Find jobs for Director

EF Education First Director Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
94%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
27 Ratings
  1. "Working as TD for EF"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Tour Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great organisation to work for - good opportunities to buildup a reputation

    Cons

    Just not enough work to keep going.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-12-28
  2. "Educational travel with American and Canadian students"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Tour Director 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to see a lot of places in different countries. The Tour Director community is great and very supportive.

    Cons

    Customer's evaluations define your income and those can be very subjective and unfair at times. Seasonal work. Excessive working-hours per day.

    EF Education First2020-06-04
  3. "Dream Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Tour Director in Zürich
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very flexible, very challenging, never boring, you get to meet a lot of people

    Cons

    sometimes tour dates are given out quite late, clients can be difficult

    EF Education First2020-05-11
  4. "Super ambiance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Tour Director in Paris
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Top management- Multi-cultural people-travel- Great work atmosphere- Very nice Clients

    Cons

    Fixed term contract- Seasonnal work-

    EF Education First2019-12-16
  5. "Ownership, travel, great benefits!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities to embrace your inner entrepreneur -Ability for promotions and lateral moves to new markets or products -Health Insurance is great! -People are passionate -Always learning! -Travel

    Cons

    -Sales roles will have lower comp than other industries (med device, pharma, software ect.) but the benefit package as a whole carries a good value

    EF Education First2019-11-11
  6. "Fun Atmoshere!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Great Company with opportunity to travel!

    Cons

    Work/Life balance can be a challenge

    EF Education First2019-11-04

    EF Education First Response

    November 5, 2019Director

    Thank you so much for your feedback! Our people and culture is what we are most proud of, happy you are part of the EF family. Best regards

  7. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Studies in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity for development.

    Cons

    Low pay and a lot of demands made on staff

    EF Education First2019-11-02

    EF Education First Response

    November 4, 2019Director

    Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you felt you could develop professionally whilst working at EF. We are always looking to improve and your feedback is much appreciated. Best regards.

  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Tour Director in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tons of work Great pay Good support from the office

    Cons

    Some supplies are subpar like coach companies

    EF Education First2019-09-04
  9. "Very sales oriented company, with lack of people development"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Jakarta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overseas travel, freedom to explore different ways of reaching the KPI and rapid technology development (they invest a lot on tech development).

    Cons

    1. High Turnover rate. There is very little training or support for team development, as a company with very 65 years of experience, I believe they would have tons of training materials on soft skills and products - yet managers are supposed to create their own materials, and explore how they can basically survive in their roles. 2. They tend hire a lot of competitor staffs - which makes the company culture very dependent on who is the line manager as it changes as quickly as the manager changes. 3. As a very sales oriented company - and combined with point #1 this is tough for a lot of people, as soon as the sales are not on track, despite other aspects - 97% of the case: someone will be removed from the position. This process is / can be very different for each role, but most of the time, it will be same day notice (which affect the team dynamics & team spirit to see people suddenly dissapearing).

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-07-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Best Job I Ever Had!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of University Partnerships in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful people at every turn. Wonderful, wonderful people!

    Cons

    Notoriously poor salaries. Yes, it's somewhat compensated for by international experiences, but the salary is just too low to make a long-term career there. Also a HORRIBLE 401k...Give 6% to get 1.5% match.

    EF Education First2019-06-14

    EF Education First Response

    June 19, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

    Thanks for providing this review. I'm sorry to hear you've left EF, but it sounds like you've taken with you some great professional relationships and memories. I'm also sorry to hear your salary didn't meet your expectations. We regularly revisit and benchmark our compensation against industry and geographical standards so that we can remain competitive. Our total compensation includes not just employees' salaries, but also their bonus potential (which is common in sales roles), incredibly heavily subsidized and top-of-the market insurance, a 401k match that increases as your contributions increase, generous time off programs, and international travel perks. Best of luck in your next endeavor! -- Mike Kaufman, Sr. Director of People Operations

Found 56 reviews