EF Education First "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

EF Education First Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 30 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
723 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment where workers are really valued(in 153 reviews)

  • "Free travel opportunities (get to go on the tours they sell for free, either once a year or every other year depending on your position)(in 84 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on your role, expect to work long hours during "busy season"(in 103 reviews)

  • "low salary (perks instead of pay)(in 87 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Comfortable working environment Lovely coworkers Weekly pay Pay isn’t bad

    Cons

    Long hours Have to work some weekends

    EF Education First2019-05-14
  2. "Hourly wage, a lot of paperwork without pay, good atmosphere, fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EFL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good atmosphere - Fun place to work - I like my bosses - Media in most rooms - Room for progress - Exciting working environment - Development workshops

    Cons

    - Low salary - Contract hours are bad - No sick leave - Feel overworked - Too much paperwork - Must do a lot of work for free i.e. correcting tests, correcting homework, writing lesson plans for every lesson - Some rooms do not have a media

    Advice to Management

    - Please pay us more, we can't afford health insurance or rent - We feel overworked and underappreciated. Please pay us for non-teaching hours. - Please give us sick pay

    EF Education First2019-03-06
  3. "Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    - Excellent Work Environment - Senior Management are approachable and helpful most of the time - Good pay package per week - Enjoyable experience - Excellent further career opportunities

    Cons

    - Hard to manage work/ life balance, long hours during Summer with one day off per week. - Disorganised at times

    Advice to Management

    Be more organised in relation to activity locations, timetables, etc. Offer developement opportinites for staff.

    EF Education First2018-06-01
  4. "Great team environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Language Teacher 
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF has an amazing team of teachers. The sense of camaraderie and support is undeniable and makes the work environment thoroughly enjoyable.

    Cons

    It's not necessarily a con but there's a range of general English and specialized classes which will stretch your teaching skills. Extra CPD support is provided however.

    EF Education First2018-05-28
  5. "Good intern experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Hong Kong

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Very nice and international people Good working environment with lots of activities

    Cons

    Not so competitive that you may want to just stay at current position

    EF Education First2019-10-23
  6. "Unclear Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Zürich
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    This company has a good work environment and the office is great with a gym and game rooms

    Cons

    Swedish culture avoids conflict at all costs and therefore no one knows which direction take and there is too many politics.

    Advice to Management

    Improve guidelines, objectives and please give feedback

    EF Education First2019-10-31
  7. "Good and supportive team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern Marketing in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team. Supportive and relatively slow-pace working environment

    Cons

    Career prospect might be a bit...

    EF Education First2019-10-13
  8. "Good company and good colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Education Consultant in Rio de Janeiro
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and very good preparation for further positions.

    Cons

    Company sometimes a bit unsure on procedures, not many rules to follow.

    EF Education First2019-10-10
  9. "Accounting Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Free and enjoyable working environment

    Cons

    Not much to learn and acquire

    EF Education First2019-09-29
  10. "Fun work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - EFL Teacher in Brighton, England
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very fun and social work environment, lovely staff make it great to work there

    Cons

    The management is a bit disorganised.

    EF Education First2019-09-27
Found 153 reviews