European Investment Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

European Investment Bank Reviews

Updated 25 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
64%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
European Investment Bank CEO Dr. Werner Hoyer (no image)
Dr. Werner Hoyer
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The pay is not quite sufficient to live in Luxembourg(in 11 reviews)

  • "No respect from some EIB members to Trainees(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good material working conditions particularly for permanent staff

    Cons

    Dubious internal appointments causing some amount of disgruntlement among long serving stass

    European Investment Bank2019-03-14
  2. Helpful (9)

    "A great place to work is the most fake news I know of. If you want to preserve your faith in humanity, it is not for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    Certain conditions but it is the golden cage after all.

    Cons

    Its people (management). Lies. Poor administration. Its not what you know but who you know. Serious people issues.

    European Investment Bank2017-12-05
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good employer, interesting work projects

    Cons

    Work life balance getting bad

    European Investment Bank2019-10-25
  4. "Make sure to apply to the "adequate" functional level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    job stability, tax exempt salary, holidays

    Cons

    quota based career management, weak internal communication , not exactly a meritocracy.

    Advice to Management

    Professional independent directors should become part of the organisation's management, in-house director level positions (and above) should be limited to one 5 years fixed term contract with no possibility of renewal.

    European Investment Bank2019-10-25
  5. "a very positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    allowance sufficient to enjoy your time in Luxembourg, great environment, many opportunities to learn more

    Cons

    sometimes it's not the most dynamic place in the world

    European Investment Bank2019-09-23
  6. "TRAINEESHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to be and to start a career

    Cons

    trainees do not get much training the approach is learning by doing . The allowance is low for Luxembourg life costs

    European Investment Bank2019-07-19
  7. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    good working hours, great colleagues

    Cons

    not many downsides i can think of

    European Investment Bank2019-06-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Room for Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Multicultural environment, good facilities, good benefits.

    Cons

    Slow, bureaucratic, very little career development possibilities for support staff.

    European Investment Bank2019-06-23
  9. "Great place to work slow progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits. Interesting job. Great peers.

    Cons

    Slow career progression. Luxembourg city is a bit boring.

    Advice to Management

    Increase lending outside Europe. Limit burocracy. Let the young take on responsibility.

    European Investment Bank2019-05-26
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environmment to work , work-life balance

    Cons

    Red tape, absence of motivation

    European Investment Bank2019-05-29
Found 85 reviews