Debenhams Sales Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Debenhams Sales Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
37%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Saw it coming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    25% discount off all Debenhams OB and cosmetics/fragrance.

    Cons

    Store managers too obsessed with wasting payroll on fixing stores decoratively and bringing in extra staff for senior visits. No progression opportunities for those non-conformists who go against the grain. Sales managers expected to work long hours without extra pay or time back due to staffing reductions.

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes to the need for smaller stores, with smaller range but a much improved guest experience. This has been the case for many years Do this before you collapse.

    Debenhams2019-08-14
  2. "Few Opportunities for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Opportunities to do lots of different things

    Cons

    Poor Training and Development opportunities in the company

    Debenhams2019-10-08
  3. "Bad Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams

    Pros

    The staff all members of the floor team where extremely friendly and welcoming, and some where grated very badly by senior management.

    Cons

    The senior Managment (Store Manager and above) whilst I was in the store for a year we had 3 store managers one was removed for bullying the 2nd a temp and third not much better.

    Advice to Management

    Look at what you are doing and have done previously people are people not robots would you like to be treated like that ?

    Debenhams2016-07-07
  4. "Go as far as you want."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for progression for those that are willing to work for it. Fun atmosphere and good team spirit.

    Cons

    Account cards are the biggest downside. Constant pressure to hit targets.

    Debenhams2019-08-24
  5. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None absolutely nothing. Don’t go work here

    Cons

    Worst company I ever worked for. I was here for 5 years and worked my way up from a sales advisor, help many positions and took a role in Ho and they just decide to sack every.

    Advice to Management

    Close down

    Debenhams2019-07-07
  6. "Sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly team, fun environment, decent salary

    Cons

    Working hours not great for families

    Debenhams2019-04-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff discount of 25%

    Cons

    They employed over 15 area managers just before cutting 320 sales Manager jobs,the area managers have no input and do not know what is happening in stores,they also have store managers that stay in the office all day because of the high workload and communication coming through,we just had an external store manager that joined us and doesn't really have a clue The CEO is running the company into the ground

    Advice to Management

    You should have come up with a good company strategy rather than a half hearted attempt that changed very little The company won't last long

    Debenhams2018-02-19
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that I'm aware of. Staff discount?

    Cons

    No thought or consideration for staff, especially those longer serving. Staff cuts and redundancies made to save money without warning. Senior management unaffected and in fact bolstered while lower paid workers are sacrificed. CEO happy to accept 1.2M bonus while company fails to reach budgets.

    Advice to Management

    Look for a company that rewards loyalty and recognises it's staff beyond their employee number.

    Debenhams2018-02-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Harsh pressured environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people were nice. Good products.

    Cons

    Blame culture is ripe, can’t win, little support from colleagues, limited time to invest in properly training people, working with skeleton staffing with unrealistic expectations from senior management, very low salaries and regular 12+ hour shifts.

    Advice to Management

    Support your people.

    Debenhams2017-12-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to work anywhere in the UK and possibly abroad.

    Cons

    poor salary, as a manager you will be expected to work a minimum of 10 to 12 hours daily with no overtime paid or annual bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, they have brilliant ideas on how to improve customer service and sales. Don't be so caught up on the promotions and sales as this drives customers away from buying at full price reducing your margin and damaging your brand.

    Debenhams2017-11-04
Found 18 reviews