F5 Networks Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

F5 Networks Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
F5 Networks President and Chief Executive Officer Francois Locoh-Donou
Francois Locoh-Donou
154 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working hours with a good work-life balance(in 127 reviews)

  • "Great benefits: family plans for HDHP health are at no monthly cost to the employee(in 56 reviews)

Cons
  • "Struggling to transform into to a software / cloud relevant company(in 39 reviews)

  • "Layers upon layers of middle management (causing micro management > submit weekly activity report)(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at F5 Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Environment is friendly and the culture is amazing.

    Cons

    Salary is not up to the market level, progress takes time due to the number of employees

    Advice to Management

    Managers in general are amazing people, enjoyed working with them. My advise will be spot the brilliants talents and compensate them quickly for a better retention.

    F5 Networks2019-01-07
  2. "Gained a lot of knowledge on Bots Management and Web Application attacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at F5 Networks

    Pros

    Great work environment and technology opp

    Cons

    The job location was not easy to arrive by transit

    F5 Networks2020-01-11
  3. "Great Tech Company but undergoing Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and People centric processes. Excellent HR team to support the development

    Cons

    With the Acquisitions, too many changes and can be chaotic or even challenging.

    F5 Networks2019-12-24
  4. "It is time to chase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at F5 Networks full-time

    Pros

    F5 has found their route to success, it is just a matter of time to complete the change and grow organically, the headquarters team is wonderful and willing to help.

    Cons

    The Latam team is lost in terms of strategy and has not engaged with the company vision and still try to do everything as the old way.

    Advice to Management

    You must ensure that the strategy is enforced throughout the whole company.

    F5 Networks2019-12-12
  5. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Warsaw
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - They pay very well. - Great work-life balance. - Great system to work on, tons of clever well-written code and the overall code quality is still good. - The system is being evolved towards better and more modern architecture. - Despite the cloud shift the business seem to be running ok. - A perfect place to hide from cloud, deep or machine learning etc. - What alternatives as a C++ programmer do you have in Warsaw, Poland ?

    Show More

    Cons

    - It's more a milk cow maintenance. The days of heroes and glory are gone. - I work remotely with a Seattle team, it feels a bit lonely and sometimes paranoic. Defitely not for everyone. - The future of cloud and NGINX business isn't clear for me. We're contenders in this market.

    Advice to Management

    FOCUS on what the company has been doing well.

    F5 Networks2019-12-11
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Lost it charm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good work life balance , good campus

    Cons

    worst middle management ,so many changes so often .

    F5 Networks2019-12-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not the great company people seem to think they are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations Specialist - Renewals in Chertsey, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at F5 Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    F5 do offer a good benefits package but not any better than a lot of other companies.

    Cons

    Before I accepted the job at F5, I asked friends in the industry their thoughts and everyone advised they seemed like a really good company, this couldn't be more wrong from what I experienced there. The company is extremely segregated, departments don't integrate, even certain desks are like prison cells so you can't even talk to your colleagues. There was plenty of work to do as no processes are automated and god forbid you would suggest making a change.......you are met with a response of 'this is how we have done it for the last 10 years'. The worst experience was the incompetent managers, most of the managers had clearly never managed a proper sales team and were clearly working from the 'Sales for Dummies' handbook, the other managers don't even bother to show face in the office. F5 say they offer modern flexible working, you almost feel like you need to beg to be able to work from home and be treated like an adult and if you are given permission, you still need to submit an official ticket for approval. One thing that they neglect to tell you in the interview is that no holiday is approved for the last two weeks of every quarter, including the Xmas period, you have to been in the office on all days except bank holidays. All in all, for a company who is trying to move their technology to the present day, their working environment is stuck in the 90's.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like adults and don't be afraid to accept that maybe your staff know how to do the job better than you do.

    F5 Networks2019-12-10
  8. "Senior software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time

    Pros

    Can work on new technologies Good work life balance

    Cons

    none I can think of

    F5 Networks2019-11-27
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be a great company - lost its direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at F5 Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, good people, good benefits overall, 401k match.

    Cons

    High turnover in the management ranks in the last few years. New management appears, announces new ideas, then disappears soon after. Product management has disappeared. The core hardware market is declining and there is no clear strategy forward. Technology is old. Many good sales, technology and marketing people have left.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house, trim products, streamline from top to bottom, innovate on what matters to the market, and focus on relevant technology.

    F5 Networks2019-12-06
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at F5 Networks full-time

    Pros

    work in a circle of very smart and nice people

    Cons

    So far there is no any concerns

    F5 Networks2019-11-23
Found 803 reviews