European Investment Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

European Investment Bank Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
64%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
European Investment Bank President Dr. Werner Hoyer (no image)
Dr. Werner Hoyer
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The pay is not quite sufficient to live in Luxembourg(in 13 reviews)

  • "High risk of loosing employability as all roles are too EIB focused(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good material working conditions particularly for permanent staff

    Cons

    Dubious internal appointments causing some amount of disgruntlement among long serving stass

    European Investment Bank2019-03-14
  2. Helpful (10)

    "A great place to work is the most fake news I know of. If you want to preserve your faith in humanity, it is not for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    Certain conditions but it is the golden cage after all.

    Cons

    Its people (management). Lies. Poor administration. Its not what you know but who you know. Serious people issues.

    European Investment Bank2017-12-05

    European Investment Bank Response

    January 8, 2018Senior Employer Branding, Diversity & Outreach Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is regrettable that you did not have a positive experience whilst with us. Without knowing specifics, it is difficult to respond in greater detail to the points you raise as areas for improvement. We can only say that we take our selection and performance processes very seriously and try to ensure that colleagues who demonstrate potential and perform well are recognised accordingly. We have systems of checks and balances in place to mitigate any unfair treatment.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great benefits, but very bureaucratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consolidated Resorts 

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits and great facility overall

    Cons

    Bureaucratic and slow career progress

    European Investment Bank2020-02-05
  4. "Big, complex, very political organization but interesting and with a broad range of opportunties."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Officer in Luxembourg
    Recommends

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New generation of EIB staff very nice to work with. Old generation - not so much.

    Cons

    People on golden contracts considering themselves Gods.

    Continue reading
    European Investment Bank2020-02-05
  5. "Careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Main pros are for the officials. Consultants are the ones working hard and getting nothing, as usual

    Cons

    Harassment to consultants. Civil servants who think they are brilliant, harassing consultants with 10 times better CV or real working experience than them... unbelievable.

    European Investment Bank2020-02-19
  6. "Be very careful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Professional in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance. Free international school for my children.

    Cons

    Be very careful: there are good teams, but also dungeons with bullies. Ask for advice of several people before joining.

    Continue reading
    European Investment Bank2020-02-08
  7. "The potential of the organisation is unexploited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is an European institution so you can have good work/life balance and high salaries and allowances compared to the work you do. Easy to make connections, and there are a lot of social activities. The mission of the bank is very good.

    Cons

    It is very difficult to progress, and networking is way more important than merit. Extremely bureaucratic and political. People like to talk too much of themselves and their results but they do not work to get things done.

    European Investment Bank2020-01-08
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good employer, interesting work projects

    Cons

    Work life balance getting bad

    European Investment Bank2019-10-25
  9. "Make sure to apply to the "adequate" functional level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    job stability, tax exempt salary, holidays

    Cons

    quota based career management, weak internal communication , not exactly a meritocracy.

    Continue reading
    European Investment Bank2019-10-25
  10. "a very positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    allowance sufficient to enjoy your time in Luxembourg, great environment, many opportunities to learn more

    Cons

    sometimes it's not the most dynamic place in the world

    European Investment Bank2019-09-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 90 reviews