Eastman Laboratory Technician Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Eastman Laboratory Technician Reviews

Updated 7 Jul 2016

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Eastman CEO Mark J. Costa
Mark J. Costa
11 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Laboratory Technician in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of room for upward mobility.

    Cons

    Bachelors level employees often times aren't taken very seriously, and mostly wind up doing grunt work.

    Eastman2016-07-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Laboratory Technician in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman

    Pros

    Eastman is a great company to work for. The company has been good to me and my family for many years.

    Cons

    The benefits of Healthcare keep declining but seems to be a trend throughout the US at other jus as well. Other than that, Eastman is a great company.

    Eastman2015-12-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technician in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Eastman is a great company to work for. There is room for growth, the company is very secure and constantly growing in many areas. Your safety is their priority. The people that I work with are pleasant, helpful and always respectful. I imagine I will be with Eastman for many years to come.

    Cons

    Healthcare coverage should be better than it is.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and hiring the best and growing the best people in the industry. Consider better healthcare coverage for your people, their wellness is important.

    Eastman2015-12-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Outstanding and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Laboratory Technician in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman

    Pros

    Fantastic and enthusiastic culture. The people I work with all work well as a team. The benefits and compensation is very competitive. In a scientific community, some people tend to be selfish when it comes to ideas and results, but everyone I've met at Eastman isn't selfish or greedy. Everyone wants to share the success.

    Cons

    In a changing work environment across the entire continental U.S., the job ladders and structure is a little outdated. There need to be more opportunities for 4-year degree holders to move into exempt roles, especially in research.

    Advice to Management

    There need to be more options for 4-year science degree holders to move into exempt roles. Some of the research positions are outdated, but there haven't been many changes to address the changing entry requirements and downstream career advancement ladders.

    Eastman2015-10-20
  5. "Strong company w/ old school culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Technician in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Pay -Great People -Challenging Work -Honest -Great Benefits!

    Cons

    -In my two+ years a lot of changes occurred at all levels. Created a tough working environment at times. -The facilities and labs need major upgrading.

    Eastman2014-12-03
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technician in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It really is a great place to work. The pay is good, and benefits are comparable. There is ample opportunity for training and working with many different people. There is a sense of community and family. The company is growing with many opportunities in areas in which Eastman leads the market. Teamwork and networking are emphasized strongly. Safety is a top priority at Eastman.

    Cons

    Some things take a while to get initiated or to shift gears. Some of the petty things that should be a simple decision take a longer amount of time. Teamwork and networking are emphasized strongly, depending on your take on this.

    Eastman2014-10-24
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technician in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are job opportunities throughout the company that allows employees to build on their knowledge by getting to work in different areas through out their career at Eastman. Everyone has the same goal - to make Eastman a successful company.

    Cons

    Once you top out in your bracket there are no other promotion levels and to move into another bracket is very difficult.

    Eastman2014-10-23
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A good place to be if you want stay in the same job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technician in Kingsport, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work / life balance is decent, and focus on personal health is good.

    Cons

    Management decisions mostly based upon current buisness trends and not building a more stable working future.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and empower them to create a more stable workplace.

    Eastman2014-10-23
  9. "Eastman has given me the opportunity to put my degree to good use!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technician in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love my boss and my coworkers are awesome caring people. Everyone is always willing to help and are friendly.

    Cons

    Shift work does take some getting used to and the insurance could be better.

    Eastman2014-10-12
  10. "One of the best companies I've worked for. Great salary and good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technician in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and vacation time. Good benefits. Great salary

    Cons

    New insurance policies Reduced coverage and increased rates. Little or no advancement without bachelor's degree

    Advice to Management

    Take into consideration that the employees not always informing the management of their accomplishments are the employees that actually do the most efficient work.

    Eastman2014-10-09
Found 24 reviews