Debenhams Sales Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Debenhams Sales Advisor Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
41%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
56 Ratings
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Tralee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time

    Pros

    Staff discount.Perks. Hours. Growth. Good pay.

    Cons

    Christmas hours can be a bit long and management can be a bit tough at Times with holidays etc

    Debenhams2019-08-13
  2. "Part time student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Newbridge, Kildare
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good at getting time off when needed, friendly co-workers, flexible while working around my college timetable

    Cons

    Old ways, no pay incentives, no pay increases unless the legal hourly wage went up (one major pay increase over 4 years),

    Debenhams2019-09-24
  3. "Alright for the summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Part time hours are good so you don't get burnt out

    Cons

    Minimum wage, high stress around lunchtime in the fitting rooms and Saturdays making it difficult to organise on your own

    Advice to Management

    Get to know staff better as individuals and have more than one person at the fitting rooms especially around lunch times and Saturdays

    Debenhams2019-06-26
  4. "Review Debenhams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team 20% discount Flexible hours

    Cons

    Very poor management Not enough staff Huge pressure Little money

    Debenhams2019-07-29
  5. "work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    relaxed working conditions understanding managers easy work

    Cons

    hard to progress within company

    Debenhams2019-05-28
  6. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at Debenhams part-time

    Pros

    average salary, paid breaks,training is provided

    Cons

    Management completely up themselves and power tripping

    Debenhams2019-05-08
  7. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time

    Pros

    Good hours, rota system good

    Cons

    low pay , can be quiet

    Advice to Management

    Better pay

    Debenhams2019-04-26
  8. "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff. Can get extra hours if needed

    Cons

    Weird hours for working staff

    Debenhams2019-04-02
  9. "Not worth the hassle for so little money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Other sales assistants are friendly and welcoming, as are a handful of supervisors.

    Cons

    - Rotas are not done digitally, and regularly changed with little to no notice. - The floor I worked on was understaffed to the point where staff were fed up being expected to clean an entire floor in 15 minutes before close. - Management can be a clique and can switch on you in an instant. - Personally, I found the management to be manipulative and unprofessional, and failed to recognize that sometimes people... work part-time because they are have other priorities, and in turn, incredibly particular with what they put in writing and what they did not (as it might put them in the wrong). - No feedback is given ''unless it has to be given'' (meaning, issues only appear when it suits the manager, even if supervisors are unaware of said issues) - Barely above minimum wage despite advertising positions with a ''competitive'' salary

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, and show them respect, do not expect part time workers to prioritize this job over other obligations, and do not try to manipulate them into doing so.

    Debenhams2018-10-01
  10. "overall a very good company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very welcoming environment, and very good pay

    Cons

    long hours, and not many cons, since it is a good company

    Debenhams2017-10-16
Found 391 reviews