EF Education First Software Developer Reviews

Updated 11 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
35%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great colleagues, horrible politics"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IOS Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - great colleagues - really nice office - yearly kickoffs - office gym -

    Cons

    The office politics are horrible and they really weigh down on the morale.

    EF Education First2020-04-12

    EF Education First Response

    April 14, 2020Director

    Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the many facilities offered in our London office. We agree the people at EF are great colleagues and friends. At EF, we strive to be a flat organisation with little hierarchy. We are sorry to hear you still experiences, to what you refer to as "office politics". In our offices, we have the RED (Recruitment and Development Team) are they are always available if staff don't feel comfortable speaking to their manager about issues at the work place. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not at all recommended"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    => Monthly parties => Happy hours

    Cons

    => First and most important thing is job security. You can be fired at ay day => No hikes => Poor management

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-03-22

    EF Education First Response

    March 27, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We're sorry you left EF with this perspective. We are going through a lot of changes, with the ambition of improving employee development, satisfaction & pride as well as productivity and the quality of what we do. As you’d expect with any significant change, adapting to this new management and different policies and processes is understandably uncomfortable. Through these changes, we have worked hard to provide clarity around roles, performance expectations and career paths. Another significant goal has been to link the salary review process more tightly to objective performance criteria and to make the entire process more transparent. We highly value your feedback, and if you want to discuss anything around what you have experienced or heard, please do not hesitate to reach out to Monika (H&R) or Livio (SW lab) in Zurich. - Mike Kaufman, Sr. Director of People Operations

  3. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture, nice offices and locations.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to figure out who is in charge of what.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-02-10

    EF Education First Response

    February 11, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for this review -- and the reminder to continually focus on innovation, one of our core values! Thanks, too, for being a force for innovation on our tech team. Keep up the good work! Mike Kaufman, Sr. Director of People Operations

  4. Helpful (5)

    "No Hike, No future, No Vision"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It used to be an awesome company but all is lost now, previously anything was possible in a good way now it's only in bad ways.

    Cons

    The managment changes every year exactly when hike is due and they do restructure. After that all they throw peanuts based on some evalution which is fake promises and stupid politics. - No hike to ppl (as msg that we don't need you)  - technical lead are asked to do more firing and political stuff than Technical thing  - technical skill measured by non technical ppl - stupidity in the name of scrum and agile. Zurich is the ultimate power who take decisions that are meaningless in every way, and end up blaming developers for their down fall. EF claims to be an open door company, in reality they are not professional and immature ppl. Teams and people get affected cause of management politics and wrong decsions. last year the management came promising that everything will change, alot of meaningless changes happened and made things worse.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-02-19

    EF Education First Response

    March 2, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry that your experience has been negative. We have clearly been unsuccessful in communicating what we are trying to achieve with these big changes that we are going through, but we are truly trying to create a significant improvement in the Bangalore office, with more motivated staff who take pride in who we are and what we deliver. Our ambition with these ongoing changes is to create more local and technical management and better people and talent processes that focus on setting clear and balanced performance and development expectations, with compensation transparently linked to them. We’ve already seen a lot of improvements, and appreciate your feedback as we continue to work to improve. If you want to share more or discuss anything about your experience, please contact Monika (H&R) or Livio (SW lab) in Zurich. - Mike Kaufman, Sr. Director of People Operations

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Fun company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited drinks, parties and dinners minimum twice in a month. Not much work, all are maintenance projects. Managers are friendly if we are close with them. No timings. Come anytime and leave anytime. Just stay at office for 9 hours

    Cons

    Mallu politics. If we are close with them good scope otherwise they ll trouble you. Hike will be 2-4%

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2018-03-16
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Worst company I have worked in"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    International brand, good value on CV (hopefully)

    Cons

    - HR is a team of foolish heartless people, especially Lavanya - Work hours are really long - Environment is not where one can learn new things or grow, its like we are the back office for a large company and HR treats us like cats and dogs employed as their servants

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2017-05-27
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Software Developer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Somerville, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Travel all over the world, and great salary

    Cons

    managers have no idea what's going on

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2017-01-05
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Place to start, not to grow"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Party culture, young employees. Nice new facilities in Boston. Expect to make friends here. Great place to start a career, as a developer you'll get to contribute to software used daily, and interact with those very users. Great product you'll feel good working on. Potential for travel perks.

    Cons

    Little room for growth. Stale technology and ignorance towards developing trends. Noncompetitive salary. Poor retirement package. Company culture to hire young and replace with a new generation once they become dissatisfied. Very shallow depth of experience in tech team.

    EF Education First2016-07-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, atmosphere and opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First

    Pros

    EF has great people with amazing team dynamics, making the work atmosphere very pleasant. Management offers many opportunities to developers to grow and own projects.

    Cons

    EF doesn't give out stock.

    EF Education First2016-06-10
  10. "Software Quality Developer"

    5.0
    Software Quality Developer in London, England

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Very good management and perfect first job for graduates and management values each employee.

    Cons

    No nothing to comment on.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2016-01-28
Found 19 reviews