EF English First ESL Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

EF English First ESL Teacher Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
45%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (19)

    "Don't waste your time working a month without pay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, work-from-home, exposure to unique people from around the world

    Cons

    You have to work two months before pay because they only pay monthly and you have to wait until the following month for your first paycheck. It started off nice and I felt like I was doing well when all of a sudden, they stopped adding classes to my schedule and my friend's despite us having high-scores as teachers even though classes were available, they just decided to phase us out. My friend and I opened EVERY time slot on both of our calendars and not one class was given to us for a full month. When we reached out, people stopped responding to us, acted like we didn't exist and then pretended like we were fired, when we were flat-out ignored. I attempted to reapply recently, as now I am even more qualified than when I worked there (teaching classes) for 7 months in 2017, but on paper, it was about a year. They denied that I was eligible and did not offer an explanation, even though they were hiring and I have a bachelor's degree, former experience with EF, high student remarks, 120-hour TEFL certification, and I have taught ESL for 3 years in total. What a joke! Do NOT WASTE YOUR TIME for two months before pay and to be treated like you are replaceable.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-05-15

    EF English First Response

    June 3, 2019Vice President

    Thanks for leaving a review of your experience working online with EF. Regarding your comments about pay, it’s required that teachers teach for a month, then submit their invoice after that month closes and teachers are paid thereafter. Class assignment is contingent upon student demand, which can vary. Teachers are always welcome to pick up subclasses or schedule classes directly with their repeat students to supplement the classes that go onto their schedule via the assignment process, which is performed by an automated tool that matches teacher availability with student demand for classes.

    Continue reading
  2. "It's a good company, but be ready for the admin responsibilities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - ESL Teacher in Shenzhen, Guangdong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First for less than a year

    Pros

    There's career growth and development.

    Cons

    The schedule gets really heavy at times.

    EF English First2019-03-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Never Work for this Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Shenzhen, Guangdong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They fly you out to China

    Cons

    Everything else I have been given horrible schedules that keep me isolated from my coworkers causing me not to interact with anyone. I have been told countless times how bad I am at my job even though I'm following their horrible curriculum. The training is a joke, and they want you to be chained to EF in everything you do. If you're at a really unorganized school like I was, they might accidentally terminate you and forget about it so you won't get paid that month, (This is true because it happened to me)

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-02-01

    EF English First Response

    February 18, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for the post. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at your EF school and that you feel you were treated unfairly. EF is committed to providing the best possible work environment for every employee. We take any allegation of unfair or improper workplace treatment very seriously. Please contact us at compliance.china@ef.com so that we can conduct a fair and thorough investigation. And again, thank you for reaching out.

    Continue reading
  4. "Worth the experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in China, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee benefits such as furnished apartment, monthly team building,end of contract bonus, medical aid options.

    Cons

    You don't get a weekend or school holidays off as those are actually peak times :(

    Continue reading
    EF English First2018-11-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "ESL teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESL Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at EF English First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great training -Good visa -Help settling in

    Cons

    - underpaid -over worked -not much job progression

    Continue reading
    EF English First2018-10-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Online teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can work online from home.

    Cons

    You get paid next to nothing, and if a student doesn't show up for class, you only get paid about 15 minutes of your wait time, meanwhile, there is no way to recoup your lost time, and thus you lose big time money. Minus that from your low wage, and I averaged about 28 classes a month with student no shows. Bye Bye!

    Continue reading
    EF English First2018-10-17
  7. Helpful (27)

    "Luck of the Draw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you get lucky, unlike me, you could be at a very productive and professional center. Other teachers I know feel very supported by management, have all the supplies they need, and feel prepared for class each day. You will also always be paid on time, which can not always be said for ESL teaching companies. There is also a huge amount of opportunities and venues both in and out of teaching, all within the EF brand.

    Cons

    If you get unlucky, like me, you can end up in an absolutely awful center. Management is inexperienced and untrustworthy and every day will be a challenge to prepare for classes. You may never know how many kids to prepare for in a class (happened to me yesterday morning: my class tripled in size with no warning). Your PA's will throw you under the bus at any opportunity to cover themselves. Entire classes may appear on your schedule with no notice. Once a safety issue arose and we were told to lie to the parents about their students' safety to not incite a panic. The pay, while on time, is low for the standard you see amongst other companies. With the insurance they provide, you pay all your doctor bills up front and have to submit a claim to get reimbursed, but no one I know has ever gotten reimbursed. You get very little annual leave. And all those other job opportunities, you have to make it at least through your year to get to them. If you're struggling like I am, that year could feel like 5.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2018-08-15

    EF English First Response

    August 28, 2018Vice President

    Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your EF experience. We take all comments seriously and would like to follow-up with you regarding your work schedule and the safety issue you mentioned. Please email us at teacher.feedback@ef.com to clarify.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Preemptive review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - ESL Teacher in Shenzhen, Guangdong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First for less than a year

    Pros

    They advertise a well rounded package.

    Cons

    The onboarding process put you under false pretenses and expect you to be unemployed in order to complete all that needs to be done before moving to China. I had to take 8 days off of work just to complete all my tasks on time.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2018-08-29
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Don’t work for these guys."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Nanjing, Jiangsu
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This all depends on the city you live in. I have heard that you are treated very well and are expected to get great job opportunities for your merit in certain cities. At the city I was at, they trained you heavily at the beginning and there was continuous development to help you improve your goals. I met a lot of friendly staff and it was great to deal with the students and parents on a regular basis.

    Cons

    As an experienced teacher, I thought the training was too much. Afterwards when you are teaching you are expected to do development tasks. Often it felt like a test. I never felt like I was developing naturally, it felt forced. Soon after working at the company I noticed a lot of foreign teachers leaving. I was in the company 6 months and over 20 members of staff left based on unfair treatment or discrimination. I have seen PAs and teachers used as scapegoats because of poor management decisions. Often the teaching schedule was made at the last minute meaning it was difficult to plan in advance. If you weren’t happy with a management decision a senior manager would state the terms of the contract in front of all employees to make you fall in line rather than help you solve the problem or provide you with an incentive to work. Often if you wanted to gain a job promotion you had to suck up to management than do things based on merit. Often management would lie about job opportunities. In my city alone there were plenty of places with job opportunities, but instead they would rather have one person run more than 1 school than train someone else to take over a school. I also saw people being told that they would be trained for senior positions, only to see brand new teachers given senior positions and then other teachers being held back. There was a lot of discrimination as well. Teachers that were of other ethnic backgrounds left because they couldn’t get a job promotion based on their skin color. For demo lessons CCs would dictate who would do the demos based on their skin color. They would pretty much say they wanted white Foreign teachers only for demos because they believed that parents were less likely to buy a course if someone from a non-white background was doing the demo. Often people are over worked. A school in my city pretty much revolted against the company because they were being over worked and mistreated by management. When people finally decide to leave based on unfair treatment, senior management and HR would make it incredibly difficult for you to sort out your visa with a new employee. HR have refused to cooperate with my new employee and have done the bare minimum to help transfer my visa because they say their duty is limited in what they can do. Rather than end on good terms to avoid a review like this, they would rather stress you out by preventing you sorting your visa out effectively. The reason why I left was down to not being paid on time. 3 times in a row I was paid late and it involved several attempts to communicate with the finance department to fix the issue each time. What annoys me the most is I left because I wasn’t paid on time, which in its self is a breach of contract. When I decide to leave to go elsewhere the company would rather make my life hell than to actually leave on good terms. I am extremely disappointed with this company, especially when I still have good relations with previous companies I have worked for.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2018-08-31
  10. "Don’t teach at EF abroad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at EF English First

    Pros

    -travel - experience new culture -gain teaching experience overseas

    Cons

    - franchised - they make you find your own accommodation - poor salary

    Continue reading
    EF English First2018-08-05
Found 44 reviews