Debenhams Supervisor Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Supervisor

Debenhams Supervisor Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
15 Ratings
  1. "Retail Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Supervisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, friendly staff, flexible hours

    Cons

    None comes to hand currently

    Debenhams2019-01-29
  2. "As every job in retail, it has its pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    25% staff discount. I wish I could say more but it’s a job like any other retail job. I don’t think there’s anything that stands out.

    Cons

    You don’t really feel supported or appreciated by management. There’s lots of patronising. As long as you serve them right they’re good for you. It changes when there’s something that doesn’t go the way they wanted.

    Debenhams2019-11-04
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good place to work I say

    Cons

    there are none really I can think of

    Debenhams2019-11-03
  4. "Credit card"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, friendly staff and pension

    Cons

    A huge focus on selling the credit card, unfortunately all higher management feel the upmost pressure that is then filtered down to the staff

    Advice to Management

    Go back to basics, great service and praise your hard working staff

    Debenhams2019-10-18
  5. "Shocking management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good staff discount and nice stock.

    Cons

    Lack of staff, management too busy in the office to bother helping with the lack of staff. Management pushed sales staff to come up with new innovative ideas that Management are getting paid for. Ridiculous low pay, considering many of us used to work shifts at very little notice, moving walls, glass shelves and fixtures around throughout the night. This often resulted in not enough staff members to run the sales... floor during the day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more and be more present on the shop floor.

    Debenhams2019-09-19
  6. "Overall Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well supported from higher management. Enjoy the displays, windows, mannequin dressing and styling, table top displays etc. Fun and enjoyable.

    Cons

    For a team of two, a LOT of work. Includes implementing all of the collateral throughout the store, time consuming and offers change A LOT

    Debenhams2019-08-16
  7. "Too much pressure on opening accounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic colleagues, made friends for life.

    Cons

    Too many meetings which involved getting a grilling on accounts, even if your department did their target. Morale was always low after these regular meetings.

    Advice to Management

    The pressure for getting store accounts makes it's way down to the teams, which then makes staff morale low.

    Debenhams2019-08-21
  8. "Reasonable company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisors in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount Always something to do Can be flexible with shifts Lovely people to work with

    Cons

    Reducing amount of staff per shift but expecting more to be done. Very focused on getting accounts opened.

    Debenhams2019-07-23
  9. "hated it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Chester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    saw potential in me togo for supervisor.

    Cons

    disorganised, no training, treat badly

    Advice to Management

    get a training programme for first time supervisors

    Debenhams2019-08-21
  10. "Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, good staff discount

    Cons

    Hard to progress. Lots expected from you

    Debenhams2019-07-13
Found 46 reviews