collaboration is important for most companies but it's fake at Facebook due to performance review system. 4. There are no formal processes for a lot of things in the company. The only analogy I have for Facebook is that it's like a big building, you go inside, peel back the wallpaper and all you will see is the pipes - the walls are missing. It's "XFN this" and "XFN that" so you reach out to teams to get things done and rely on "collaboration" rather than formal processes/business requirements. It's a huge surprise to me how it has gotten this far. I've seen parts of the operation down/backlogged for weeks on end due to bad planning but you can't complain about it because you won't be "liked." 5. GMS Summit - This event is a mix between Jonestown and being in North Korea. People stand up and applaud Zuckerberg when he comes on stage and don't sit down until he sits down. A VP (one in particular) gets on stage and tells the audience how lucky and special they are to have a job there and how grateful we should all be. Another one at the EMEA one told us to start sharing positive news about FB on our personal feeds.

    Show More
    Facebook2020-01-01
  3. "Great place to work and be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - free food on the site - snacks provided on a daily basis - great opportunity to work with very diverse people from all over the world

    Cons

    - sometimes it is very hard to get promoted without knowing anyone on a higher position

    Advice to Management

    - give a chance to everyone - not only people from your circle

    Facebook2019-11-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Business Integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Analyst in Dublin, Dublin

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Food Perks Flexibility Salary Nice Offices

    Cons

    I worked in Facebook for one year, but my experience in Business Integrity has been literally a nightmare, I felt extremely underrated, ignored and not involved in the main team responsibilities. Facebook is for sure a great company, but my experience in BI was really bad. Please, see below the main cons of this team: 1)Management: Inexpert management, really superficial and high level approach, luck of clear direction, unprofessional jokes and attitude, play favourites, only interest in their own goals and not the development of the team - Lack of structure: No processes & structures, many teams have been created without a prior consultant opinion. So many people, me included, have been obliged to work in a team not fitting their skills. - Not all the opinions are heard: If you try to propose new projects ideas and . process you can result annoying. They ask people of higher level to be independent and drive their own initiatives, but at the end the managers decide and promote only the people that help them to reach their own goals. - Team collaboration: we are all great talent and characters, but the lack of job together with the managers inconsistency created un-healthy competition and back stubbing environment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Please be more professional: We are not a group of friends!!! Bad jokes on the city where someone comes from or arrogant commenta are not acceptable in a great company as Facebook - Work more on written processes and workflows that enable same expectations for everyone - Improve People skills: start to listen the opinions of all team members, care more about their needs and their desire to growth and make things impactful and meaningful for them instead of thinking solely to your own interests!

    Show More
    Facebook2019-10-04
  5. "Haven't seen better employer in Cork!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office space (small by Facebook standards and very cozy), friendly and talented people, exciting and meaningful work. Compensation and benefits are very good, there's free food and snacks in the office and many social activities.

    Cons

    Since many co-workers are based in the US west coast, your work day normally starts and ends later than usual. Office in the city centre means parking and commute are sometimes frustrating.

    Facebook2019-06-26
  6. "Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Work from home Immense support from management Free food/drinks A lot of social events Many more

    Cons

    Too good and relaxing that I feel guilty :)

    Facebook2019-06-05
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Only accept a perm role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time

    Pros

    Free food - three 2 restaurants and 1 salad bar onsite, can bring family in evening and take home food as well salary tools structure benefits location

    Cons

    people bullying in workplace bad management cut throat working environment - everyone anxious about being sacked all the time Snobs will do well in here

    Advice to Management

    stop over selling the role about making impact when its impossible too! just let recruiter do their job with out all the physiological games you play

    Facebook2019-05-20
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Worest company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food and nice facilities

    Cons

    if you disagree with the management, you get fired. Worst culture of fear, intimidation and lies. No checks and balances and HR is completely powerless

    Advice to Management

    Stop firing people who disagrees with you

    Facebook2019-03-21
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Very US centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, canteen and refreshments

    Cons

    Everything is based on US time zone and work life balance is tough. Too many meetings. US employees not very respectful of EMEA timezone

    Facebook2019-02-22
  10. "Great internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Production Engineer Intern in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office, great perks (free food, free housing for interns, nice intern events, great salary) and tons of smart engineers and mentors that are always offering their help.

    Cons

    The internship was too short.

    Facebook2019-01-09
Found 255 reviews