Fáilte Ireland Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Fáilte Ireland Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Fáilte Ireland CEO Shaun Quinn
Shaun Quinn
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Officer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fáilte Ireland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good team work and great benefits. Hardworking management.

    Cons

    don't apply if you are scared of hard work

    Fáilte Ireland2019-09-14
  2. "overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fáilte Ireland full-time

    Pros

    good employer good place to work

    Cons

    hard to progress or be empowered

    Fáilte Ireland2019-07-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best graduate placements out there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fáilte Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I applied to work for Fáilte Ireland through the Ibec graduate programme. Originally, I was sceptical as this placement was not as well-known as the other placements on the tourism stream. From the very first week I was given my own projects, high levels of responsibility and a lot of experience representing the company abroad. In my first year I was sent to over 10 destinations on sales calls or educational trips.... This placement also allowed me to get to know the most senior members of the tourism industry (hotels, venues etc). Fáilte Ireland take their commitment seriously when taking on graduates and I was quickly made feel part of the team!

    Show More

    Cons

    The salary is low but there are great benefits to make up for it (fully paid work phone, work travel expenses and a subsidised canteen onsite). The company also pays for the postgraduate diploma through DIT.

    Fáilte Ireland2019-02-01
  4. "IT Roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - CRM Data Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fáilte Ireland for less than a year

    Pros

    People are great, unbelievable canteen

    Cons

    Micro management, change management moves at a glacial pace, slow paced.

    Advice to Management

    Less micro management.

    Fáilte Ireland2019-01-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job & Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Travel Advisor in Kenmare
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fáilte Ireland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management & team network. Great working environment & atmosphere. Excellent pay. Attractive working hours. Great experience with people and company to have worked for

    Cons

    Unfortunately, If you are on a seasonal contract there is not much opportunity to grow and develop as the regular staff are kept on.

    Fáilte Ireland2018-10-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fáilte Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive place to work in terms of remit

    Cons

    Limited to promotional opportunities. People like to say its not my job

    Advice to Management

    Create promotional opportunities

    Fáilte Ireland2018-01-05
  7. "Good environment x Lack of structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fáilte Ireland part-time

    Pros

    High qualified professionals People willin to help Good relantionship in between manager and staff Here you don't get stressed for unimportant matter

    Cons

    A lack of processes which leads to a bad management structure A lack of training The older staff group are very resistant to changes which slow down the implementation of new technologies and processes

    Advice to Management

    Retain your talented professionals improving salary and providing better training/resources

    Fáilte Ireland2017-07-14
  8. "Enjoyable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Seasonal Travel Advisor in Dingle
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fáilte Ireland

    Pros

    Lovely busy office and great ci workers

    Cons

    Low pay and short term contract

    Fáilte Ireland2017-04-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fáilte Ireland

    Pros

    Great experience, especially if you like to engage with visitors, and enjoy helping people. Great colleagues to work with as well.

    Cons

    Management from main offices of smaller local offices was often times sporadic, and didn't always provide the best support. Important to be able to rely on your colleagues for support. Seasonality means that they lose great people between seasons.

    Fáilte Ireland2016-04-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Travel advisor role was enjoyable team-based customer service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Travel Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fáilte Ireland for less than a year

    Pros

    9-5 days, satisfying job when helping clients, you learn a great deal about your area, you are presented with a variety of challenges to solve, above minimum wage hourly rate.

    Cons

    Unpaid breaks, hence a 36 hour paid week. Customer service role, hence you can occasionally be confronted with awkward clients in person or on the telephone. Dealing with rural b&bs can be sometimes frustrating. No computer system for bookings, and existing recommended booking websites are bug-riddled, making the job much slower. Rigid hierarchical structure means it is difficult to contact personally higher... management or even HR if needed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a good and robust booking system installed.

    Fáilte Ireland2015-02-26
Found 13 reviews