EF Education First English Teacher Reviews

Updated 23 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
62%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
47 Ratings
  1. "Great team environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Language Teacher 
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF has an amazing team of teachers. The sense of camaraderie and support is undeniable and makes the work environment thoroughly enjoyable.

    Cons

    It's not necessarily a con but there's a range of general English and specialized classes which will stretch your teaching skills. Extra CPD support is provided however.

    EF Education First2018-05-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Corporation wrapped up as a school"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at EF Education First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with

    Cons

    Dreadful working conditions Very low salary, especially bearing in mind all the sacrifices they ask you to make, and the money they get from students Everyone is replaceable for them, so they drain you up, and simply replace you when you cannot take it anymore

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-04-15
  3. "A review for you"

    4.0
    Former Employee - English Teacher 

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    Good people, productive but chill culture

    Cons

    The school closed for reasons unknown.

    EF Education First2020-05-16
  4. "Solid choice for anyone looking to begin a TEFL career abroad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fully sort your visa, standardized procedures, comprehensive curriculum, thorough training before teaching students, lots of room for upward mobility

    Cons

    Working hours are kind of long compared to alternatives, pay is low at the start

    EF Education First2020-05-11
  5. "Read if interested"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chance to live in China Meet new people from around the world Experience a different lifestyle and culture

    Cons

    Don't get paid much, if you're looking to make money to bring back to the States you will really have to save Monthly pay is under $2000 USD which you can easily get by on in China but like I stated before, coming back to the US after you'd have to save alot BUT also I'd suggest going out and living the experience, who knows when you'll have the opportunity to live in China again!

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-04

    EF Education First Response

    May 7, 2020Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you were able to experience China and meet people from all over the world while working with us. In regards to salary, we do review our salaries on a regular basis to make sure we are competitive in the market but we will of course take this feedback onboard.

  6. "Disfunctional Management, Fast Food Education"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great material, prompt payment. Great opportunity to develop on your own.

    Cons

    Bad pay. Disfunctional and biased management. Terrible management communication. Management do not follow any UK procedures, bully staff and fabricate evidence. The company does not value its teachers and operates a "McDonald's" type of learning. Teachers are essentially trained robots and are treated as such. Personality cults are rife. Terrible company culture - nepotism is extensive.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Support your teachers"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Online English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Good teaching experience for online learning and for TESOL experience. Schedule is flexible.

    Cons

    I was encouraged during the training process to use the contact us tab to notify EF of any classroom issues. I had three occasions where students would not do the work, make rude faces into the camera, turn the camera away, completely ignore me, leave their seat, and one even left the class 10 minutes in after doing all of the above. I do what their protocol wants and contact the company to let them know about the events, along with screenshots of the empty online classroom. All three instances I received emails back telling ME what I could have done better and it basically turned into it being MY fault. I get it. I'm a contractor that can be fired and a new one hired in an instant as TESOL is a big deal in places like China so companies like EF are not short on hiring and providing classes. It's all about the money. This was extremely discouraging as I felt that I did my best in handling these situations and each time the follow-up emails made know mention about how this would be addressed with the students and their families about their behavior. Another thing is that I convinced two friends to try for EF using my referral link, both were hired and I never got the $50/hired referral promised. I will not be renewing my contract when it expires this month. I will be going elsewhere. Please reconsider this company before applying if you want an employer (albeit contracted) who at least supports you minimally.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-10
  8. "Flexible, good company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Choose your own schedule, work from home. Flexible. Always pay on time. Progression opportunities.

    Cons

    Parents/Students can cancel classes last minute. Schedule can be up and down. Hours not always guaranteed.

    EF Education First2020-03-30

    EF Education First Response

    April 2, 2020Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

    So glad to hear you are enjoying the flexibility and opportunity to grow at EF! I hope you continue to thrive here!

  9. "Pretty good place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing, helpful coworkers, great benefits, time off

    Cons

    Low pay, education isn't important even if it's relevant

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-03-24

    EF Education First Response

    March 30, 2020Director

    Thank you for this feedback! We certainly agree that our colleagues at EF are very special people and we are very proud of our strong company culture. In terms of salary, we do review our compensation structure regularly to ensure we are offering a competitive package. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  10. "Positive Working Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School English Teacher in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, Wonderful Boss, Beautiful Working Space

    Cons

    No Benefits for part time instructors

    EF Education First2020-03-11

    EF Education First Response

    March 16, 2020Director

    Thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best in your future EF career!

Found 161 reviews