EF Education First Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
704 Ratings
  1. "not so bad not so good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Fuzhou, Fujian
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    cute kids, okay pay, and lesson plans are prepared for you in advance

    Cons

    it's a sales based company. kid's needs come last

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-19

    EF Education First Response

    May 25, 2020Teacher Welfare Director

    We agree that working with the students and having lesson materials prepared are some of the best things about the job, it definitely makes a difference! We are interested to learn more about your advice to management in regards to programs. Feel free to reach out to us at teacher.welfare@ef.com with more details in order to further discuss.

  2. "Read if interested"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chance to live in China Meet new people from around the world Experience a different lifestyle and culture

    Cons

    Don't get paid much, if you're looking to make money to bring back to the States you will really have to save Monthly pay is under $2000 USD which you can easily get by on in China but like I stated before, coming back to the US after you'd have to save alot BUT also I'd suggest going out and living the experience, who knows when you'll have the opportunity to live in China again!

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-04

    EF Education First Response

    May 7, 2020Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you were able to experience China and meet people from all over the world while working with us. In regards to salary, we do review our salaries on a regular basis to make sure we are competitive in the market but we will of course take this feedback onboard.

  3. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    -good working hours -good room for develop -hands on training -helps transition into job

    Cons

    -salary could be better -days off could be improved

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-04-30
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Good enviroment and salary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Zürich
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, facilities, and salary

    Cons

    I relocated to EF Zurich from another country, and EF has ended my contract 2 months after I moved to Switzerland because of COVID crises, without further notice or care about my situation (not entitle to unemployed benefit) without the possibility to fly back to my country, no flights available. Even though I was receiving compliments about my performance, they fired many employees around the world from one day to the other, just in the beginning of the crises.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-05

    EF Education First Response

    May 14, 2020Director

    Hi there, we are sorry to hear this feedback. Unfortunately, this unprecedented time has led us to make difficult decisions that have affected our company’s best asset: our people. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors, and we thank you for all you’ve done as part of the EF team.

  5. "Great Atmosphere, little time for yourself"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lucerne
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Atmosphere with the colleagues is really great It is very easy to get promoted and have new responsibilities

    Cons

    There is not really any training and if you want to get the most you have to be a quick learner Not always the promotion and new responsibilities go along with more salary...

    EF Education First2020-04-28
  6. "Fine"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in London, England

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work Flexible Pretty simple material

    Cons

    Could pay more considering the workload

    EF Education First2020-05-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad, but not for me"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    solid benefits | travel perks | on campus gym

    Cons

    lack of diversity, specifically people of color | relatively low compensation | no ladder to climb in certain roles

    EF Education First2020-05-08

    EF Education First Response

    May 11, 2020Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

    Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that EF didn't feel like the right fit for you. We know how important it is for EF to continue to build a more diverse workforce, and it's something we are very focused on. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Questionable morality from the top down"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice offices, some interesting projects

    Cons

    I've worked for EF for a number years. It has been great, but I haven't been comfortable with several aspects of their business, which I find to be morally indefensible. There is a culture in EF of not highlighting the bad bits of the company, because the founding family, the Hults, have built almost a cult of personality around themselves. If you ever get a chance to go to one of their offices, check it out, it's like being in North Korea with pictures of the Hults everywhere! EF has made many staff redundant during the coronavirus crisis, but even though we get regular emails from the Hults offering support during this difficult time, they will never acknowledge the work of the people they let go. They leave the dirty work to the managers lower down the food chain. The cult of personality in my opinion, masks deeply amoral leadership. To take one example, EF pay barely any tax, despite making billions for the Hult family. They are structured across lots of small local subsidiary companies, which don't touch any money, and won't appear on invoices and contracts. These are all done through the Swiss holding company. Even though the company makes millions around the world, they pay a fraction of the tax they should. That's all perfectly legal, but during coronavirus crisis I read in the FT that EF have been using taxpayer bailouts to lower the cost of making their staff redundant! The same company that pays almost nothing in tax in the countries where it operates comes begging to the government when things turn rough! This is just the latest in a pattern of behaviour. The founder, Bertil Hult, has appeared in the Panama Papers and is the owner of a number of private jets, and Philip, his son, lives in a multimillion pound mansion in London. I've even heard rumours that IT had a project to build a system to allocate pilots to the private jets more efficiently. In my opinion, the family have looted the company and the taxpayer and now display some nerve going to the state for help. At staff parties (of which there are many, always loads of fun) I always make a point to shake Philip's hand. I'm always struck by how soft it is, as if he hasn't done a day of work in his entire life. If you ever get a job at EF, I recommend you try shake at least one Hult's hand. You'll never feel softer skin. And I should also add one thing that I find morally repugnant. The company has absolutely no position on climate change because their main driver of revenue is to fly people around the world on their expensive package tours. The offices have posters everywhere asking you to recycle and save the planet but nobody is allowed to question the bigger problem that we work for a company that makes millions destroying the planet. Thankfully, coronavirus has destroyed this aspect of the business and I would be very happy to see it gone forever.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-25
  9. "EF school"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    You get good exercise going up that hill.

    Cons

    If you are hired as a substitute teacher, you hardly get called in. When you do get called, you go in, they give you their lesson plan half a second before your lesson is going to start. How are you supposed to even do anything or get the lesson started? The teacher is confused and so are the students. The person who interviews you takes your lesson plan and any material you bring to show them. WHY? What are they doing with it and why take it? Aren't you guys designing your own lesson plans? Why take someone elses? Are they stealing it? Then their lesson plans don't even have a meaning, none of the activities are even connected to each other, nothing relates to anything...then they stop responding to email when you email them asking if there is anything available. If you are hired as a substitute, they don't care about you and exploit you. They do nothing for you or the students. This school is a fraud. Plus, when your time is up or whatever time you were hired for, and you apply for a different job there, their response is we can't give you a contract right now. Ha..guess they write your name as "do not call back* and they hire you just to steal your lesson plans and the whole material. This school is nothing, they are a scam, they are a fraud, they will do nothing for you. Do not attend this school nor work at it. This is why some of the students are so angry.

    EF Education First2020-05-27
  10. "bullying & incompetent"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you want to see how language schools looked in the 70s work here

    Cons

    no working technology available for teachers, no preperation time, unpaid meetings, random schedule, bullying managers, incompetent support staff.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-26
Found 1962 reviews