European Investment Bank Anonymous Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

European Investment Bank Anonymous Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
European Investment Bank President Dr. Werner Hoyer (no image)
Dr. Werner Hoyer
3 Ratings
  1. "Internship - European Investment Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a great learning experience with lovely colleagues.

    Cons

    No possibility to extend the contract.

    European Investment Bank2019-03-09
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at European Investment Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    International atmosphere, impact oriented bank, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Junior profiles are hardly demanded.

    European Investment Bank2019-02-15
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Think it twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    International, multicultural. Good work-life balance specially for families with children.

    Cons

    Luxembourg is very small and lacks cultural life. The Bank is burocratic, not transparent, good performance is not recognized and bad performance allowed. High risk of loosing employability as all roles are too EIB focused. Big difference in benefits if you dont have children.

    Advice to Management

    People with indefinite contracts doesnt matter if they work well or not, are goood profesionals or not: They remain at the bank forever. Paternalistic management does not help to a healthy and proffesional environment. Risk avoidance provokes more problems than te risks themselves: management should dare to take non-popular decisions.

    European Investment Bank2019-02-09
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trainee 

    I worked at European Investment Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment Flexibility about different commitments Learning opportunities

    Cons

    Interns used as research assistants but do not get the title. No opportunities to stay after internship

    Advice to Management

    Increase the allowance and "promote" the economic research department interns to research assistants.

    European Investment Bank2019-01-14
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    Met incredible people, worked on interesting projects

    Cons

    Some not so busy periods

    European Investment Bank2018-11-14
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    Great environment and work condition

    Cons

    Poor training and poor career opportunities

    European Investment Bank2018-08-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    flexibility, high salary, great building

    Cons

    The city of Luxembourg, no things to do

    European Investment Bank2018-05-31
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends

    I worked at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    Great work/life balance; International and stimulating atmosphere; Interesting tasks with a real-life application of economics and finance.

    Cons

    A little bit too bureaucratic

    European Investment Bank2018-01-06
  9. "Even greyer than the the European Commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    For EIB staff, the benefits are fantastic (gym, flexitime, loads of paid holidays, bonuses, the right to take the Bank to court if you disagree with your evaluation ...). But contract staff (as opposed to agency temps) are treated like dirt. It's OK if you can actually get onto the EIB payroll, but that's another thing ...

    Cons

    Most of us contract staff had to do unpaid overtime and I, in particular, was subject to treatment which would constitute bullying if I had been on the EIB staff. I was summarily dismissed with no reason given and then expected to work my notice! Despite the EIB's claims that their recruitment process in highly selective, the directly employed assistants were incapable of writing a simple email in English. Also..., temporary contracts were handed out to the children of the "Prominenz" without the necessary qualifications.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No point - they wouldn't listen. After all, it's only taxpayers' money they're spending.

    European Investment Bank2017-06-28
  10. "Good for retirees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank

    Pros

    Good Work/life balance, although it totally depends on the directorate you are in Good pay

    Cons

    Bureaucratic institutions; little growth; Very very incompetent and unskilled management, due to perverse political games.

    Advice to Management

    Please shape a graduate or intern career path

    European Investment Bank2014-10-04
Found 11 reviews