EF Education First Manager Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
70%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
88 Ratings
  1. "course leader"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Regional Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    - Young and dinamic environment, you can have fun while working (sometimes) - you can get promoted and build up a career - you get the chance to travel and try different positions within the company

    Cons

    - salary is low - some Language centre are understaffed - very very long hours, no extra pay

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2017-10-05
  2. "Good job out of university"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, travel opportunities, good chances to move positions

    Cons

    Poor salary. Long hours. No work life balance. Some great managers, some very poor managers.

    EF Education First2018-01-04
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not a nice company to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF try to suck out your soul. They state they hire "EF people" with "EF energy" what this translates to for them is great people with lots of drive and motivation that will work hard and they will not reward you in any way and expect more and more. Low pay, long hours, emergency call hours (unpaid)! Then they have an expectation for you to socialise with higher management when they come to visit. why would you socialise with people you have no respect for? Dim witted....

    Cons

    Low pay, poor management,poor organisation, expect too many hours during unsociable times

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2016-10-06

    EF Education First Response

    October 7, 2016Senior Director of People Operations

    I'm sorry that your experience wasn't what you expected. As you said, we do strive to hire people who are driven and motivated by our mission. We also strive to reward our staff in a variety of ways that go beyond compensation -- including through challenging work; incredible benefits; the enrichment that comes from working with colleagues and customers from around the world; and a fun, flat work environment, to name a few. Our Global Recruiting & Employee Development Team continually works to enhance the training opportunities and resources available to our managers. This work is a direct result of feedback we've received from current and former staff. So thank you for your feedback. It is valuable as we continue to try to improve our employee experience globally. -- Mike Kaufman, Senior Director of People Operations

  4. "Amazing culture workplace with autonomy to get creative and run your own business"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to get creative within your business and encouragement to test initiatives creatively. The workplace and teams are extremely collaborative and open

    Cons

    A lot of initiatives set forth that are half-baked and don't always come to fruition and low compensation

    EF Education First2020-06-01
  5. "Great Seasonal Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activities Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to work with an international team and with students from all over the world. Leadership is strong and the company provides proper training while there is room for advancement after the summer.

    Cons

    You should expect to work long days.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-04-21
  6. "Really good career starter ! Top management completely lost."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Country Product Manager in Lausanne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good start of a career. You can have big responsibility really fast, you can experiment and try new things. Really young teams and good atmosphere ´.

    Cons

    The top management is lost. No vision, no leadership. They were the glory of EF 10 years ago but they don’t get the business anymore and they take really bad decisions. Lack of processes.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-03
  7. "Great Unique company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Warehouse Manager in Bangalore
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Work culture Learning new technology Onsite Opportunity Monthly Happy hours Good Pay No restrictions on WFH

    Cons

    No Transparency in Performance review No proper Parking for CAR

    EF Education First2020-03-26
  8. "Fantastic company. Perfect for those looking to grow in their career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing company, great people, never a dull moment, good starting point for those early in their careers

    Cons

    salary doesn't always keep up with expectations or responsibilities

    EF Education First2020-03-13

    EF Education First Response

    March 16, 2020Director

    Thank you for this feedback! At EF, putting trust in our staff is key and we give every employee lots of responsibility from early in their EF career. We certainly agree that the people here are a special group, too. In terms of salary, we do review our compensation structure regularly to ensure we are offering a competitive package. We wish you all the best in your future career!

  9. Helpful (6)

    "avoid like the plague"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    amazing international team hired in my case

    Cons

    awful management, no career progression unless you are Sweedish

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-04-09

    EF Education First Response

    April 9, 2020Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

    We are sorry to hear this feedback. Unfortunately, this unprecedented time has led us to make difficult decisions that have affected our company’s best asset: our people. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors, and we thank you for all you’ve done as part of the EF team.

  10. Helpful (8)

    "The most toxic work environment. STAY AWAY!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Zürich
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice office in central ZH Good office parties Occasional travel

    Cons

    No career growth No HR department Toxic environment Politics rule Incompetent management No transparency No vision Promotions are never ever merit based No leadership No professional development No specialists, teams are mostly comprised of inexperienced interns No accountability Outdated tools Top management have held the positions since 20+ years, that means there is never a strategy, there are no decisions, just a ton of empty talks Competent people are not valued Lots of secrecy Unhealthy vibe, always afraid to speak up or else will lose the job Extremely high turnover Really, do yourself a favor and stay away from this horrid family-owned business.

    EF Education First2020-04-01

    EF Education First Response

    April 6, 2020Director

    Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear that EF has not lived up your and our expectations. Central locations and a strong company culture is something we are very proud of and I'm happy to hear you appreciated this. We have functions and teams specifically dedicated to recruitment and professional development in most of our offices with the objective is to ensure that our employees feel supported throughout their career and grow professionally. In our diverse culture, we constantly take measure to enforce an inclusive culture where no harassment or discrimination is tolerated. We are sorry to hear you perceive a lack of what you refer to as a HR department. We have payroll functions taking care of all employee contractual matters such as contracts, insurances, taxes etc. In terms of salary, we do review our compensation structure regularly to ensure we are offering a competitive package. We wish you all the best in your future career.

Found 185 reviews