Facebook Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Facebook Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
131 Ratings
Pros
  • "free food and transport are great(in 320 reviews)

  • "Working with really smart people(in 267 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Process Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Technician in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Value people's opinions, ideas and impressive diverse career oppurtunities

    Cons

    Do not have at the moment. Happily working

    Advice to Management

    Please kindly continue to listen to the people on the ground

    Facebook2019-10-06
  2. "Just started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PDO in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food Benefits Company culture Scale People

    Cons

    Low base salary comparing to cost of living

    Facebook2019-09-26
  3. "Wow! Loving the humility, empathy and inspiration!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMEA Recruitment Director in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've only just started with Facebook, but I'm truly humbled to be part of the team!  For me it starts first and foremost with the mission: to give people the power to build community and bring the world closer together. I love this mission and while I've worked in other great companies in the past with great missions too - this by far - is the mission that relates most to me as an individual. It's powerful.... It's empowering. It's enriching. It's transformative. Not just for me but  for so many people we share the world with today but also tomorrow. What I love about it is I believe Facebook and its family of apps: Instagram, Messenger and WhatsApp, etc, and other technologies like it from other companies are transforming the medium of language, the medium of communication. I can remember being a young boy in the early 80's in a small city called Waterford, in the south of Ireland,  being excited when introduced to the humble CD for the first time. I remember clearly the first mobile brick hand-phones, mpeg players, ipods, on and on and on. With the advent of AR/VR and the proliferation global messaging apps that connect huge parts of the world today I'm feeling a similar excitement here seeing first hand the impact these technologes are having for billions of people on the planet. I'm really enjoying being in a company not just playing a huge part in this evolutionary transformation but doing so in a company from what I can see so far is doing so with real respect for its employees. The work environment is safe, collaborative and fair. There are large degrees of flexibility, autonomy and transparency. Folks are humble and authentic, at least the ones I've all met so far, and they deeply care about their work and those people around them. I'm only new, so I'll need more to understand the company as the weeks, months and years go by, but so far so good and I'm delighted to be joining at such an early stage of its growth.  

    Show More

    Cons

    None yet. Not hear long enough!

    Advice to Management

    Keeping lean 100% into D&I and a business priority.

    Facebook2019-09-13
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ambitious, but arrogant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Ops Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart people doing big things!

    Cons

    Lack of willingness to question if what's being done is meaningful. The term used internally is "impact" but it's directly tied to what amounts to ~60% of your salary. To abandon a project or idea is to risk a tremendous amount of your bonus, and everyone fights for their piece of the bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider how impact is measured

    Facebook2019-09-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Business Integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Analyst in Dublin, Dublin

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Food Perks Flexibility Salary Nice Offices

    Cons

    I worked in Facebook for one year, but my experience in Business Integrity has been literally a nightmare, I felt extremely underrated, ignored and not involved in the main team responsibilities. Facebook is for sure a great company, but my experience in BI was really bad. Please, see below the main cons of this team: 1)Management: Inexpert management, really superficial and high level approach, luck of clear... direction, unprofessional jokes and attitude, play favourites, only interest in their own goals and not the development of the team - Lack of structure: No processes & structures, many teams have been created without a prior consultant opinion. So many people, me included, have been obliged to work in a team not fitting their skills. - Not all the opinions are heard: If you try to propose new projects ideas and . process you can result annoying. They ask people of higher level to be independent and drive their own initiatives, but at the end the managers decide and promote only the people that help them to reach their own goals. - Team collaboration: we are all great talent and characters, but the lack of job together with the managers inconsistency created un-healthy competition and back stubbing environment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Please be more professional: We are not a group of friends!!! Bad jokes on the city where someone comes from or arrogant commenta are not acceptable in a great company as Facebook - Work more on written processes and workflows that enable same expectations for everyone - Improve People skills: start to listen the opinions of all team members, care more about their needs and their desire to growth and make... things impactful and meaningful for them instead of thinking solely to your own interests!

    Show More
    Facebook2019-10-04
  6. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industry Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great People, Great Opportunities, Great place to worrk

    Cons

    Push you constantly and really get the most out of you

    Facebook2019-08-28
  7. "Great company and opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Lead in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company Great opportunities Great facilities and perks Good coworkers

    Cons

    Employees fighting for visibility Need to innovate each half

    Facebook2019-08-28
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People focused, meaningful work and great culture

    Cons

    Challenging to continue to excel

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Facebook2019-09-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "My Time At Facebook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good perks, good benefits, tech at scale

    Cons

    Odd culture. A mission I couldn't buy into.

    Facebook2019-08-20
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Business class travel :-)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unbeatable perks and benefits: wellness benefit, retirement, 1 month leave once you have spent 5 years, increases every six month, business class travel for long flights, you don't have to share your hotel room like at Google, etc etc...The list is very long. The revenue performance of the company says it all, they are rich and generous with employees. You're really spoiled here. Unique opportunities with an... ability to learn on a daily basis, really building up your resume with an ability to fill any gap with new experiences. People are quite protective of their work and don't like others stepping on their toes, as normal, but there is so much to do that you can create your own role and work on the matters that are of highest interest to you.

    Show More

    Cons

    No decision making. This sounds incredible, but it's true. Decisions are taken as part of cross-functional meetings where everyone has an opinion and nobody is really driving. Somehow, it seems to work well because decisions ARE taken! But the downside is that it creates a lot of insecurity as people are really freaked out that things blow up (and it blows up quickly here, considering the regular negative media... headlines) and that they be blamed. Managers in particular, are very sensitive, insecure and as a result, they tend to micro-manage or get involved in matters they shouldn't be involved with at their level. A lot of dissatisfaction about management all around. A lot of pressure to get the job done. You need to be resilient and work hard on preserving your work/life balance. Company culture is poor - extremely political and everyone is focused on building their career. We all know that having Facebook on our resume will open fantastic doors! It's ok to navigate the politics and survive though..you just need to be aware of it and of the fact that your colleagues will not hesitate to throw you under the bus if they feel threatened!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    (to low-level management:) Breath and stop thinking that the entire company lays on your shoulders :-) we will all survive even if you take 2 weeks PTO!

    Facebook2019-08-07
Found 153 reviews