Debenhams Sales Adviser Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Debenhams Sales Adviser Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
57%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
3 Ratings
  1. "Loving it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Adviser in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for extra hours over your contract Great colleagues Good chance to progress

    Cons

    Not well informed about shift changes Very hard to permanently up your contract hours

    Debenhams2017-12-20
  2. "Uncertain Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Adviser in Eastbourne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customer Service Focused business.

    Cons

    Uncertain of the future of Retail jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Revise the 'Brick & Mortar' business strategy as Retail is changing fast.

    Debenhams2019-10-20
  3. "My little family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Adviser in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Made friends for life, great rate of pay, always something to do, great management

    Cons

    Push for accounts is sometimes a little too much although it is understandable why. Can sometimes be too much pressure

    Advice to Management

    Be nice to employees, never let them feel ostracised

    Debenhams2019-10-20
  4. "the team are the most important"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in Leeds, England

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Made some good relationships with colleagues

    Cons

    Can get very boring at times

    Debenhams2019-08-24
  5. "Basic role, not that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Adviser in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and supportive senior members

    Cons

    Mostly tedious and repetitive tasks

    Debenhams2019-05-30
  6. "time pass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Adviser in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    make friends, can change shifts easily

    Cons

    all about opening accounts, long hours

    Debenhams2019-05-13
  7. "Old school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On rare days positive vibes when certain people and bossy loud but not objective manager is not around.

    Cons

    Many cons.Old school company run by old school people allowing narrow minded managers abuse staff.Supervisors talking down to employees no respect no appreciation no chance to progress.Not a place for people truly interested in fashion broad minded and looking to work in interesting forward looking environment.Very much personality killing place.And people oh dear pure evil back stabbers and short sighted.Im glad... I’m out.Not for me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Firstly employ modern happy respectful managers not old school abusive bossy and rude old ladies.

    Debenhams2018-12-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Too much emphasis on accounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser 

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues were nice, management mostly friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Way too much emphasis on accounts (credit cards), to the point that management didn't even seem to care about sales or customer service as long as we opened more accounts

    Debenhams2018-05-14
  9. "Good management and friendly team members"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Room Assistant and Sales Adviser in Reading, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management Friendly staff Good pay structure Enough support to get you confident in your role Lots of other perks

    Cons

    Can't think of any, maybe some supervisors can be a little biased in terms of giving time shifts or holidays

    Debenhams2017-11-21
  10. "Awful company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only good thing about working at debenhams was the people I worked with I.e. on the floor

    Cons

    The cons are too numerous to list. Supervisors and managers don't care about you shift availability and change Rotas without consultation. The pay is poor for the pressure to get accounts (sell credit cards) and the standards they expect. Paper rotas are still used and as such I was underpayed on several ocasions and by several hundred pounds and this took months to get back.

    Advice to Management

    A massive overhaul is needed too to bottom of how staff are treated. Pride Passion People is your 3P's but truly none of this applies

    Debenhams2017-10-08
Found 30 reviews