EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

EF Education First Reviews

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
666 Ratings
  1. "Good place to start, no incentive to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive staff, good place to learn

    Cons

    Terrible pay - even worse than industry standard, no pay rise or bonuses, very poorly organised.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2018-06-26
  2. "English teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Here, you have the opportunity to meet and work with people from all nationalities. It’s a great experience.

    Cons

    The quieter times of year result in reduced teaching hours, as is the case in most EFL jobs.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2018-06-07
  3. "Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    - Excellent Work Environment - Senior Management are approachable and helpful most of the time - Good pay package per week - Enjoyable experience - Excellent further career opportunities

    Cons

    - Hard to manage work/ life balance, long hours during Summer with one day off per week. - Disorganised at times

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2018-06-01
  4. "Great team environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Language Teacher 
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF has an amazing team of teachers. The sense of camaraderie and support is undeniable and makes the work environment thoroughly enjoyable.

    Cons

    It's not necessarily a con but there's a range of general English and specialized classes which will stretch your teaching skills. Extra CPD support is provided however.

    EF Education First2018-05-28
  5. "Good job out of university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, travel opportunities, good chances to move positions

    Cons

    Poor salary. Long hours. No work life balance. Some great managers, some very poor managers.

    EF Education First2018-01-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Do not work for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Leader in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros to working here.

    Cons

    Working from 8am to 10pm in Junior Residential Dublin. Pay works out at about €5 an hour. Management do nothing when children misbehave and break EF rules and Irish law. You might be lucky and get a good group of kids, but the majority have never heard the word no in their lives. Management do nothing to resolve issues and allow big issues to continue for weeks.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2017-07-24
  7. "Summer Activities Coordinator Dublin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Activities Coordinator in Dublin, Dublin

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -lots of responsibilites -nice team -many company events to keep employees motivated

    Cons

    -unpaid overtime -unstructured enviroment -low payment -trying to cut costs wherever possible

    EF Education First2017-03-06
  8. "Positive, overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at EF Education First for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly collegial environment Will let you work as much as you are willing to The students tend to be self-motivated, which makes teaching much easier

    Cons

    Split-shift teaching is always something of a pain Don't be surprised if your class grows unexpectedly, even in the last week or two of a course The pay is less than spectacular, especially for newteachers.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2016-11-02
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not a nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF try to suck out your soul. They state they hire "EF people" with "EF energy" what this translates to for them is great people with lots of drive and motivation that will work hard and they will not reward you in any way and expect more and more. Low pay, long hours, emergency call hours (unpaid)! Then they have an expectation for you to socialise with higher management when they come to visit. why would you socialise with people you have no respect for? Dim witted....

    Cons

    Low pay, poor management,poor organisation, expect too many hours during unsociable times

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2016-10-06

    EF Education First Response

    October 7, 2016Senior Director of People Operations

    I'm sorry that your experience wasn't what you expected. As you said, we do strive to hire people who are driven and motivated by our mission. We also strive to reward our staff in a variety of ways that go beyond compensation -- including through challenging work; incredible benefits; the enrichment that comes from working with colleagues and customers from around the world; and a fun, flat work environment, to name a few. Our Global Recruiting & Employee Development Team continually works to enhance the training opportunities and resources available to our managers. This work is a direct result of feedback we've received from current and former staff. So thank you for your feedback. It is valuable as we continue to try to improve our employee experience globally. -- Mike Kaufman, Senior Director of People Operations

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Great colleagues, travel (limited to your region). Good experience at times

    Cons

    0 respect for employees on the ground doing all of the hard work and 50 plus hours per week. If you work here during the summer expect to work minimum 6 days a week at less than minimum wage. Cult like company culture. Disgraceful treatment of employees Extortionate prices for students which goes in to the headoffices and never the schools. No work/life balance A lot of office politics People fired unfairly

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2016-08-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1956 reviews