EF English First English Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

EF English First English Teacher Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
32%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
EF English First President 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
25 Ratings
  1. "Wellness at EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF really cares about the happiness and development of teachers, I learn a lot from EF career development events and activities.

    Cons

    As a teacher, I need to work on the weekend. But I like to spend time with students, I love my job.

    EF English First2019-11-30
  2. "Good Place to Work as a First-Time English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Xi'an, Shaanxi
    Recommends

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Lots of Staff Events/Morale-Building Activities * Lots of training/mentoring

    Cons

    * Hectic Weekend Schedule * Salary lower than other similar Training Centres

    EF English First2019-11-29
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Online English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get the hours you request so you can work whenever you want and work as many hours per week as you want (probably even 80 if you wanted!).

    Cons

    The salary increases over time are a joke, management is a joke, they have rigid rules and if you break them at all they will be happy to fire you, even if you are one of the top ranked teachers who dozens of students personally request weekly.

    Advice to Management

    Offer better promotions / pay increases to teachers as they continue to waste away their lives helping the EF empire grow. Offer teachers who are willing to commit to 40 or more lessons a week health insurance and a 401K option.

    EF English First2019-10-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Let down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I worked at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    They did give lots of hours to begin with and the schedule is flexible

    Cons

    I was working many hours a week. The pay is lot great, then, I lost my hours and had no work. Contact with try he office is chaotic to say the least

    Advice to Management

    Reward hard work, don't penalise us

    EF English First2019-10-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Massive disconnect between management and staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Set Schedule Limited Hours Career Progression Lateral Movement Diverse Work Force

    Cons

    Disconnected Management Corporate structure is flawed

    Advice to Management

    Standardize the working life between teachers at all centers. Centers are completely disconnected from each other and if you get one that doesn't care about your work life, prepare to be doing lots of extra things on the side in your own time, with no extra compensation.

    EF English First2019-10-09
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A decent job that could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I have been working at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    (1) The system is relatively simple to navigate. (2) You can choose any hours. (3) You can recover from student no shows with writing corrections. (4) The lessons are straightforward and some of the best lesson materials I have ever encountered.

    Cons

    (1) The pay is comparatively low. (2) There is no opportunity for career advancement or raises. (3) Trying to have lessons with people who are extremely low level (who need bilingual teachers) is very frustrating. (4) Trying to have classes with people whose levels and lesson materials are mismatched is very frustrating. (5) People enrolling in the courses without any counseling as to their English... development path is frustrating. (6) Having to accommodate ridiculous custom lesson requests from students. (7) People who do not participate are permitted to remain in group classes.

    Show More
    EF English First2019-09-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpfull assimilation process 2 week hotel stay on arrival

    Cons

    They did not cover my flight expenses while "Free Flights" is advertised almost anywhere you look

    EF English First2019-09-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "more cons than pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English As A Second Language Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    sense of community in the office, lovely to work with local teachers

    Cons

    Your salary hardly goes up, there are no HR resources at all, paid way less than other teachers at language centres, duties far exceed what one it told in the beginning, no paid sick leave, some centres very rundown compared to other high tech and comfortable ones.

    Advice to Management

    make sure all schools and offices are at the same level of comfort and efficiency.

    EF English First2019-09-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on location (mine was Chile)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Santiago
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, nice students, some flexibility with timetable

    Cons

    Dishonest, arrogant management, who don't keep their word. Pay is crap.

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with more respect

    EF English First2019-09-11
  10. "Excellent workplace with great material"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - English Teacher in Bangkok
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First for less than a year

    Pros

    Great material. Stimulating environment. Caring.

    Cons

    None. All good. Nothing bad.

    EF English First2019-08-25
Found 82 reviews