Facebook Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Facebook Reviews

Updated 1 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
136 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid GMS org & supporting functions if at all possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Salary - Free Food - Health Insurance but you'll need it due to issues this place causes - Meet lots of cool people - Good for your first job but if you are experienced coming from the outside be very careful as they don't value this. - The FB experience varies widely between teams. I have friends who love their job and role on the team they are in. This wasn't the case for me. Your company is as good as your manager and I had no good ones.

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Work/Life Balance If you don't make this boundary clear yourself and actively work on creating it - it will be exploited. Communication is broken in the company so you'll get messenger pings, quip notifications, emails, google doc updates at all hours. They even do long term project planning over chat groups in some teams. 2. Loads of unnecessary stress/anxiety related issues suffered by employees due to: (i) Managers fawning over each other showing "impact" of their teams - god help you if you don't make them look good or disagree with them. Anonymous reviews come through some of the time and people can say what they want about you. (ii) Unnecessary fighting between individual contributors due to performance review system. People "strong arm" you into doing work when it makes no business sense so it can make them look good. (iii) Bad reviews stick with you and you'll be treated differently - people are managed out/disappear/don't pass probation all the time. Speaking with friends in other companies FB isn't that attractive anymore and it's reputation is changing in the jobs marketplace. (iv) Performance reviews for the most part are opinion based (see 3 below) and not work based (v) Bullying/Level-ism. I've seen so much of it go on here and nothing done. (vi) Decisions a lot of the time are made from MPK and a lot of the time opinion based and not fact based which is scary. The 'Holier Than Though' engineering 'Move Fast' culture creates loads of chaos and is unnecessary. 3. You are goaled a lot on "collaboration" i.e. how much you are liked rather than the work you do or numbers you drive. This is a cult like characteristic where you have to be "happy" and "always on." I joined FB to work on projects to drive numbers but all my feedback was about how I got on with other people. Collaboration is important for most companies but it's fake at Facebook due to performance review system. 4. There are no formal processes for a lot of things in the company. The only analogy I have for Facebook is that it's like a big building, you go inside, peel back the wallpaper and all you will see is the pipes - the walls are missing. It's "XFN this" and "XFN that" so you reach out to teams to get things done and rely on "collaboration" rather than formal processes/business requirements. It's a huge surprise to me how it has gotten this far. I've seen parts of the operation down/backlogged for weeks on end due to bad planning but you can't complain about it because you won't be "liked." 5. GMS Summit - This event is a mix between Jonestown and being in North Korea. People stand up and applaud Zuckerberg when he comes on stage and don't sit down until he sits down. A VP (one in particular) gets on stage and tells the audience how lucky and special they are to have a job there and how grateful we should all be. Another one at the EMEA one told us to start sharing positive news about FB on our personal feeds.

    Show More
    Facebook2020-01-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Easily the best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - L&D Leader in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Authenticity - you don't need to wear a work mask, Freedom to do the most impactful work, amazing colleagues, great benefits and perks

    Cons

    There's always too much to do and therefore you need to manage yourself. Change is like breathing so if you are not comfortable with this then it's not for you

    Advice to Management

    I get that you are doing things that have never been done before, but the scale of the company now means that every big decision needs to consider all unintended consequences

    Facebook2019-12-05
  3. "Technical Sourcer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sourcer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, benefits, salary, career progression, the market's perception of your own profile will change for the best, instant access to conversations with other Tier 1 companies

    Cons

    Very high paced, you always need to keep up

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing you

    Facebook2019-12-03
  4. "Construction Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Project Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, the facilities and the culture

    Cons

    One can sometimes be a bit anonymous since there is so many people working here.

    Facebook2019-11-22
  5. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Medical Insurance, Yearly Salary, Working Environment

    Cons

    Office Politics, Over Sensitivity, Housing Support

    Facebook2019-11-18
  6. "Great place to work and be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - free food on the site - snacks provided on a daily basis - great opportunity to work with very diverse people from all over the world

    Cons

    - sometimes it is very hard to get promoted without knowing anyone on a higher position

    Advice to Management

    - give a chance to everyone - not only people from your circle

    Facebook2019-11-17
  7. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - lots of freedom to own projects - great management

    Cons

    - company politics - salary - career progression in other locations

    Facebook2019-10-29
  8. "Process Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Technician in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Value people's opinions, ideas and impressive diverse career oppurtunities

    Cons

    Do not have at the moment. Happily working

    Advice to Management

    Please kindly continue to listen to the people on the ground

    Facebook2019-10-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Business Integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Analyst in Dublin, Dublin

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Food Perks Flexibility Salary Nice Offices

    Cons

    I worked in Facebook for one year, but my experience in Business Integrity has been literally a nightmare, I felt extremely underrated, ignored and not involved in the main team responsibilities. Facebook is for sure a great company, but my experience in BI was really bad. Please, see below the main cons of this team: 1)Management: Inexpert management, really superficial and high level approach, luck of clear direction, unprofessional jokes and attitude, play favourites, only interest in their own goals and not the development of the team - Lack of structure: No processes & structures, many teams have been created without a prior consultant opinion. So many people, me included, have been obliged to work in a team not fitting their skills. - Not all the opinions are heard: If you try to propose new projects ideas and . process you can result annoying. They ask people of higher level to be independent and drive their own initiatives, but at the end the managers decide and promote only the people that help them to reach their own goals. - Team collaboration: we are all great talent and characters, but the lack of job together with the managers inconsistency created un-healthy competition and back stubbing environment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Please be more professional: We are not a group of friends!!! Bad jokes on the city where someone comes from or arrogant commenta are not acceptable in a great company as Facebook - Work more on written processes and workflows that enable same expectations for everyone - Improve People skills: start to listen the opinions of all team members, care more about their needs and their desire to growth and make things impactful and meaningful for them instead of thinking solely to your own interests!

    Show More
    Facebook2019-10-04
  10. "Just started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PDO in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food Benefits Company culture Scale People

    Cons

    Low base salary comparing to cost of living

    Facebook2019-09-26
Found 159 reviews