Criteo Anonymous Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Find jobs for Anonymous

Criteo Anonymous Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Criteo CEO JB Rudelle
JB Rudelle
13 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Criteo full-time

    Pros

    Criteo is an outstanding company to work for.

    Cons

    Not very flexible in terms of home office policy.

    Criteo2019-05-14
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Attractive, but too conservative to promote innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Paris
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time

    Pros

    Good working conditions and the hackathon annual initiative

    Cons

    The politics is taking a prominent place in order to reinforce conservatism, without opening up to the acquisition of new ideas coming from new hires. People seem too focused on writing documentation instead of talking to each other. Hackathons, which are supposed to open the mindset, at the end dont really bring innovation in processes, which seems still too waterfall in the daily life. The mastery of standards... is very low, and being based on the status quo (technology and reputation) is limiting the creativity. The lack of Agility prevents the healthy evolution of the product development. The products are late, face to competitors evolutions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The CEO which is cool in public, is too present in low level decisions which can be perfectly handled by internal specialists. Need to encourage free will of professionals and give autonomy to those who can do.

    Criteo2019-05-15
  3. "THE best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time

    Pros

    A looot. It's almost impossible to list them all

    Cons

    They don't do their global internal summit anymore :(

    Criteo2019-04-18
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Back to reality - once a star now a usual tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great way to start your career/make huge knowledge jumps - amazing office view - you will be valuable for a lot of other companies - surrounded by very talented people - great office view Biggest pro: Found the love of my life

    Cons

    - taking away more and more responsibility - highly talented people are put into boxes - love for detail gets totally lost - a lot of pressure due to share prices - past achievements are worth nothing - bad communication between departments - totally understaffed - salary is high for Spain but nothing compared to what people would earn with international experience, tech background and multiple languages... in other countries

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just focusing on quantity and transmitting own pressure to the weakest part in the chain is far from being fair. Some years ago Criteo was THE place to go in Barcelona - make it again this place where other people are jealous about your job.

    Criteo2019-04-11
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Still a lot of room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent offices, benefits & social events - Salaries are above BCN standards, but living-costs raises year over year - There are still fun, outgoing, smart and hyper-talented people in Criteo - I never taught of meeting people at work that would become lifetime friends, at Criteo I can say it happens - Founder rejoined as CEO, which sparked new vision & strategy - Internal mobility, after one year... you can apply for jobs worldwide - Some positive changes in the management team, but still work to do!

    Show More

    Cons

    - Still a lot of improvement for mid to upper-level management in MM. There are still some ego-trippers with no great ideas/leadership skills - No decent career pathing in MM, being promoted isn't challenging at all - Although Criteos core values always embraced `no fear`. Be scared when you're too vocal. You'll likely end up being labeled as a `bad influence`, although you act in the interest of the company -... Tremendous employee turnover; people leave out of frustration/boredom/can't cope with management or get let go for not being a cultural fit/making their target (which mostly is the manager's fault of not knowing how to lead a team) - The product itself might not be future proof; Last year Apple was on our back with ITP, and if you read tech articles the future looks grim...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Not only bring more attention to manager surveys, but also follow up on them - Stress levels in some teams are too high, which result in people burning out, please act on this by hiring more resource where needed - Add senior members in the hiring process for management roles - Start allowing to work from home, it's 2019... and we can manage ourselves - Why is there only a performance plan for ICs? As we keep... pushing for equality, maybe set it up for management as well based on surveys? - Listen to your people, it's the first lines that drive Criteo revenue, not the ones in the ivory tower who think they've invented `marketing strategies` - Suggestion: Maybe a daycare service makes sense for the new building?

    Show More
    Criteo2019-04-07
  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Barcelona
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - amazing, young, dynamic people - everyone is super friendly and helpful - good career development - international opportunities - company feels structures but still has a start-up feeling - amazing offices with a lot of benefits (massage, sport classes, breakfast every day, health insurance, etc.)

    Cons

    - the career path could probably be improved but I know that they are working on it

    Criteo2019-03-21
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Keep quiet and get your salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barcelona in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits Easy to get promoted if you know how to play politics or speak French If you don't have to be treated fairly and just get your paycheck, it might be the company for you.

    Cons

    -management is lacking professionalism in basic skills (although I do not blame them, as they never needed them) - code of conduct does not exist in some teams - team leads are given responsibilities but cannot make any decisions and yet still behave as managers and remind you about hierchy - no career path and no clear goals in most of the teams - senior employees are leaving or are unmotivated to help other... team members and care only about their jobs and targets - lack of confidentiality in HR team, they are just gathering information for the managers (none of the meetings are confidential, if you are working in Criteo now, please remember this) - lack of cooperation between teams - employees are treated like children instead of professional advice and support - feedback is not welcomed, specially if given to French employees and ignored in many cases - employees who are the manager's friends are receiving special treatments everyday and nobody is reacting, because it is a closed circle of self-supporting and covering tracks (very visible recently - did you think we don't notice?) - junior profiles are hired because it is cheaper and easier to control, people come to have fun in Barcelona and do not complain, after a while they leave - specific people only are "asked" by the managers to add a positive review of the company (October) Criteo is creating an illusion and a bigger lie every month. All employees are playing along and clapping as we all want to keep our jobs. Things are getting worse with each quarter, targets are unrealistic and there is no support from management. People skills are missed, because what is important is "projects". People are fired as if they did not mean anything. Meanwhile some managers can spend budgets on their friends and their needs or take sick days whenever they want without documentation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Check your managers actions, demand quality not just words and nodding to your ideas. Clapping is an empty sound in Criteo offices. Manager survey is an empty process and ends with a post-it meeting and no actions. Nothing happens and there are no consequences if a manager gets lower results. Nobody checks this. Recently presented "coaching sessions" IS A JOKE- most managers do not even have regular meetings... with their teams: they are busy working on their "projects" OR their meetings with directors and other "very important" people. Ping-pong tables and free coffee is not enough, treat people like adults and promote responsibility, fairness and consequences of actions.

    Show More
    Criteo2018-12-03
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist (Software Engineer) in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Many talents and experts specialized in Software Engineering, Machine Learning, AI and Statistical Modeling, - Criteo provides multiple events and training to make sure employees stay at the top of the industry and get the opportunity to learn a lot. I received a ticket for NIPS conference (sold out in 11min) after 6 months within the firm. We have weekly events to meet and discuss research papers and industry... applications of quantitative methods, - Criteo is constantly innovating, projects are extremely interesting and it is very easy to share thoughts within the team (managers are all good communicators - they are here to give you constructive advises), and across teams (Criteo also encourages mobility), - Management is constantly looking for new product opportunities and is open to new ideas (via a formal established process, or unformal talks). - Lots of free food, beverages, and social events, - Great Culture (go check the video Criteo gogogo), - Amazing work life balance, - The Paris office is extremely impressive, we go grab lunch on the rooftop with a view on the Eiffel Tower and the Sacre Coeur, we have all kind of goodies, lots of space and light, - Very generous vacation package, many small advantages (gym contribution, vacation contribution, transportation and other discounts) and strong compensation package. - Recruitment process is extremely smooth and clear, every interviewer went though a long training process to make sure the assessment will be fair, and HR does its best to make the process pleasant and constructive.

    Show More

    Cons

    Once you get in here, it's very hard to leave.

    Advice to Management

    This is my 3rd full time job and I've never felt so excited to go to work. In the past I used to count the number of days before the weekend, since I joined Criteo I stopped doing it. Keep on the innovation, the great culture, and be more "aggressive" when launching new products!

    Criteo2018-10-25
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Not a good place at any point in your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Criteo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Boy oh boy, have I been waiting to write this review. I have been at Criteo for a sufficient amount of time to see the company go from a small BCN office where everyone was each others friend to the giant mess it became today. Only now I realise how many snakes there were (and still are) in the management, how necessary a French passport is to be promoted and how little I should have expected from this company at... all. Let me kick this off with a few positive points: - You get well paid. Barcelona is a relatively cheap city (though getting more expensive), which Criteo knows very well. They pay you well so you don't complain, sit quiet and do your job without providing any sort of criticism. Be careful - if you get relocated as a new employee and get fired within the first 6 months you have to pay back the relocation bonus. Happened to many times. - Office is amazing. Great views, you get free breakfast (as you do in all Criteo offices), there is ticket restaurant (free lunch), by the beach. - Some employees you can actually learn a lot from and become friends with. Enjoy while they're there - high probability that they will be leaving soon!

    Show More

    Cons

    After working for a long time for a company you would expect to be the go to point in case of issues, be acknowledged and be promoted. Not at Criteo Barcelona, here you simply get ignored, nobody cares about your opinion if you are not in a management position (where you only get to if you are French of have French friends). If you intend to get promoted expect to be spending your after works at Barnabier on the... "management table", the one where all the managers gather and only people who want to be promoted try to glue themselves on. If you try to get promoted like in any normal company (working hard and being there for your colleagues), you get forgotten - they will do their best to make you get pissed off so that you leave yourself and they don't have to pay the golden handshake fee. To the juniors out there - stay home in your cold countries, do not be deceived by Criteo HR promising your amazing views and spamming their Linkedin profiles with it. It's all a nice cover for the mess that's actually happening inside and you will find out very soon after joining.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fairly sure that I will get an answer to this review along the lines of "we are in a transition phase, "...making sure all employees are happy". I don't believe in any of the replies I read in other 1 and 2 star reviews. What I think that needs to happen is a serious change in mid-management. Stop promoting people that are buddies of +1 managers, stop hiring externals that have 0 market & industry knowledge... and are only hired because they will do what their managers tell them to do. People do not leave companies, they leave their manager. Given what I have seen in Criteo Barcelona over the last year things are only getting worse, still people are being promoted that have no people skills and again there are whole teams that are unhappy because of this and stuck in a golden cage. If you genuinely want to change something - fire all managers and start over again. I don't see any other solution.

    Show More
    Criteo2018-12-04
  10. "Very very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Criteo for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities for personal and professional development. A lot of autonomy. Intelligent and motivating people around. Very interesting business itself - you will always have something new to learn. Multicultural environment

    Cons

    Your experience heavily depends on your team and manager. I got lucky but not everyone did, so I would advise to pay careful attention to the team you are going to join

    Criteo2018-10-29
Found 58 reviews