European Investment Bank Trainee Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

European Investment Bank Trainee Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
100%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
European Investment Bank President Dr. Werner Hoyer (no image)
Dr. Werner Hoyer
7 Ratings
  1. "Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    Probably one of the best trainee programs

    Cons

    The pay is not quite sufficient to live in Luxembourg

    Advice to Management

    Should consider making the position rotational

    European Investment Bank2019-09-12
  2. "Great environment, but also huge arrogance from Managers and nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    Great group of colleagues International environment Insight into diverse projects the Bank is doing

    Cons

    Nepotism. Arrogance. Often belittled by directors.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who really feel passionate about the EU and not sons of Ambassadors of Werner Hoyeur's buddies.

    European Investment Bank2019-08-07
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Trainee in Luxembourg

    I worked at European Investment Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a great place to work, multicultural environment, fantastic projects, teams of professionals that are open to give the trainees interesting assignments.

    Cons

    Low salaries make not easy to manage with the high rent prices in the city.

    European Investment Bank2019-07-08
  4. "TRAINEESHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to be and to start a career

    Cons

    trainees do not get much training the approach is learning by doing . The allowance is low for Luxembourg life costs

    European Investment Bank2019-07-19
  5. "Qualified tasks in a nice working environment surrounded by highly experienced employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful task Good contact with supervisor and the colleagues at my division Spacious office Social Possibility to buy lunch within the building to a reasonable price Possibility to do different sports and leisure activities within the building Create contacts with experienced people within my career field

    Cons

    Too low salary. Should be 2000 euros instead of 1500 euros. As it is now it is hard to go around on the money we get, due to high rents (750-850 euros for a room) and high living costs. Also, most of the trainees have a relatively high study and working experience for their age, for which they deserve a higher salary. Most trainees are doing qualified work, full time. No possibility to do any flex hours. As a trainee you have, according to the rules of HR, no possibility to do any flex hours. We have to work exactly 8 hours a day. This makes us feel quite limited and the feeling that we’re not really trusted. We are after all relatively experienced for being newly graduated and are able to plan our work well.

    Show More
    European Investment Bank2019-05-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "2018 Trainee experience summary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible and large Trainee community already within the Bank - You won't be bored here. There will also be a coordinator for you specifically to make afterwork events :) - Treated fairly, not overworked as other investment banking slaves - Friendly colleagues and culture - Friendly and chill HR - Modern office environment and equipment

    Cons

    - You won't have the privilege of being treated exceptionally if you apply to a permanent (eg GRAD) position. They look at trainees as any other external applicant. - Your experience highly depends on your team (and your manager!) - Just keep this in mind - Be prepared for 600-1000 EUR monthly rent (Your "allowance" is more-or-less enough to cover your costs though)

    European Investment Bank2019-02-04
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trainee 

    I worked at European Investment Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment Flexibility about different commitments Learning opportunities

    Cons

    Interns used as research assistants but do not get the title. No opportunities to stay after internship

    Advice to Management

    Increase the allowance and "promote" the economic research department interns to research assistants.

    European Investment Bank2019-01-14
  8. "Intern Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Intern - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at European Investment Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    - Reputation - Opportunity to be part of this amazing institution

    Cons

    - Interns program without continuation - Salary bellow the minimum national salary (Luxembourg) - The trainees cannot enroll training/educational programs during that time

    European Investment Bank2018-10-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Operations trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for learning, they ease you into the job

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to find stimulating projects to work on

    European Investment Bank2017-11-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment; you actually learn a lot

    Cons

    could be too relaxed sometimes

    European Investment Bank2017-07-10
Found 15 reviews