Costa Reviews | Glassdoor.ie

Costa Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited free drinks during the shifts(in 90 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, especially if working a second job or being student(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "cleaning and long hours someties(in 77 reviews)

  • "No cons unless you dislike hard work and a busy fast environment(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Easy job, you do not need any experience for working there. The customer are very friendly

    Cons

    It is very far away from the city. You need to have a car because the transport public is always arriving late.

    Advice to Management

    Provide a trainning to the employee and the corret holidasy per year.

    Costa2019-04-04
  2. "Team Leader position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks and food deal

    Cons

    Should be better paid. Lots of work to do

    Costa2019-12-05
  3. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Multinational culture, good for first experience

    Cons

    Low salary, short of staff

    Costa2019-11-20
  4. "Poor money for a such a busy place, not an appreciation of head management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Barista 

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good team to work

    Cons

    Basic pay for such a busy environment.. No really chance for a progress

    Costa2019-11-29
  5. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Free drink, Staff discount, Environment

    Cons

    Not paid for break time

    Costa2019-11-21
  6. "Short Term Solution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Wexford
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free staff drinks, 50% off food. Good holidays but only cause the manager of the store was very flexible.

    Cons

    Suited me down to the ground as a student, was flexible with hours. Note however that it’s monthly pay (not feasible on minimum wage), only 30 minutes ever allocated to your break no matter how long your shift is (don’t know how they legally loop through this) and also if you are hired as a barista or known as a ‘part timer’ you will not gain full time employment, baristas are only hired on a part time basis. Hours... fluctuate depending on how they are fixed for staff, shifts are relatively short but there almost every day of the week so feels like it’s a full time job but then you’re reminded by your pay check that you are not. Area managers are some laugh they expect you to jump through hoops like show dogs while doing costa checks watching your every move for the whole day. Expected way too much from you and adopted the attitude that “you’re lucky to even have a job”. Closing is a nightmare, seems to be at the managements discretion how many people they put on for closing. Usually it’s just two people so you’re busting around the store trying to mop and do twenty jobs at once while the team leader is hiding inside pretending to count every last penny to waste time. Not near enough time allocated for closing!! No other benefits or social aspect to the job. Not a penny from head office for Christmas parties or functions no other benefits whatsoever apart from the free staff drinks mentioned above, it’s just about the only thing you’re guaranteed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Only think my time was bearable cause my manager was laid back enough. Ideal if you’re a student or supplementing your income but not to earn a living. Invest in your employers and they might invest with you and not see it as a short term solution. Note all the cons I mentioned above costa, even for retail the treatment and t’s and c’s from head office and upper management are a joke! They care about their customers... never anything about then staff who generate their revenue via working for them.

    Show More
    Costa2019-11-20
  7. "First jub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is good for the first job, but not to have a career. Free Coffee and Flexible shift

    Cons

    Low Salary, demanding, no possibilities to grow.

    Costa2019-11-19
  8. "team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free cofffee. Half price on other items

    Cons

    Don't care much about employees. Pay is low. Very busy and fast environment, almost expexted to work like robots. Based on team work - good if you have a nice team. Management is never encouraging, just full of further demands. Also one is not told soecifically about holidays, each employee has to count theyre own hours and calculate by that.??? Also constantly have to listen from customers how expensive it is..... "marshmallow-60c extra?!". When I signed full time contract 700 euro was deducted from my first paycheck as a "deposit" incase i steal or terminate employment on earlier notice. Its a company that is trying to squeeze as much money as they can out of everything. 0 benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to your employees not just the customers. Find ways to make workers like theyre job - improve inside employer branding. And head office should really provide each employee with the number of theyre earned holiday days.

    Costa2019-11-18
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Nice manager, staff and customers

    Cons

    Minimun wage and no free food

    Costa2019-10-23
  10. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is there Great coffee

    Cons

    It is there monthly paid

    Costa2019-11-05
Found 1027 reviews