Dollar General Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Dollar General Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Dollar General CEO Todd Vasos
Todd Vasos
1,816 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, continuous support, fast paced(in 152 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay great customers great boss(in 117 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Overall okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Spartanburg, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very helpful in retail experience

    Cons

    Needs better pay for workers

    Dollar General2020-01-17
  2. "My experience with my DG Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Ponca City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, positive coworkers, plenty opportunities to advance in the company and your superiors are never afraid to do the hard work with you!!

    Cons

    Its never a consistent schedule, every week is different.

    Advice to Management

    Reward the employees that put in the extra effort and extra hours that others wont.

    Dollar General2020-01-13
  3. "Nice group but not much growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team is great and knowledgeable about the customers that come in.

    Cons

    There is little to no room for advancement.

    Dollar General2020-01-13
  4. "Picking for the shops around etx"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Picker in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At work when need, willing to stay late if so

    Cons

    Don’t work around time frame ,picking was too much

    Advice to Management

    Work with me and I’ll work with you

    Dollar General2020-01-14
  5. "can be alot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    depending on location may have a great staff and depending on your managers my manager is awesome to bad the company isn't as great

    Cons

    pay can be waaaaaaay better especially when they are understaffed

    Advice to Management

    just up the pay stop being greedy cant say your better than Wal-Mart when at least they pay well

    Dollar General2020-01-14
  6. "dollar general"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Commercial Teller 

    I worked at Dollar General full-time

    Pros

    great environment and team members

    Cons

    lack of daily hours for work

    Dollar General2020-01-12
  7. "Too much work with no overtime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Out the Door in Wilkesboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you meet some of the impossible numbers the manager might get approval to spend a little bit of money out of the store and buy the staff lunch.

    Cons

    The management has a bad habit of staffing the stores on busy days or truck days with minimal staff in order to not fear the wrath that the upper management is going to bring down on them if they even go one cent over payroll.

    Advice to Management

    Open up your pocketbook a little more and hire some more people.

    Dollar General2020-01-13
  8. "Was probably one of easiest jobs I've held physically. Coworkers were mostly nice albeit some had too much time on hand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Hertford, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy physically Clean store Nice coworkers Was close to home

    Cons

    Constantly changing schedule Little bit unorganized

    Advice to Management

    Dont pile on so many things to store management that all collide with each other so unorganized.

    Dollar General2020-01-12
  9. "This is not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Waitress 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere and ok place.

    Cons

    So much to do in so little time. The company keeps adding more responsibility on the management team.

    Dollar General2020-01-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Starting Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I worked at Dollar General full-time

    Pros

    Loved the opportunity I had to work with a great company

    Cons

    Hours worked was horrible as Store Manager barely showed up

    Dollar General2020-01-04
Found 6307 reviews