Europcar Reviews

Updated 26 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Europcar CEO Caroline Parot  (no image)
Caroline Parot
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "I didn’t have any previous experience in car rental but the training and support you get is second to none(in 7 reviews)

  • "Smart & Supportive workforce; Good and varied challenging work; Very good work-life balance; Lots of opportunity to grow / progress your career(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, lack of vehicles and complicated commission structure(in 16 reviews)

  • "Poor management, lack of organisation above(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Europcar"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Europcar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities to make big money via commission

    Cons

    Slow pathway to progress up ladder

    Europcar2019-10-10
  2. "Europcar"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Europcar full-time

    Pros

    Good to work for, commission

    Cons

    A lot expected of you

    Europcar2020-04-16
  3. "Looking for a career in slave labour? Apply here!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Europcar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Are you mad? No pros to this company.

    Cons

    Firstly, people with children are above everyone in the workforce, if you don’t have children you will be used and abused, you will be expected to work every given holiday eg. Christmas Eve, St Stephens day, New Year’s Eve, New Years Day, as long term/foreign staff get priority on holidays. Second, management doesn’t know the meaning of “work/life balance”. Management in Cork airport was extremely poor, the manager needs a major retrain! Third, certain staff have been there so long that they feel superior to others - reality check, you’re working in a dead end job in an airport, get a grip! Forth, you’d have to be there 15 years to climb up any sort of ladder and trust me it’s a short ladder! Fifth, in terms of sales and upgrades, this company is money hungry. They give great recognition to staff that clearly rob customers and expect the same performance from all staff across the board regardless of location and clientele. If you’re a sales person I would recommend staying out of car rental altogether as most companies seem similar.

    Continue reading
    Europcar2020-04-08
  4. "Unscrupulous and illegal sales techniques"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Desk in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Europcar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff and management were quite decent to employees

    Cons

    The sales techniques employed to up-sell are completely immoral and in some cases completely illegal.

    Continue reading
    Europcar2020-02-23
  5. "Europcar"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Europcar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly friendly staff to work with

    Cons

    Not much room for progression, pay could be better

    Europcar2019-10-27
  6. "CSR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kilkenny
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Europcar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great way to get to know people from near and far. I enjoy driving new cars. I became more confident making decisions when it came to choosing the price for a vehicle, instead of asking what do I charge, I am now able to make up my own prices.

    Cons

    Everything to me working with Europcar is positive, apart from the fact we do have quiet times too in the office and I need to be kept busy as I went from working in Lidl which is a non stop job to working in a much calmer environment.

    Europcar2019-07-02
  7. "CSR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Csr1 in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Europcar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people the potential to earn

    Cons

    The roster is over 7 days a week

    Continue reading
    Europcar2019-06-21
  8. "PMO"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PMO in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Europcar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Experience in a big plus

    Cons

    salary isn't great in some dpts

    Europcar2019-02-13
  9. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Europcar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best out of the car rental companies in ireland, very innovative, modern culture

    Cons

    weekend work may be needed

    Continue reading
    Europcar2018-05-02
  10. "Learned great sales techniques"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Europcar part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great money in sales and positive managers. Provide you with great training to maximize your income, essentially you get out what you out in.

    Cons

    Awkward working hours. High pressure to meet sales targets. Difficult to convey ever changing rules and regulations around renting to customers

    Continue reading
    Europcar2018-04-25
Found 168 reviews