Daimler Trucks North America Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Daimler Trucks North America Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
76%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Daimler Trucks North America President and CEO Roger Nielsen
Roger Nielsen
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No stock options (because this is a German company)(in 23 reviews)

  • "Difficult to find a full-time position- they do a lot of contracting(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Daimler!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer I Products of America in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work in Portland

    Cons

    Industry is tough To handle

    Daimler Trucks North America2020-01-26
  2. "Constant hiring freeze"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Systems Engineer in Portland, OR

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of technologies to learn. Long term employment usually in place

    Cons

    Many technologies are written in house and have no use as experience in other companies. Even though the company is profitable they are constantly sending jobs overseas. Long term contractors are rarely noticed.

    Daimler Trucks North America2020-01-23
  3. "Good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lean Manufacturing Intern 

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and workload

    Cons

    Poor management and internal polictics

    Daimler Trucks North America2020-01-13
  4. "really a nice company and having nice policies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    really a nice company and having nice policies.

    Cons

    do not have any cons.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-12-29
  5. "Very satisfied with the opportunities at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Powertrain Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Meaningful and impactful job 2. Excellent benefits including 401k and flexible time off 3. Support from global organization of Daimler including Stuttgart, Portland and Japan 4. Excellent employee car lease programs 5. Family atmosphere at the office

    Cons

    1. Archaic work processes 2. Poor handling of employee immigration needs and lack of green card sponsorship 3. Lower than industry standard for base compensation 4. Extremely slow turnaround time for HR response

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2019-12-12
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time

    Pros

    Excellent pay, benefits, and environment.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2019-12-02
  7. "Good people, though harsh conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machinist in Portland, OR

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay was decent, the co-workers friendly and helpful, and the manager I had was surprisingly fair and reasonable.

    Cons

    The conditions in operating heavy equipment and working on truck parts can be harsh during winter and summer.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-11-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a great place to work in terms of work life balance. No upward career mobility . Lack of diversity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good fit for those that want a safe long term career.

    Cons

    Heavily political, behind the curve on technological advancements . Lots of German influence and no diversity. Management track is heavily influenced by Germany and white dominance . Shabby Diversity & Inclusion. Most of the people are great to work with and are competent.

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2019-11-14
  9. "What you can expect from a regular corporate job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Systems Analyst in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits package, time off

    Cons

    Hard work life balance,

    Continue reading
    Daimler Trucks North America2019-10-24
  10. "Working for Freightliner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Truck Assembler in Cleveland, NC

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really liked working for Daimler the pay is good, benefits are good

    Cons

    Job can be physically challenging depending on which job you are assigned. Usually you're are required to do a 2 persons job alone. They lay off every 1 to 2 years. I really hate this last lay off was done sloppy. There were no TAA benefits or severance pay for this layoff like they did for the last layoff

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-10-17
Found 392 reviews