F5 Networks "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

F5 Networks Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
F5 Networks President and Chief Executive Officer Francois Locoh-Donou
Francois Locoh-Donou
169 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working hours with a good work-life balance(in 127 reviews)

  • "Great benefits: family plans for HDHP health are at no monthly cost to the employee(in 56 reviews)

Cons
  • "Struggling to transform into to a software / cloud relevant company(in 39 reviews)

  • "Layers upon layers of middle management (causing micro management > submit weekly activity report)(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Warsaw
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - They pay very well. - Great work-life balance. - Great system to work on, tons of clever well-written code and the overall code quality is still good. - The system is being evolved towards better and more modern architecture. - Despite the cloud shift the business seem to be running ok. - A perfect place to hide from cloud, deep or machine learning etc. - What alternatives as a C++ programmer do you have in Warsaw, Poland ?

    Show More

    Cons

    - It's more a milk cow maintenance. The days of heroes and glory are gone. - I work remotely with a Seattle team, it feels a bit lonely and sometimes paranoic. Defitely not for everyone. - The future of cloud and NGINX business isn't clear for me. We're contenders in this market.

    Advice to Management

    FOCUS on what the company has been doing well.

    F5 Networks2019-12-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Lost it charm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good work life balance , good campus

    Cons

    worst middle management ,so many changes so often .

    F5 Networks2019-12-09
  3. "Senior software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time

    Pros

    Can work on new technologies Good work life balance

    Cons

    none I can think of

    F5 Networks2019-11-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be a great company - lost its direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at F5 Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, good people, good benefits overall, 401k match.

    Cons

    High turnover in the management ranks in the last few years. New management appears, announces new ideas, then disappears soon after. Product management has disappeared. The core hardware market is declining and there is no clear strategy forward. Technology is old. Many good sales, technology and marketing people have left.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house, trim products, streamline from top to bottom, innovate on what matters to the market, and focus on relevant technology.

    F5 Networks2019-12-06
  5. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Internship in San Jose, CA

    I worked at F5 Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, good for learning new skills

    Cons

    No free lunch and dinner

    F5 Networks2019-11-09
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Good benefits, bad management, unknown future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    CXOs don’t seem to know how to manage a company. Moral is low.

    F5 Networks2019-10-21
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at F5 Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic work-life balance and a very nurturing environment for anybody looking to apply.

    Cons

    Honestly, there were extremely few cons. I suppose the onboarding was slightly out of date, but it wasn't too tedious to get through.

    F5 Networks2019-10-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Good benefits

    Cons

    Struggling to transform into to a software / cloud relevant company. Very hierarchical and top heavy. Lots of managers with one or just a couple of direct reports. Old and rigid culture Will be very difficult if note impossible to sustain revenue in the coming 3 years.

    Advice to Management

    You have too many managers which is a waste of resources and money. It also has a negative influence on employees. Anyone with less than 5 direct reports should not be a manager. Company's annual revenue growth is a mere 4% but more than 25 % of the total Sales workforce is achieving more than 200% of quota. Something is seriously wrong and needs immediate fixing.

    F5 Networks2019-10-04
  9. "Great Company and flexible work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - EMEA Talent Acquisition Partner (Interim) in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company Great staff Flexible work-life balance

    Cons

    Processes not managed well

    F5 Networks2019-09-20
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing work life balance Smart people to learn and expand my knowledge Good commute with new downtown building Agile teams 401k/ESPP

    Cons

    F5 is going through a radical change and its stock performance has declined since big returns aren’t expected in near future.

    F5 Networks2019-08-29
Found 142 reviews