F5 Networks Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

F5 Networks Reviews

Updated 28 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
F5 Networks President and Chief Executive Officer Francois Locoh-Donou
Francois Locoh-Donou
156 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Good benefits

    Cons

    Struggling to transform into to a software / cloud relevant company. Very hierarchical and top heavy. Lots of managers with one or just a couple of direct reports. Old and rigid culture Will be very difficult if note impossible to sustain revenue in the coming 3 years.

    Advice to Management

    You have too many managers which is a waste of resources and money. It also has a negative influence on employees. Anyone with less than 5 direct reports should not be a manager. Company's annual revenue growth is a mere 4% but more than 25 % of the total Sales workforce is achieving more than 200% of quota. Something is seriously wrong and needs immediate fixing.

    F5 Networks2019-10-04
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at F5 Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative, well meaning, great benefit

    Cons

    Lack of accountability, no culture of striving excellence with the CFO group

    F5 Networks2019-10-15
  3. Helpful (3)

    "F5 is a positive/hardworking/culturally inclusive unicorn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - WW Field Enablement in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at F5 for nearly 3 years, and I'd say that there have been some drastic changes, all of them in an effort to push the envelope on what a great company should look like: - to their employees - to their clients - to their shareholders This last year has been the greatest of my career, all because F5 fostered an environment where I desired to continually give my best, and always pointed me in the direction where my value has it's greatest impact. I've also never worked with/for an organization where the executive team is as accessible, both in presence and accessible to receive feedback that they actually drive action with as with F5. It's truly an incredible sight to see. Thanks to my manager, director and others for the opportunity!

    Show More

    Cons

    F5 struggles in a few areas that they are completely transparent and open about: - We're in the midst of some extreme change... with that comes uncertainty from wall street, new executives with new ideas, and some areas where teams might feel uncomfortable. - Cross-functional collaboration has always been an issue; teams do well within their team but are working on how to be better outside their own silo - F5's identity has always been with the largest organizations in the world, but that's not the future vision of the company and it's hard to adjust quickly all this said, the transparency from leadership and their ask from employees to help come up with, and drive forth solutions has my buy in. Every company has issues, but not every company addresses them consistently and has a desire to continually improve.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have worked with dozens of large technology companies, and I would argue that F5 is the most well rounded and best of them all. Francois and team: Thank you for providing us a place that empowers us to work hard, to add value, to feel as if our voices are heard, and to do this all in an environment where everyone feels accepted for who they are.

    F5 Networks2019-09-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Too many transformations in too little time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Practicing agile, working with new technologies

    Cons

    The human resource is no longer valued. No promotion opportunities. Bad management.

    Advice to Management

    Show gratitude to your employees.

    F5 Networks2019-10-15
  5. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at F5 Networks full-time

    Pros

    Good company with updated technologies

    Cons

    No cons . Everything is good.

    F5 Networks2019-10-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Transition to the Cloud, Agile/DevOps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Product Introduction Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time

    Pros

    Deep pockets, amazing tech, generally good culture

    Cons

    All the rigidity of Waterfall, all the overhead of Agile

    Advice to Management

    Doesn't look like anyone wants to give up the iron fisted control required to really do Agile properly

    F5 Networks2019-09-24
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks

    Pros

    Good technology and great coworkers to work with. Great benefits as well.

    Cons

    Executives do NOT have a plan of developing HW. Product Development department has lost lots of talents since last year, and they’re very important talents, architect, Sr director, principal etc, and still keep losing people. There are several reasons: Executive team keeps cutting HW budget, HW engineers are not treated well (in terms of raise, RSUs). There’s no clear future HW roadmap, executives just want to make Wall Street happy, focus on SW, no HW investment. Ironically this company is surviving just because of HW chassis.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    F5 should be aware of its HW advantages over the other SW companies, and know how to make good use of it.

    F5 Networks2019-10-06
  8. Helpful (5)

    "once upon a time company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at F5 Networks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity to learn, flexible atmosphere.

    Cons

    Management passive aggressiveness, unfair trade practices.

    Advice to Management

    Identify without bias the sincere and support the honest.

    F5 Networks2019-09-26
  9. "Good and stable place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Tel Aviv-Yafo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable. People are working here for 10-15 years

    Cons

    Benefits are little less than other companies

    F5 Networks2019-09-18
  10. "I had a great experience at F5"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at F5 Networks

    Pros

    People are very approachable and willing to talk with you.

    Cons

    Honestly can’t think of any

    F5 Networks2019-09-08
Found 805 reviews