Debenhams Food Services Adviser Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Debenhams Food Services Adviser Reviews

Updated 2 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
41%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
2 Ratings
  1. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Services Adviser in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount including makeup counters

    Cons

    Treated like criminals with locker, bag and pocket searches No perks when working bank holidays Only 1 in 3 weekends off

    Debenhams2019-10-02
  2. "I loved working at Debenhams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Services Adviser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Colleagues and discount was good

    Cons

    Recently quality is compromised

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2019-09-06
  3. "Alright for a temporary job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Services Adviser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Other people I was working with were very friendly. The job itself was relatively easy to do.

    Cons

    My Manager made the working environment very tense and stressful, always critiquing what people are doing. Shifts were often short which made travelling not worthwhile. A big focs on up-selling and hitting sales targets over giving the best customer service.

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2019-01-06
  4. "Food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Food Services Adviser in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams for less than a year

    Pros

    Good manager Good employees Good discount once earned

    Cons

    Don't help you or show you what to do when serving help Doesn't make sales often

    Debenhams2018-10-31
  5. "Food services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Food Services Adviser 

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job. Full training given.

    Cons

    Not enough equipment, i.e. coffee machines, tills, cleaning equipment.

    Debenhams2018-06-07
  6. "Really poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Services Adviser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount on all products (including sale) however this is set to change at the end of May 2017 meaning staff must get a colleague card (like a credit card) or use a gift card. Good break times 6hrs =30min 7+hrs = 1hr Overtime available Good pay

    Cons

    The building is very old and is practically falling apart and Debenhams are unwilling to fix most things. Most toilets are out of order in the building (staff and customer), One half of the entire women's staff toilet is out of order including sinks and most panning has been removed. It also smells really bad when you come into work most days due to the condition of the toilets. The management are very cliquey and quite harsh on the standards and are easy to critique but never praise you for doing a good job and working to or above standards. There is little to no room for development. They do have programmes you can enroll on to advance your career. I have worked for 3 years at Debenhams and am capable of carrying out nearly all tasks including ones above my job title however I was unable to enroll on the course. I had also applied for the supervisor position and didn't even get an e-mail back or spoken to about this from anyone in the store. My department has been without a manager for 6 months. In this time we have had various managers come in from other stores, changing the way things are done and then leaving for another one to come in and change it all again. Most arrive shocked and leave wishing us luck - one even saying "you'll need it working here". Manager responsibilities are dumped on our supervisor meaning members of staff (myself included) have to take on the responsibilities of a supervisor. Needless to say everyone is over worked. We have had a lot of staff leave this year and none have been replaced meaning we are frequently under staffed.

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2017-05-14
  7. "okay but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Food Services Adviser in Brighton, England

    I worked at Debenhams for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment, easy to quickly settle in and get on with everyone

    Cons

    Not great pay, always overstaffed so you don't have much to do, wasn't given much training more just expected to fit in where I could

    Debenhams2017-02-01
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Treated disgustingly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Food Services Adviser in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Debenhams

    Pros

    Got 5.30 an hour wage despite being 16 as I was only used to £4.00 p/h

    Cons

    - staff would use foul language towards the new young xmas temp staff - got thrown into the kitchen on my first shift with NO health and safety training or how to use any of the equipment and got shouted at for not knowing what I was doing - manager took tongs away from me and made me take things out the oven with my hands... - overworked and given no breaks - staff would try and upset me on purpose - hot conditions, fainted several times and was expected to get back to work after a 2 minute sit down - v unprofessional

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2016-11-29
  9. "It was clear that there were favourites..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Services Adviser in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Holidays were usually okay to take off... the people were okay... a mix of things to do didn't make shifts go all that slow.

    Cons

    Managers clearly had their favourites. Upper management treated lower employees like what they were - 'lower' than them. My manager wasn't nice to me, he clearly didn't like me. One of my supervisors would run her mouth and get away with everything. I was owed 2 years underpayment I didn't get because my manager was to lazy to carry out a performance review that would bump up my pay. There were clear favourites who got what the wanted when asked...different for others. We were more like numbers than people. Sales, sales, sales. You could break your leg and they would still expect you to run about like crazy because you are a sales person and not a human being.

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2014-06-08
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Nothing more than a body, an employee number."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Services Adviser in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well apparently they offer employees 20% discount...I applied for a discount card multiple times and never received one. The people were good people but were often taken advantage of by the company. Shifts were always decent.

    Cons

    Many employees were taken advantage of - some of the staff were given far too many hours for them to handle due to a multitude of reasons like their age (older employees) and how far they stayed. Some employees stayed in places like Alyth and Invergowrie and were given really early shifts, buses wouldn't even run at this time. The manager CLEARLY had his favourites and one's he would do without. The supervisor was free to run her mouth and say what she wanted and got away with a lot of things, but the minute a concern was raised by another member of staff for reasons outwith this supervisor - we got told to shut down. AND LASTLY - I was UNDERPAID for 2 years - something to do with the manager not putting in a performance review which would entitle me to higher pay...for 2 whole years. I actually should've been paid this difference in pay back and an employee actually said to my manager that he needed to notify payroll to pay this money back. He told her to keep quiet and 'shhhhhhhh'. When I approached him about it, he was very 'let's sweep it under the rug' about it. He told me I was in the wrong and I felt like telling him what I was told from my fellow employee but she would've been in a heap of trouble considering how he treated members before who raised concerns. He is actually a store manager in Aberdeen now as far as I know. CF. Oh and because another manager in screwed up completely, I was told I OWED Debenhams money for being overpaid on my leaving - because putting in that I was leaving a week after I actually did meant I owed them nearly £100. Shocking.

    Continue reading
    Debenhams2014-05-27
Found 13 reviews