EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

EF Education First Reviews

Updated 7 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
628 Ratings
  1. "Great people, fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Hangzhou, Zhejiang
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training program useful and informative Curriculum and classroom resources provided Opportunity for personal development for those who seek it Airport collection Visa assistance Monthly social events Fun team

    Cons

    Not enough holidays Too much admin Salary could be better High staff turnover of PA and sales team Somewhat corporate in their outlook but hey, it is a private organization so this is only a minor negative

    EF Education First2019-10-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Fun people and culture but bad pay and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of young fun people, good for just getting out of college, fun activities

    Cons

    Feel like you are in high school, terrible pay, poor management that only cares about goals and making their own money and not concerned with you, you are replaceable, long hours expected with no over time

    EF Education First2019-10-22
  3. "Good company and good colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Education Consultant in Rio de Janeiro
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and very good preparation for further positions.

    Cons

    Company sometimes a bit unsure on procedures, not many rules to follow.

    EF Education First2019-10-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Long hours, lack of appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accommodation Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some fun people

    Cons

    Long hours with no reward, lack of transparency of what the role actually involves at interview stage, lack of organisation

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees more and put processes/training in place so people actually know what they are doing.

    EF Education First2019-10-22
  5. "Sales Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Coordinator in Antofagasta

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Contacts, events, good payment

    Cons

    - Hard work is not always recognized

    EF Education First2019-10-09
  6. "If you're looking for a company that cares about and values its employees, look no further."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment and Match Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF is truly a community that values its employees. At a surface level, it's very obvious that the benefits and salaries are more than generous. The people in my department are extremely respectful, and there is a huge effort put forth by management to be communicative and transparent. This is really a company that values teamwork, support, communication, and the happiness of its employees. I haven't been here long,... but this is already, very clearly, the best company that I have ever worked for. It's no wonder that most people who work here stay here. If you're looking for a company that cares about and values its employees, look no further.

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't been working here for long, but so far the only con that I can see is that sometimes it gets windy between the Boston campus's buildings. I think I'll live.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, because you're doing it amazingly. Your communication, consideration, thoughtfulness, and passion for what you do is completely evident and identifiable in every interaction.

    EF Education First2019-10-09
  7. "Program Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Nice office, nice peers, MNC exposure

    Cons

    Sales oriented, boring and repeated work, bad remuneration package

    EF Education First2019-10-24
  8. "Fast paced company which allows you to grow fast then got buried by unlimited workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Hong Kong
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    An amazing place while you keep asking yourself after you quit, why am I staying here for a salary way lower than market price, and workload which can eat you alive. The culture there is amazing and people are living the values they reinforce. Very good job in slaving the staff without letting them feel it. I would recommend anyone who want to learn work culture, but please don’t stay longer than 3 years or you will... be drained out

    Show More

    Cons

    Workload is over the top, and when you reach to certain level, you need to prepare for being promoted or demoted. Reporting line can be all over the place and this place is certainly not for those who are hoping to climb up the ladder as they put a limit to your growth. Most importantly, they do not pay fairly which means you can expect people working as your peer and join later than you are can be paid 50% more... than you are making now

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to people, don’t slave your staff and be nice to good staff

    EF Education First2019-10-24
  9. "A Diamond in the Rough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    English speaking environment Always paid on time Managers are always willing to help

    Cons

    Cultural clashes will not get mediated Local staff can feel envious of foreign staff Progression stops after a while

    Advice to Management

    Don't be a fence sitter when confrontation happens, or you risk losing the faith and support of either your foreign/local staff.

    EF Education First2019-10-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Like getting paid (not enough) to go to high school again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Traveling for free but only if you have never left the states before. You could also just make more money elsewhere and travel on your own without high school children

    Cons

    Management is immature. Bizarre workplace all around. Culture sets out to be "cool" with start up vibes when in actuality you are working for an extremely corporate place. Money is #1 priority, not "mission driven"

    Advice to Management

    HIRE EXTERNALLY. As soon as I left EF I felt a an enormous weight lifted after 2 weeks working elsewhere. Trainings on appropriate workplace culture and dynamics between higher ups and their employees i.e. identifying behavior that is borderline abusive etc. NEEDS to be incorporated at EF. It's like the same people are recycled and moved around on the management level and no fresh insight/outlooks are brought to... the table. Folks are hired as managers who have no business managing actual people.

    Show More
    EF Education First2019-11-07
Found 1853 reviews